We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Mango Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mango Beach Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I loved Mango Beach Inn! Judith and John were fantastic hosts - generous, warm and passionate about the area. Breakfast was fab - breathtaking views of the harbour and yummy tropical fruit, great coffee, banana bread, lush local granola... Everyone who works at Mango Beach is lovely and you feel well looked after (thank you Marie, Melissa, Lady & Belle!!). My room (Sunshine) was very spacious, nicely decorated with 2 large windows overlooking the beautiful garden. I liked being lulled to sleep by the chirruping of the various inhabitants of the garden and music wafting over the bay. My next favourite hobby was lying by the pool watching the hummingbirds. There are some lovely, thoughtful, humorous touches at Mango Beach which will bring a smile to your face (won't spoil them for you!). It really is a great place to stay.

Marigot Bay itself is very pretty. La Bas beach is quite small and shared with a couple of resorts but perfectly pleasant - if you want something more secluded there is a small bay within walking distance. Also 3 great look out points (only managed 2) with great views of the bay and beyond.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We welcome single travellers - independent and adventurous guests who really make the most of all that our beautiful island has to offer and often discover fascinating places we didn't even know about ourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    57
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
127
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Mango Beach Inn for a week in February and would highly recommend it. The room was comfortable and clean, the views from the breakfast room were beautiful and the staff were very friendly. We loved the option of private evening barbecues by the pool overlooking the marina and the morning breakfasts with locally made jams. The owners had lots of great recommendations for trips around the island and were always happy to help us arrange them. We can't recommend a stay here highly enough and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Our barbeques are becoming more and more popular - the barbeque deck is by the pool so guests can combine a moonlight swim with a candlelight barbeque - very romantic.
Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are just back from a week at Mango Beach Inn. The Inn is lovely, tucked away against the hill so that it is barely visible from across the bay. The breakfast room/lounge had a beautiful view of the bay and the marina - we watched some amazing, huge sailing yachts going in and out. Breakfast was very good - lots of fruit (papaya, cantaloupe, pineapple, water melon, bananas), cereals, yogurt, breads and local jams. My picky husband actually loved the coffee - that rarely happens. The best thing was the people. Through some kind of self-selection (the types of people who like small inns?) all the other guests were thoroughly nice, friendly and interesting people. Judith and John are wonderful hosts - informative and always willing to make arrangements for you - whether that is a taxi, a dinner reservation or information on tours. Altogether, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
It's true about small inns - that's why we love having one, our guests are usually well informed and independent and love to really explore the island - and share their adventures with each other over breakfast next morning.
Thanks for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent three nights at Mango Beach Inn at the end of our holiday in the Caribbean; a wonderful way to end a great holiday. Set above the Rainforest Hideway restaurant, the inn is five minutes from the beach and a short boat ride to the rest of the bay. The harbour room overlooks the bay with views of all the yachts. By the way this is where they serve breakfast, some of the most enjoyable of our entire holiday! The bedroom was ideal for ourselves, and used simply as a place to sleep whilst we explored the west coast of St Lucia: interesting fishing villages, places up in the mountains and of course climbing the Gros Piton, together with a few very upmarket and very un-St Lucian resorts. There are several good restaurants around the bay, including the excellent Rainforest Hideaway. Judith and John were delightful hosts, able to provide all sorts of advice and information as well as the local gossip! So all in all a great place to be; highly recommended should you get to travel to this part of the Caribbean.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2015
This was a short visit as the guests were travelling partly on business but we do have quite a lot of business visitors as Marigot Bay is very close to the local, inter-island airport as well as the ferry port in Castries. These guests still found enough energy to explore the island and particularly enjoyed the boat trips - a very relaxing way to explore the beautiful Caribbean coastline. At Mango Beach we try to make sure that our business travellers can rely on us to provide breakfast on time (even early ones!) and make sure that taxis are ready and waiting for airport trips as required. We also try to provide a little haven of peace (and we are on the quiet side of Marigot which doesn't have a road - just the 24 hour ferry shuttle service) so Mango Beach Inn can be the perfect escape from life's pressures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This lovely Inn comes highly recommended. We stayed for five nights in February and couldn't fault it. Situated in a beautiful position in Marigot Bay it can be only reached by a little ferry that runs all day and night which adds to the charm of the place.

We stayed in the Green Fig suite which had its own patio overlooking the colourful garden. Our friends had the Sunshine room and shared the patio with us. We really enjoyed sittingnoutbthere esrly in the morning watching the hummingbirds. Both rooms were full of character, very comfortable and well thought out with everything you might need. We were made to feel at home and very welcome by our friendly hosts Judith and John who couldn't have been more helpful. A delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, homemade bread and jam was served in the harbour room which has glorious views across the bay - it was a perfect way to start each day.

There is a good choice of restuarants in Marigot Bay and all the ones we ate in were good. Our favourite was the Rainforest Hideaway which is in a beautiful setting at the bottom if the garden of the Inn.

It was easy to explore the island using both water and road taxis and we also hired a car for part of our holiday.

Thank you Judith and John - we had a wonderful time and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mango Beach Inn for nine days. It is a small bed and breakfast inn, so you have the nice intimate setting. We found the owners (Judith and John) to be incredibly friendly and helpful hosts at their Inn. The location overlooked the bay, so we could see all the ships coming and going in the harbor. It was a short walk and ferry ride to some great restaurants (especially liked the fabulous food at the Rainforest Hideaway). If you have an opportunity to go to Saint Lucia, I highly recommend you check out this Inn. Judith and John have all the connections to make your stay exciting. We wanted to go sailing, snorkeling, hiking, see the Piton mountains, visit the volcano, botanical gardens and pink plantation. They made it all happen. The Inn was a very friendly atmosphere (like coming home). The breakfast patio was a nice place to connect with others staying at the Inn and share experiences. We also enjoyed our private sun deck and lounge chairs. It was definitely a family atmosphere, and our trip was fabulous. They had two great dogs (Lady & Bell), and they were laid back and friendly. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to escape to a sunny destination.
Lesa & Steve

Room Tip: We never checked to see if they had a fitness center. Quite frankly, we were more wrapped up in bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a brief one-night stay before flying off early to Dominica. Outr hosts Judith and John could not have been more helpful in arranging taxis to and from airports.
its a lovely location and arrived at by watertaxi across Marigot Bay - A great place to admire the superyachts and feel really poor - it is charming and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
7.9 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
927 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
7.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Beach Inn

Property: Mango Beach Inn
Address: North Side, Marigot Bay MB2009, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, rustic, ramshackle inn, on Marigot Bay waterfront. Clean, good plumbing, in "the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean (James Michener)". En-suite bathrooms, AC, TV, fridges, tea & coffee. Breakfast anytime. Stunning harbour views, pool, gazebo, barbecue area, private patios and lush tropical gardens. 1 minute from sandy swimming beach. Shares dock with famous "Rainforest Hideaway" Restaurant. Great choice of restaurants, bars, spas, shopping, sailing, watersports, diving, and nature trails a few minutes walk away. Children welcome, babysitting available. King size beds in both rooms, can convert to singles and add extra child beds. 2 friendly dogs & 2 cats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mango Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Beach Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing