We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Hole Bar - CLOSED

Hurricane Hole Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Food was average to above average, but nothing special. Location was wonderful, and service was attentive. It is better as a bar/hangout than as a restaurant.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wheatland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stopped for a mid afternoon drink when it was raining and ended up staying for awhile. Ordered supper and what a pleasant surprise. Catch of the day was Marlin and it was fantastic. Service was great and the prices were very reasonable. Just wish we found this spot earlier in our vacation.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wheatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD-BEAUTIFUL SETTING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Imagine sitting looking out at a dock where beautiful yachts are docked, having a drink with the one you love, a breeze blowing off the water, and the food you ordered is brought to you by a smiling waiter who tells you since you've been coming back so often, they are giving you a discount.

You start to eat your meal, and each bite is better than the one before it, and even as you are getting full, you start thinking about what you are going to have the next evening. Maybe we were just lucky, but that was our experience at Hurricane Hole Bar, and even though we are back in NYC, we look forward to going back.

Its a rustic, relaxed atmosphere. A varied menu where you can have anything from fresh fish or shrimp expertly prepated, to ribs, steak or a burger that are great as well. With other better reviewed restaurants all around, we felt most satisfied and enjoyed our meals there the most.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton of Campsie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Good place for casual eating.
Bit expensive for pub grub though.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank alanhstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l0vet0travel77
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service and food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We enjoyed our time tremedously here. We ate here a few times and each time it was very nice.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank l0vet0travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Hole Bar also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing