We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charity Cycling Challenge”
Review of Hotel Los Caneyes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Caneyes
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Clara
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Charity Cycling Challenge”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Day 6 of the Charity Cycling challenge, we arrived after our final day of cycling, this is a nice looking hotel, this was the best food of the trip, buffet style, fresh shrimp and good selection of food, good cocktails at the bar, and nice pool area, cute beach style hut rooms, but these could do with some attention our ceiling had mould rather tired, a selection of geese, chickens and rabbits in the grounds! I would rate this a average 3 star

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Snare1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    174
    136
    59
    36
See reviews for
63
220
28
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here on the final night if a charity bike ride across Cuba, this was a really nice hotel and we were well looked after!! Lovely rooms in little huts, lovely big restaurant, nice pool and outdoor bar area, even a disco! (Albeit quiet in October)! Would recommend, enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UP NORTH
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Quite an unusual place, with an 'indigenous indian' theme, complete with tree carvings and thatched cabins. The rooms in the gardens were very quiet and peaceful, but they seem to use blocks near the pool for independent travellers only staying a night or two - these can be noisy, as for some reason they feel the need to play loud music around the pool from morning until midnight - a bit at odds with the hotel's description of itself as a haven of peace and tranquillity!
Overal it was a pleasant place to stay and is very convenient for the Che memorial (about 2km) and the fascinating town of Santa Clara which has a long and interesting cultural history before, as well as including, it's crucial role in the Revolution.

Room Tip: In the gardens away from the swimming pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveT8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a great place to stay if visiting Santa Clara, just on the outskirts of the City but very peaceful with a lovely pool. Great rooms with hot water in the showers and lovely breakfast restaurant. We used the pool and it was very clean with great service from the poolside snack/bar and all other staff here were great also. The facilities are in keeping with the environment and promoting respect to the land and the wildlife around, lots of wooden sculptures and very scenic, we will definitely return to Los Caneyes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TGTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel/resort is situated beautifully. It is as if you're in a garden that is part of a zoo. Many small animals can be seen in cages and the flowers and trees all give it a wonderful relax atmosphere. The resort is build up out of many small buildings containing several rooms. All buildings are build in an old indigenous style making it blend nicely with the gardens. The resort has a large pool area with bar. I the evening it is transferred to a strange fashion show with very loud music. It just doesn't fit the theme of the hotel and is, honestly, disturbing the tranquil feeling it has. The restaurant is a buffet all-you-can-eat style restaurant. Food is therefore not on its best as it did not receive much attention. There is plenty and there are many different styles. Knowing how less people earn in this country, eating like crazy without limitations does make you feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the individual huts. The room was nice. Our bathroom worked fine with no problems - often an issue in Cuba. The pool and patio area was very nice with lots of chairs and lounges.

The restaurant was good. We had both the buffet dinner & breakfast. The food was good with a large selection. The staff was helpful. They had internet access available at a computer in the lobby for what seemed to be the standard rate of 3 cuc's per 30 minutes. The speed was fine for checking email.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel was out of the way from Santa Clara town. We stayed in 6 rooms in a semi-circle block which was actually quite nice. We had a few unwanted visitors like a frog, a Caterpillar, and
a lizard in our rooms. Nothing to get excited about as we are from Borneo and we have plenty of those creatures in our country. Rooms were clean and function-able. The buffet dinner was ok
with a good variety of food. Breakfast was boring with the usual stuff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arangemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
22.1 mi away
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
#4 of 7 in Santa Clara
110 reviews
59.2 mi away
Hotel Islazul Elguea
Hotel Islazul Elguea
#6 of 7 in Santa Clara
21 reviews
33.9 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
913 reviews
41.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
198.3 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Caneyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Caneyes

Property: Hotel Los Caneyes
Address: Av. de los Eucaliptos and Circunvalacion, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Caneyes 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enterprise with 3 hotels in Santa Clara city, owned by Cubanacán Tourism Group, include Horizontes Los Caneyes Hotel, Horizontes la Granjita Hotel and America Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Los Caneyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Caneyes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing