We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axari Hotel and Suites
Ranked #12 of 46 Calabar B&B and Inns
enugu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice one”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The first impression I got was a good and lasting one, I guess It rubbed off on every other thing. the reception was very warm and effective, my room was neat and the food was really tasty and affordable. The two nights I spent was worth every amount I spent.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have stayed here twice and will go back next time in Calabar. The rooms are clean and adequately serviced, as usual the finish of the bathrooms could be better but this is a problem with most middle of the road hotels in Nigeria. Having said that the shower over bath was good and never ending supply of hot water.
Restaurant service is slow but again seems to be the norm in Nigeria. Nice outside pool and poolside bar where you can watch sport. Staff throughout are well trained and pleasant.
Plenty of parking places and easy access to central business and leisure areas of Calabar.

Book early for the annual Christmas Carnival.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have pool view, front overlook main car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trev2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I checked in after making a phone reservation. The hotel is located along a major highway, quite accessible for people doing business in the city. Front desk service was prompt, and there is ample parking space. Wifi is fairly good in certain areas of the hotel. NIce pool, gym is just OK too. Bathrooms were just OK too, though I wished the bath towels could be fresher; they were hard and crusty, and even had a minor bruise using them.
I moved into my first room. Yes, because it was the first of the three different rooms I was moved into after one anomaly or the other in the previous rooms. First room: no window blinds. Room occupant could be clearly seen by an outside observer, not to mention sunlight heat streaming through the transparent glass windows. I should add the air-conditioning too was not working. I was moved.
Second room: it was good, blinds in place, air-conditioning was good too.The robe closet was broken. I had a comical moment when I hung my clothes and the closet door came crashing down. After my first night, I noticed a pungent cigarette smoke odour in the room, which was quite disturbing since I am allergic to cigarette smoke. The smell so persisted that I assumed it must be filtering into my room from an adjoining room. Moved.
Third and final room. Set-up was same as my previous rooms. Though no cloth hangers, worse still, the air-conditioning was not working. At this time I was fed up with calling the front desk so I went up there and explained my problem. A repair guy came and 'fixed' it. But no there was no noticeable change in the air-conditioning. I just had to stop complaining and check out from the hotel. Just one more annoying situation: I was told I was entitled to a complimentary breakfast on my room rate. But after ordering breakfast, I was charged. Only for them to explain what my complimentary breakfast' meant. Lesson: Don't believe everything you hear. Would I recommend this hotel? No, certainly not in the condition I met this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuzare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calabar hotels

Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Service in AXARI is unacceptable for a Hotel like that.

Especially in the pool bar area. every evening you must wait for a long time that someone is coming to serve you!! Nobody of their Service employee is really interested to do their Job.
And when your drink is served you are forgotten. You as a guest have to stand up to call the workers. UNBEARABLE!!!!!

This is the last time i stay there. NO RECOMMENDATION

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel. There is a lot of choice in Calabar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is Nigeria. You are never going to get perfection or real value for money. But compared to most hotels in Abuja, this is pretty good. Clean, spacious rooms; wifi; a well kept pool and the best hotel food I've eaten in the country.

OK, so the reception staff can be surly, there is noise from the main road outside and the water in the shower fluctuates from hot to scalding. I'd still happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umuahiababe, Guest Relations Manager at Axari Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Good day Claire,

Axari hotel and suites wishes to thank you for your patronage.
We really do appreciate your stay with us, and hope it was fun filled, relaxing and pleasurable.
Our priority is to give you a satisfactory value for your money.

The hotel wishes to apologize for the unpleasantness of the front office staff.
Be rest assured that measures are being put in place to ensure that it doesn't occur again.

We hope to have you stay with us again during your next visit to Calabar.
We wish you the best in all your endeavors.

With hospitable regards,
Henrietta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokoto, Sokoto, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the Axari calabar with some friends from the 25th to 28th August 2013. We had booked three rooms and a suite but had to cancel the reservation for the suite ahead of our travel because the fourth person could not travel. The rooms were niece and neat except that my room was close to the generator which made sleep not very pleasant whenever the power supply changed. On arrival the hotel staff said the deposit for the suite which was earlier cancelled will be refunded during checkout but when i checked out on the 28th August , i was told that there was no cash available and that i should leave my account number for the refund to be paid in by cheque, which i did but as i write this on the 5th September, i am yet to receive the refund despite several phone calls. For a hotel of the standard of Axari, that leaves a sour taste in the mouth and for that, i certainly would not go back to that hotel and will not recommend it to another person either.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are bigger and quieter because of the proximity of the generator to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umuahiababe, General Manager at Axari Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the review. The points raised were duly noted. I apologise for the delay in the refund, but the refund was paid back one week after you checked out from the hotel. The delay was due to the banking reforms.
The hotel is working towards making sure that refunds are paid back automatically. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Rooms that face the swimming pool get a nice view but can be a bit noisy because of the bar. Wi-fi and electricity are reliable compared to the city average. Location is a somehow far from dowtown, which means you may miss some of the town action.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not have a strong humidity smell in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabar
0.0 mi away
Transcorp Hotels
Transcorp Hotels
#1 of 8 in Calabar
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
#3 of 8 in Calabar
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Obudu Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scholet Suites Hotel
Scholet Suites Hotel
#4 of 8 in Calabar
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
520 Hotels Asdam Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Calabar Harbour Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axari Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axari Hotel and Suites

Property: Axari Hotel and Suites
Address: Murtala Muhammed Highway | By Zone 6 roundabout, Calabar, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Cross River State > Calabar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Calabar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Axari Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Axari Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing