We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Casa particulara in Santa Clara”
Review of Hostal Mercedes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Mercedes
Ranked #13 of 57 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent one night here, Mercedes and her husband were nice people, the location is good, the room was clean, bathroom a little small but nice! The apartment was a bit noisy, meaning that in the morning there were two or three doorbell rings, but that was just a short period.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gostevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We staid for 2 nights at hostal Mercedes in Santa Clara. The people are really friendly, they do huge mojitos and fine strong coffee is served for free. Santa Clara itself was a bit disappointing as too boring after visting the 3 standard sights.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alman_tost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Mercedes and Tomas are so welcoming and friendly and even with our hopeless Spanish were patient and helpful in every way they dealt with us. The food was amazing and served with such joy and friendliness. We felt almost sad when we left.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The food is very good and the position in perfect to visit Santa Clara and its monuments (2 minutes by walk from the central square and 10 minutes by walk to Che museum). Mercedes and it husband are very friendly and tell you all the most important informations about the town.
They have 2 room. 1 of theese has a little balcony on the street so you can see the urban life directly from your bed. Don't worry the room is silent!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed with Tomas and Merci for two nights in July 2011. They were so warm and welcoming. We felt at home with them. They were also very helpful. We especially enjoyed the food we were served. The portions were big and Tomas, Merci and Rosie always made sure everything was clean and nicely presented. If in Santa Clara, Tomas and Merci are the people to stay with!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseTyson-Mensah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We spent there only 2 nights, but it was the most hospitable place in Cuba! Two owners are great and very nice people, giving us not only bed and shower, but aso their company, nice conversations and great hospitality! strongly reccommended!

iwona

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IwonaLeciejewska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

You go to Santa Clara to find out about El Che. Go to the hostal Mercedes casa and meet Tomas, Mercedes and their niece Rosaria. Great food and a warm welcome from genuine people. Tomas knew El Che from the revolution and is a knowledgeable source of information about Cuban life and history. A clean casa with a comfortable room and bathroom which all worked ok. A nice terrace to have a drink on with a well stocked fridge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0 mi away
Casa Riki's Hostal
Casa Riki's Hostal
#11 of 57 in Santa Clara
30 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
#4 of 7 in Santa Clara
115 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal D' Cordero
Hostal D' Cordero
#1 of 57 in Santa Clara
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Granjita
La Granjita
#1 of 7 in Santa Clara
284 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Los Caneyes
Hotel Los Caneyes
#2 of 7 in Santa Clara
486 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Autentica Pergola
Hostal Autentica Pergola
#4 of 57 in Santa Clara
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mercedes

Address: Calle Toscano No53 entre independencia y Real, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing