We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jem in Marigot Bay!”
Review of Mango Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mango Beach Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Jem in Marigot Bay!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

o We loved our time at Mango Beach! The breakfasts, innkeeper Judith, magnificent views of Marigot Bay, the charming pool, the lovely room, Rainforest Café at our footsteps – all made our stay magical! The Inn is surrounded by St. Lucia’s lush rainforests, right on Marigot Bay! To arrive at the Inn, you have to cross the Bay from all the major attractions by ferry (approximately three minutes). While this may seem inconvenient, it was one of our favorite parts of the experience! With the exception of a restaurant or two, the ferry rides are included with your stay. The breakfasts are yummy! Homemade jam with fresh croissants was my favorite along with your choice of freshly squeezed juice! And true to its name, there was juicy, ripe mango every morning as well! Judith is an eclectic and caring innkeeper – she knows all about Marigot Bay as she has been there with her family for many many years. Great source of knowledge if you are interested in the recent history of the Bay! She also provides lists of activities to do in the area and can direct you to tours and taxi services. The room was lovely as well – room service every morning and what a wonderful job! There was AC which is a godsend in the Caribbean as well as mosquito nets. We also had our own patio outfitted with citronella burners. There is a small pool and since we were there during off season, we had it to ourselves for most of our stay. Overall, great value on an otherwise pricey island, especially for the views!

Room Tip: If you are on your honeymoon, make sure you tell them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    57
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
127
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here in Feb '12 for 2 nights with our 2 children (4yrs & 19 months). Our stay was a weekend getaway from our 2 week all inclusive holiday. The service we received from the first e mail enquiry to the moment we left (& even after - we will e mail photos back, Judith!) was faultless. The accomodation was lovely, mozzie nets & beach towels provided. Lots of nice personal touches and helpful staff always available. The children loved the little boat ride, nearby beach and pool. A nice change to our busy resort was that when we went to bed it was DARK!! Breakfast was delicious & the views were unbeatable. Dinner downstairs a real treat too! Thanks to all involved esp our 2 small personal entertainers ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was my favourite place to stay during my travels around St Lucia in January 2012. The Guest House itself is a beautiful building with a large open dining room offering views over the bay and my bedroom was lovely and very comfortable. Judith and John were so helpful and welcoming and I could not have asked for more. The close proximity of the rainforest hideaway restaurant at the bottom of the path to the guesthouse was fantastic, whether it was to pop in for a sundowner or to eat from their delicious menu. I would highly recommend the Mango Beach Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We recently returned from St. Lucia and stayed in a beautiful inn perched over Marigot Bay. John, Judith and staff could not be nicer. We had a lovely spacious room with everything we needed. Breackfast was wonderful as well as a social setting. We met lovely people from the UK and other places. I would highly recomment this lovely inn, also the location on Marigot bay was quiet and was surrounded with great restaurants. Had a wonderful time!!!

Room Tip: Definitely for adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Almost one with the rain forest, this delightful Inn is undoubtedly a treasure.Judith and her crew were charming and very helpful without being at all obtrusive. There is even a daily news sheet which tells you what the weather is in your home town, along with interesting snippets about Marigot Bay. I would highly recommend this place to those who are happy to try a more local feel to their accommodation in St Lucia

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I spent two glorious weeks in Paradise at Mango Beach Inn. Previous guests have commented on how beautiful the place is and we can only endorse this. Judith and John are hives of information where nothing is too much trouble. They cannot do enough for you and their staff are equally helpful and enchanting. Breakfasts overlooking the harbour are delicious and with daily informative bulletins on "Bay Watch" - and star sightings as well as the temperature at our various homes, this indeed made us all very grateful to be staying here! The rooms, and we had the choice of three over the fortnight, were large and extremely comfortable. We simply loved it and reaching it by ferry, particularly at night, was magical. We enjoyed a meal at the Rainforest Restaurant but had fun at various other restaurants. The swimming pool with tropical flowers and hummingbirds is a delight. We were sorry to leave such an idyllic place and also sorry to leave John and Judith who were quite delightful and so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnabellePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My sister and I spent three nights at the Mango Beach Inn during our (all too brief) stay in St. Lucia last week, and we're so glad we did. Judith is a phenomenal host and excellent resource for great recommendations to make the most of your visit to the island. She helped us with arrangements for a snorkeling trip on the spur of the moment, as well as offered up excellent advice on restaurants and sights to see during our various excursions. The inn's location on Marigot Bay is excellent; it was so nice to be able to take the little ferry across the bay for a coffee or trip to the grocery, and we loved having a drink on the deck of the Rainforest Hideaway at the end of each day. Breakfast was delicious and the views from the tables are spectacular. We are already looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eltahcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
7.9 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
7.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Beach Inn

Property: Mango Beach Inn
Address: North Side, Marigot Bay MB2009, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, rustic, ramshackle inn, on Marigot Bay waterfront. Clean, good plumbing, in "the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean (James Michener)". En-suite bathrooms, AC, TV, fridges, tea & coffee. Breakfast anytime. Stunning harbour views, pool, gazebo, barbecue area, private patios and lush tropical gardens. 1 minute from sandy swimming beach. Shares dock with famous "Rainforest Hideaway" Restaurant. Great choice of restaurants, bars, spas, shopping, sailing, watersports, diving, and nature trails a few minutes walk away. Children welcome, babysitting available. King size beds in both rooms, can convert to singles and add extra child beds. 2 friendly dogs & 2 cats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mango Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Beach Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing