We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Hotel”
Review of Mango Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mango Beach Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Milton of Campsie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Small Hotel”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We have just returned from a six day stay at the Mango Beach Inn and of the 3 properties we stayed at in St Lucia this was by far the best
From the original booking to our return on the small ferry everything was arranged very smoothly (apart from the rain!!)
Judith & John were perfect hosts and any info we wanted was always forthcoming. The room was small but we only really slept in it as the hotel has a magnificent living area upstairs with tremendous views over the water to the properties on the other side.
Breakfast was great and always served with a smile. John even got the boat over to the shop one morning as the mango yogurts were finished. Great service.
As the hotel/inn only has 4 rooms it is the perfect location for a relaxing break.
PS The adjacent Rainforest Hideaway restaurant is not to be missed (even though the chef is a celtic supporter. At least he has the consolation of living in a lovely part of the world)
Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanhstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    57
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
129
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Our family with two children stayed in Mango Beach Inn in November 2011.
The common terrace has a great view of the bay. Small pool is favorite attraction for the kids. Inn has plenty of toys and books for the kids.
The boardwalk from the inn leads to the beach. Judith and John are always there for you.
On the beach there is a Rastafarian Sava with his small motor boat. Call Sava at 519-2122 and he will take you on the boat along the coast. Want to see how local people live - ask Sava to take you to the village.
Rainforest hideaway restaurant downstairs has excellent food and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

You may have read a lot of reviews from tourists but this one comes from a local. I moved to St. Lucia for work from Milton keynes, UK (and India before that) about a year ago. My wife and I decided to break the monotony and spend a weekend at Mango beach inn. As the title suggests, as soon as we reached there it was a total amnesia of troubles, work and even the fact that we actually live in St. Lucia itself. Peaceful is what my emotions were through out my stay. Not to mention the excellent hospitality by John and Judith made it even more special.

The dinner at restaurant Rainforest Hideaway is one of the best experiences in St. Lucia. Don't miss that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivekkhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great stay, proprietors John and Judith made us feel relaxed, at home and part of family. Continental breakfast each morning included fresh local fruit (mangoes/bananas/canelope) and a great view of bay. Rooms were great sized and included refrigertor and needed A/C in August. Wifi service best found in great room. No time to even turn on TV. Great connections with local cab drivers to ensure you get to the right spots at the right times and the right price. Good dining options right on bay, walking distance or water taxi. Their own Rainforest Hideaway restuarant has amazing menu and great jazz a couple times a week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuyountBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

John and Judith offer a wonderful welcome to Marigot Bay, giving all needed information relating to the local area. They are gracious hosts. Mango Beach Inn is a small B&B and should be viewed as such rather than comparing it to most of the other types of very expensive accommodation on St. Lucia. It was a restful 2-night stop for us at a reasonable price, with a lovely view over the Bay. The restaurant downstairs is very well run with excellent food presentation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidExplorers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I truly enjoyed my visit to ST. LUCIA and I am happy that I chose the MANGO BEACH INN. The owner John was very helpfull and his staff of: KIKI, MARIE, J.J. and everyone else made my visit enjoyable. Thank You all. "PEPPER". (:

Room Tip: make sure to book an air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuevo_Ca_Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I had a great time staying at the Mango Beach Inn on our honeymoon. John and Judith are very friendly and helpful in getting acquainted with that part of St. Lucia (so beautiful!) and we enjoyed our stay with them. Be sure to use the soap they provide and not your own scented body wash or you may end up like I did, with tons of mosquito bites on your legs and no idea why! Also, plan to use their hair dryer which fits the outlets there. They have a converter for electronics (phone/camera chargers, etc.) with a US-style outlet, but not for higher voltage appliances like hair dryers.
We went in the off season (June) so we felt liek we had the inn and the bay to ourselves. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
7.9 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
7.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 8 in Soufriere
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Beach Inn

Property: Mango Beach Inn
Address: North Side, Marigot Bay MB2009, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, rustic, ramshackle inn, on Marigot Bay waterfront. Clean, good plumbing, in "the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean (James Michener)". En-suite bathrooms, AC, TV, fridges, tea & coffee. Breakfast anytime. Stunning harbour views, pool, gazebo, barbecue area, private patios and lush tropical gardens. 1 minute from sandy swimming beach. Shares dock with famous "Rainforest Hideaway" Restaurant. Great choice of restaurants, bars, spas, shopping, sailing, watersports, diving, and nature trails a few minutes walk away. Children welcome, babysitting available. King size beds in both rooms, can convert to singles and add extra child beds. 2 friendly dogs & 2 cats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mango Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Beach Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing