We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheriva Villa Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Reviewed July 11, 2008

PRO: The service is prompt and friendly. There is always someone there to wait on you and the consierge is very helpful. The chef is great and so is daily laundry service.

CON: The staff come and go as they please throughout your villa. They're just doing their jobs, but you lose some of your privacy.
--------------------
PRO: The use of the only street-legal golf carts in Anguilla is awesome.

CON: You are only guaranteed a golf cart if your rent the entire villa.
--------------------
PRO: The villas/suites are spacious and fairly luxurious.

CON: We encountered some bugs in our suite.
--------------------
PRO: Your own private pool and hot tub are very big and very nice.

CON: You are a 15 min walk (5 min ride) to the beach.
--------------------
PRO: If you book part of a villa, during the off-season, through a discount website the price is quite affordable for what they offer.

CON: They tried to overcharge us upon check out.
--------------------
SUMMARY: Having your own personal chef, consierge, pool, hot tub, and laundry service are wonderful amenties. However, if instant beach access or extreme privacy are important, this might not be the place for you. Overall, I would definitely recommend Sheriva to pretty much anyone though.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JR54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 37 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2008

Wow, where to start. My wife and I just got back last night from our honeymoon on Anguilla. We stayed at Sheriva, which i found on Luxurylink.com (however, i recommend booking it directly with the hotel). First off, this is just an absolutely amazing place. We had never stayed at such a fantastic facility before (this includes several 4 seasons).

The staff made our experience so special. Simone with her daily breakfasts to Jason with his never ending smiles. It was everything we wanted and more. I had no idea that the continental breakfast was in fact, a chef cooking almost anything you want, and a private server to serve you every morning. I'd say that the best thing about Sheriva is that the people are so nice. They really go out of their way to make sure you get everything you want. on the last night, which was just two nights ago, we had just a few articles of clothing that needed washing, and they did it, at approximately 9pm. I thought that was above and beyond.

Every day, after coming home from the beach, there was always some sort of dish prepared for us in the refrigerator. One day it was salmon on bread, another day it would be cheese. we always had fresh fruit. It was so tempting just to stay at the hotel. The level of privacy was very high. We met our neighbors upstairs, and ended up dining out with them and staying up till wee hours just chatting the night away.

Our suite (which i think was one of the smallest suites available) has a private pool, and must have been about 2000 sq ft. The closet space was so large, we barely filled up half the closets. The dual shower heads made it ideal for honeymooners... as did the private pool... :)

I have to recommend Ronnie to rent cars from. When we arrived, our car was on site waiting for us, with the key in the ignition. When we left, we just left the car at blowing point.
We also have to HIGHLY recommend Matthew at Schoal bay scuba. He went above and beyond. We discovered a common love for all things computers, and he ended up burning us a few movies to watch on DVD, which were then DELIVERED to our suite. (Schoal bay is about a 25-30 minute drive from our suite).

While there, you have to eat at Pimms (pricey). I would also recommend eating in at least once if you stay here. It was just a fantastic, unforgettable experience... we are going back for sure.

Also, while there, we visiting Cap Juluca and Cuisinart. They are very nice, in their own respects, but they are very hotel-y. Sheriva was very homey. There was a huge difference, and for the price, we will choose Sheriva again. The only drawback (if even a drawback) is that it's not on the beach. But you do get a golf cart (almost private golf cart) to use to cart yourself a quarter mile down the road to Maundays Bay.

Just talking about this makes me nostalgic.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank davoodoofunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

I stayed at Sheriva for business in mid June and was lucky enough to stay in the 5-br Mystique Villa. Words just cannot describe the experience we had there.

The staff was phenomenal and went out of there way to make sure everything was just perfect (including making sure our bath's were drawn after being out for the day touring the island). When my coworker called down to wish me a happy birthday, we had not returned yet from the days activities so the staff took the message, turned it into a lovely birthday card, and hand delivered it to me upon my arrival.

My room (the Master Suite #1), was huge as were most of the other suites as well. You will never lack for closet space with a huge dressing area. The shower not only had the 'dual head' set up, but also 6 additional shower heads on each side. And once you're done with taking a leisure bath in the infinity tub, you can relax in your bathroom lounge area. I don't believe I've ever seen a bigger bathroom than what I experienced at this Villa. This villa had 3 pools along with 3 whirlpools. All of which were a decent size - not the plunge pool type.

Yes, it's true, the hotel is not on the beach. However the villa has a 8 passenger golf cart that is the only golf cart that can legally travel on the roads on Anguilla. If you're afraid to drive it no problem, the staff will take you to/from the beach. It is literally down the road so it is truly not a huge inconvenience.

I would highly recommend staying here. It is an experience you will not regret or forget.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank skyhawk352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

A simply wonderful experience from the moment we stepped into the property after our long journey to the time we said our sad farewells.

We stayed in a one bed suite on the ground floor in the Mystique villa. The accommodation was extremely spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was enormous and the bed very comfortable. Breakfasts were made to order by the chef and set us up for the day. We agree with the previous comments about the food at dinner, its not "haut cuisine" but the steaks we had were delicious and the whole in-house dining experience was great.

Jeanine and her team went of their way to help with bookings for restaurants trips etc (it was our first time on the island) and nothing was too much trouble. Everywhere you go on the property you are met with the broadest, friendliest smiles- that alone was worth travelling 4000 miles for!

Our concierge, Charmain, the Chef Santiago and all the other staff made us feel very special. We would recommend Sheriva unreservedly.

We have stayed in an number of "luxury" hotels in the Caribbean over the years. This was something else.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank axel2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a day 10 stay at Sheriva, and our experience could not have been better. We were upgraded on arrival to the large 4 bedroom villa Mystique. Let me say I am hesitant to leave a review as we do not want this unbelievable place to become widely known for purely selfish reasons.

Firstly, the villa itself is gorgeous. The owner, an native Anguillia spared no expense. Our villa was huge with a large master bedroom, dressing room, bathroom with sitting area, a huge kitchen, office, and large family room. The entire villa is marbled, the kitchen has new stainless steel appliances, granite countertops. We had a new PC and full wireless internet access. There was a phone in every room. We had access to the golf cart which proved very useful when going to the beach. The furnishings and linens were absolutely first class.

Each villa has a private pool and hottub which were beautiful.

The villa is located about 1500 feet from Cap Jaluca and was easily access with the golf cart. We found it not an inconvenience at all to get to the beach as it literally took 3 minutes to get there. The villa faces St Martin and were had a view of the ocean and the salt pond located on the island's west end.

But the real attraction to this villa is the staff. Jeannine the GM and our concierge Jason were truly excellent. On par with any Clefs D'Or concierge I have dealt with around the world. All of our needs and desires were taken care of with minimal effort. Rental car, SCUBA, and restaurant reservations were arranged with no effort on our part. The housekeeping staff was professional and excellent and not intrusive whatsoever.

As this was our second visit to Anguilla ( we stayed at the Cuisinart 4 years ago) we were familiar with many of the resturants around the island. We ate at Trattoria Tramonto, Luna Rosa, Tasty's, Smokey's, Jhonno's, and at the golf course. As usually the food on the island was very good, and had no real complants. However early in week we engaged Sheriva's resident chef Santiago for 5 dinners cooked in our villa. And to be frank, his cooking is on par with any of the cuisine found on the island period. Your wish was his command. We had grilled snapper, grilled lobster, grilled shrimp, and a lobster shrimp dish prepared Dominican style. Salads, vegies, and bread were are prepared fresh. He usually began cooking in the midafternoon for 830 dinner. I was truly a pleasure to watch him cook and we honestly enjoyed his company and pleasant demeanor. Dinner could not have been more romantic as it was served on our terrance by candle light by the staff. Desert was again always prepared to order and his poached pears were divine. In addition to amazing dinners, he prepared a full breakfast and coffee service each morning and after noon snacks (lobster dip, shrimp ect..) Santiago is truly unforgettable and made our week. There is really no reason to go out to eat dinner when Santiago is cooked. Finally, no boxed mash potatoes were used. I watched him peel potatoes by hand.

I would recommend the villa to anyone who is desires the quiet solitude and perfect beach of Anguilla in an absolutely first class property. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank zplasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We are a family of eight (including two young children) who rented 4 bedrooms of Harmony villa in late April, 2008.

After a LONG day of travel, we arrived at Sheriva to a very warm welcome from manager Jeannine and staff. There was a spread of hors d'houvres and rum punches waiting for us. We enjoyed them as Jeannine gave us a tour of the villa. We had the entire main level (kitchen, living room, 3 bedrooms and bathrooms as well as the upstairs loft suite). We also had access to not one but TWO pools as the lower level was unoccupied. The accommodations and views are every bit as lovely as on the Sheriva website photos.

The staff was wonderful. Our every need was taken care of with greatest of ease from restaurant reservations to housekeeping details (we LOVED having our laundry washed and folded daily and not touching a dish all week), to arranging our private boat transfers, taxis and and babysitter. It took a little getting used to having a full staff attending to us but they were very unobtrusive and warm.

Everyone in the group enjoyed tooling around in the eight passenger golf cart which was ours to use for the stay. We drove it daily over to Cap Juluca where the beach attendant set us up with chairs and umbrellas on the beach nearest watersports. We were surprised that the surf at Maundays Bay was somewhat rough during our stay, but were told this is unusual.

We enjoyed very fine meals at Blanchards (try the Caribbean Sampler), Zurra, Veya and Pimms. We were disappointed in the food quality at Sheriva. While we all adored chef Santiago and found his food presentation to be lovely, we found ingredient quality to be lacking. We were really surprised to be served boxed mashed potatoes and frozen meats and fish only, for example. Really would have liked local seafood. I would suggest eating dinners out and sticking to the breakfasts at Sheriva which were fine. They are in process of building a separate, free standing service kitchen so perhaps that will help improve meals. This is definitely the one area that needs improvement. We enjoyed having the tables set beautifully for each meal.

We had two minor problems during our stay. The first was that the refrigerator in the kitchen did not cool properly. The staff DID try hard to get this resolved. The was a repair person working on it almost daily, but it still did not work properly all week. Milk went sour twice during our stay. The other issue was we found animal droppings in a few areas of the villa early the first morning and a few subsequent mornings. I really freaked out the first day thinking it was mice. The staff assured us that it was lizards which may be more likely as my father in law did chase one out of the villa one day after it ran through the open front door. (quite a hilarious sight). Anyway, there was not much to be done about this and the staff did begin cleaning at 7 am daily so the droppings were swept up. Still, it was a little yucky. Somehow the notion that it was lizards, not mice was more tolerable to me.

We have traveled extensively in the Caribbean, but this was our first visit to Anguilla. Our favorite things about the island were the outstanding restaurants and the glass bottom boat tour and snorkel with Junior (who leaves from Shoal Bay East). It was a spectacular tour and he was simply wonderful with the kids. We saw turtles, sand sharks, barracuda and hundreds of starfish through the viewing window and absolutely amazing coral on the snorkel. We found the Anguillan people to be warm and friendly. The island itself is flat,arid and not very scenic so go for the water scenery, not the land. Things are pretty spread out so cab rides were sometimes longer than expected and certainly very costly. It is probably best to rent a car, but since we were a group of eight we would have needed two.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JessLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

I preface this review this review by saying we have stayed at many lovely places in the caribbean - amanyara, cotton house, private villas, etc., and this was by far the far the best - and not just because of the beauty and peacefulness of our surroundings, but because of the beauty of the people of Sheriva. From the moment we arrived - to the moment we regretably departed we were treated with kindness and warmth. I cannot emphasize this point enough - the people at Sheriva made our vacation, they are some of the friendliest, nicest people we have ever met. More on this below.
The property itself is incredible - no expense has been spared. All high-end materials were used in the construction of the villas - hard woods, travertine, marble. The website photos do not do the property justice because they do not adequately convey the spaciousness of the inside and outside living areas (we stayed in the one bedroom). The view, with St. Martin in the distance, speaks for itself in the photos - gorgeous.
Many details aren't mentioned on the website - such as the fact that a chef (ours was the very sweet, always smiling Santiago) comes to your villa each morning to make a breakfast of many courses. Our breakfast was served most mornings by the lovely Viviana, whose smiling face and pleasant conversation I genuinely looked forward to each morning.
Someone checks on you to see if you need anything throughout the day. Your fridge is always stocked with water and soft drinks - and hors d'ouerves are dropped off each evening.
One of the brightest smiles on the property was Wendy's, who cheerfully tidied up our villa each day - we already miss seeing it.
Our concierge, J'son, couldn't have been more responsive and concerned with our needs, even if they were as (seemingly) trivial as finding a blender and a bottle of margarita mix (which, in an act of grand kindest, he delivered on his day off from his own personal stock). And, by the way, he's one of the nicest guys we've ever met.
Great thanks also goes out to Sheriton, the all round go-to guy for any maintenance issue, who actually INSTALLED an electical outlet by the jacuzzi for us so we could listen to our ipod there. We are talking incredible service here - and with a smile. always. These folks are great.
From the moment I first called Sheriva and spoke with and e-mailed Jeanine (Sheriva's manager) and Samantha (Assistant mananger), who were both incredible helpful and flexible with booking our stay, I knew this would be special place. Boy, was it.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank deeannagalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
1.4 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
518 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reef by CuisinArt
The Reef by CuisinArt
#12 of 32 in Anguilla
35 reviews
6.6 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#3 of 13 in West End Village
1,511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#11 of 13 in West End Village
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheriva Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheriva Villa Hotel

Address: Maundays Bay Road, West End Village AI 2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#5 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
Price Range: $699 - $3,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheriva Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning SHERIVA VILLA HOTEL offers the serenity of understated elegance with elitist luxuries. Recognized as a 2009-2010 Condé Nast Johansens Recommended Property and a 2008-2010 AAA 4-Diamond Property, SHERIVA mesmerizes even the most distinguished traveler. Accommodations range from 1-bedroom Grand Villa Pool suites to 7-bedroom villas. Fine finishes of marble, granite and rich hardwoods adorn the villas as well as the Conference Suite and new Events Pavilion - perfect for weddings and group functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheriva Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheriva Villa Hotel Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing