We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“More room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Channel View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calabar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channel View Hotel
Save
You added Channel View Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Calabar
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Compared to other hotels that I've been, this one is overly expensive. I had poor access to internet and unnecessary stuffs like a podium in my room. I avoided the only chair in my room because it looked infected with bugs.
Their restaurant was an ok place to hang out though. With friendly staff and good food, I might go back to the restaurant, but NOT the lodge..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    4
    8
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly and courteous staff. The rooms were clean and void of damp. very nice Nigerian dishes especially the ones local to the Efiks but the service at the restaurant was very very slow. I recommend you pre book your meals from your room before going to the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel looks great from the outside, but inside it's a confusing maze of corridors, stairways, and a non-functioning elevator. The restaurant serves food slowly that is edible but not much more. the check-in process is absurdly bureaucratic, divided into many tiny steps across two different desks. Calabar is such a nice town, there's got to be a better hotel in town.

Room Tip: Make sure the water flows from the taps. Be sure that your room is not too close to the noisy diese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Channel view hotel is not near a channel.

1. Staff. Very friendly and welcoming each day as we left and returned from meetings. Room did not have carpet and were cleaned daily. Other reviews stated issues with items being stolen, we have several armed military guards patrolling the grounds so that helped the staff to re-think removing items that did not belong to them.

2. Rooms. Dated rooms that provided a firm night's sleep. Flat screen TVs in each room with satellite service. Safe that could fit a 15 inch MacBook and other items were available for use. CAUTION about the hot water heater and bath tub!!! The hot water heater is grounded to pipes and to the tub. If you start the water and check the temperature while barefoot than you will get a 220volt shock. Either turn the water heater off via a wall switch outside the bathroom or start the water once in the tub. The shower is not really a shower since the sprayer hose has about a 1 meter length, so you will need to take a knee or sit down.

3. Grounds. Breakfast was included in our rate and either a buffet or menu service was provided each morning. Just make sure you have time because the orders can take from 15-45 minutes. WIFI was available in all rooms but can be slow while a lot of users on online. Calabar will loose power and the hotel has a backup generator so I would recommend a small flashlight.

Pool with bar. A small pool with bar is available nightly and bar staff is friendly and plays music.
Night club. A medium size nightclub is connected to the hotel and is busy on Wednesday and Friday nights.
Shawarma stand in the parking lot with beef, chicken, and pork wraps.
Pastry shop with meat and chicken pies and break for everybody. Easy to get a bottle of water or soda and open all hours of the day.

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms before settling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enmoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Spent 1 month here while working in Calabar, it has good facilities and excellent service. I was put up at the Metropolitian by my company and then later the Axari hotel when I first arrived but had cause to shift on both occasions due to poor service.

Room Tip: The royal deluxe rooms are real value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubong E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

It was horrible. I wouldn't even think about recommending this to someone else. The place looks great. but you have to spend your time protecting your stuff rather than enjoying your stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabar, Nigeria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

If you don't mind your belongings being stolen then you can stay here. The food is well cooked and reasonably priced, there is also a mini bar in the room. The location is central which makes getting a taxi easy if you don't have a car. On the downside, so much theft takes place and the management handdover the housekeeping staff to you if you want Police involvement.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabar
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hotels
Transcorp Hotels
#2 of 8 in Calabar
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
#3 of 8 in Calabar
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
21.1 mi away
Le Meridien Ibom Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Axari Hotel and Suites
Axari Hotel and Suites
#8 of 43 in Calabar
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Jorany Hotel Calabar
#11 of 43 in Calabar
3.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel View Hotel

Property: Channel View Hotel
Address: 27 MCC Road, Calabar, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Cross River State > Calabar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Calabar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing