We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why do i have to leave again??” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meads Bay Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meads Bay Beach Villas
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Jefferson, South Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Why do i have to leave again??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Truthfully, i want to give MBBV a bad review so that no one else finds out about this special place. I have read all of the previous reviews, and all are accurate. We stayed in villa #4 because its cheaper and we actually preffered it because it is the most private, and is closest to the parking area. and since most of our time was spent driving around the island checking things out, it made it convienient. And just as everyone else has already stated, you walk about 30 seconds, and your on the beach. Delta and Lollie are the biggest asset to this place. We pulled up in the taxi for the first time, and Delta comes over, and hugs me like my mom does. Believe it when you read the reviews, you are now family. It was funny, one afternoon, Delta was following my wife and i up the stairs as we were visiting about what we had done during the day(she was really interested in making our days go as we wanted), and this guy walks up and says "Hey Delta, It wouldn't be a trip to Anguilla with out seeing you. He msut have drove out of his way to jsut stop by and say hi. As this was our first trip out of the U.S., my wife and i were a little out of our element traveling abroad. I asked Delta were the restraunt was that we wanted to eat at that night, and we just started visiting like family. So we asked her to Join us. She is that personable. Delta, if you ever read this, We will never forget you and how you made us feel right at home in a new place. You are a special person, and we enjoyed meeting your family.
Another thing i want to mention that i wont forget. Anguilla as a whole is full of friendly people. You can sense that the native people "get it". they understand that their livelyhood is solely based off tourism and their success is based off of making repeat customers out of new customers. They are all this way. Back to the thing i want to mention...the gardener stopped me on the last day we were there. He knew that it was our last day first of all. In most circumstances that would be impressive. But furthermore, he looked me in the eye and whole heartily asked me if there was anything that they could have done to make our stay more enjoyable. I was floored that the "gardener" actually cared about how well MBBV did as far as making our trip as enjoyable as it could be.
Dont get me wrong when i say that the staff and you will have interaction. They are always outside primping and pruning the grounds, or maintaing the villas to impecable standards. They will always stop what they are doing and give you a smile and a hello. The onsite handy man/ pool man everyday would greet us with "Have a blessed Day!". I wont forget his genuine kindness. It was as if I were the president being greeted everyday as we jumped in our white Hyundai to explore the island.
We would give our left arm to stay here again. and we will stay again not soon enough.
So with that said, I will offer some advice to the owner and management to only improve on what is close to perfection....
1) Let Delta be the main and only contact person. Let her take all phone calls from customers when planning their stay. I went through Jim at first, then he dissapeared into thin air. Then I was dealing with Chris upto the day we arrived. Then upon arrival, it was your son. Although all of these guys were great to deal with, from my perspective, i got cold feet wondering why i wasnt dealing with the same person everytime. It just gave me kind of a fishy feeling. And i was worried that all of the details of reservations, and daytrips, etc. were not getting reserved or scheduled because i was dealing with a new person everytime. Just let Delta handle it, because she is the common denominator.

Just to be clear though, everything did end up being handled just as we asked, no problems. it just took a lot of phone calls on my part to get the comfort level up.

Now that we personally know the people and the way things happen at MBBV, we will have no problems staying here again. Cant wait. The villas are spotless. You dont have to worry about your personal belongings. the beach is just steps away. there is great food all over the island. the beds are very comfortable. the outdoor shower is great. the airconditioning is COLD, and i am from south dakota! it is a nice and quiet setting, you are off the main road quite aways. the only thing wrong with the villas is that its on such a beautiful island, that you wont get to spend enough time in it to enjoy all of its ammenities. Trust the pictures, they are not fluffed in anyway. they really are that nice.
Again, The people of this resort are the biggest plus of this place! Delta, if you get to read this someday, i hope my kind words are some sort of reimbursement for how special you made us feel. you are a special lady. We miss you as soon as we got on that damn ferry back to St. Maarten. We cant wait to see you again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDMEATGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
118
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Meads Bay Beach Villas was an ideal location for myself and friends to experience the wonderful island of Anguilla. During our 5 night stay (Thurs-Tues) we stayed in two of the five villas (#1 and then #3.) They were both equally beautiful and comfortable, with tons of space, two large bedrooms (each with its own full bathroom), a third half bath off the living area, and a huge, fully-functional kitchen. There was free high-speed wifi, a flatscreen TV, and FREE calls from the villa to the US or Canada. Meads Bay makes it a piece of cake to stay in touch with loved ones or to conduct business back home which was amazing for us. Each villa is also equipped with its own pristine pool, ideal for a late-night dip or to cool off in the middle of the day. Villa 1 directly overlooks the beach/ocean and provides breath-taking views but the other villas are certainly not lacking in that department and only require, at most, about a 50 yard walk to get to the beach...literally a stones throw away. The beach itself has the softest, finest sand I have ever sunk my feet into and the water was amazing. The temperature was in the low to mid-80s each day, exactly what we were looking for. The staff was so friendly, knowledgable, and welcoming and also gave us a feel of what the locals were like (I've been to other places where the staff is completely comprised of non-natives and it just doesn't compare.) There were also plenty of options for delicious food on the island that the staff directed us to and we also played a round of golf at Temenos that was a great time. By the end of the trip we all didn't want to leave and would for sure go back (and probably will in the near future).

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you would like Villa 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srcrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

We just got back from Anguilla. We stayed at MBBV with our daughter son in law and 1 yr old grandson. It was a perfect spot. The small pool was perfect for the baby and 1 of the best beaches in the caribbean is only steps away. The facilities were in excellent condition. There are 2 master bedrooms 1 with an outdoor shower. The common area is very nice with a full kitchen, good for breakfast or lunch. Dinner in Anguilla has to be out because the restaurants are so good. Delta and Lollie are a wonderful plus. They not only do a great job of maintaining the villas but soon become a part of the family. Given the cost of comparable properties in Anguilla the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobSouthBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

We had a really lovely experience at MBBVs! My husband and I stayed in Villa 4 (of 4) as it was the only one you can use as a 1 bedroom. Though without the sea view, it's steps from the beach and it's well-thought-out, luxurious accommodation made up for it: full kitchen stoecked with pretty much anything you need, comfortable living room, 1.5 baths plus outdoor shower, private pool and beautiful deck. It was thoroughly clean and very well-maintained. In fact, the staff was found daily working on the grounds. Note this is not a hotel, but the staff is so warm, welcoming and responsive that we didn't find ourselves wanting anything we didn't already have. There was never a problem getting a lounge with umbrella on the beautiful beach... it seemed there were more chairs than possible guests!

I can't say enough good things about Anguilla. It's beautiful, easy to get around, friendly, has amazing food and lots of dining options, and most importantly the BEST beaches: spacious with minimal people; pure, powder sand; gorgeous clear, clean turquoise water, great surf but not overpowering. Beach and sunny relaxation broken up by afternoon adventures exploring the island and eating great food!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rls87621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Meads Bay Beach Villas are only four units so they probably don't get as much play on the TA forums as they should. I would certainly rank them higher than they are, but these ranking systems are so capricious they need to be taken VERY loosely. This is a new property that, yes, is on a rather narrow lot between the Frangipani and Turtle's Nest. They've done such a beautiful job with the landscaping and villa configurations that this is a minor detail. However, if you want sweeping open vistas on either side of you and the feeling of total privacy you're not going to get that, but you wouldn't at 90% of the other hotels on the island. Second, this isn't really a hotel. There is no bar or restaurant and I didn't even see the lobby of the place until I had been there several days. That said, the service is very conscientious and extremely personable, which really goes a long way. There are just the three managers and the gardener and handyman, but you'll see them everywhere and they'll really make your stay comfortable and easy. A little anecdote...our rental car was scraped while we had it parked at Shoal Bay, through no fault of ours, without saying a thing to anyone at the Villas I came out to the parking lot the next morning to see that the General Manager had buffed out the scratches on the car! Now that's thoughtful service.
Yes, the first Villa is on the beach (and more expensive because of it). I would rent it were it available, mostly because you'll get un unobstructed view of the ocean. The three behind it have dwindling views, though you're never more than steps to the beach. A little quibble that I had, though there's nothing to be done about it, is that the villas are situated and built in such a way, with large covered porches, that they never really get much direct sunlight. This leaves the pool pretty cold most of the winter months and makes it a little difficult to do any sunbathing at the Villas themselves. I'd lop off half of the overhang on the porches if I could. Everything is very well appointed and decorated inside and out, though there are no bathtubs, which might be an issue for people travelling with small children.
At $800 a night, shared with two couples or for sleeping 4+ people, it's not a terrible deal on an incredibly expensive island. Two rooms at any of the higher quality hotels would be well over a thousand dollars. That said, if the price causes you to blanche, you'd probably be better down at Carimar, but you won't get as many of the luxe touches or a pool.
It's a shame that there is as much building happening on the beach,( well, compared to twenty years ago) but....alas...what can you do?
If you want to avoid the large hotels but don't want a stand alone villa, want to be on the beach and be treated very well you can't go wrong with Meads Bay Beach Villas.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grassarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Our honeymoon on Anguilla was perfect and we loved staying at Meads Bay Villas. The villas are kept very clean and the staff of Delta, Jim and Charm are so warm, welcoming and very helpful. Having your own private pool is amazing.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCP0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

If you want the best beaches in the world, great staff, and gourmet restaurants, then this is the resort for you. We went there for our 10 year anniversay, and it exceeded all of our expectations. Living in Las Vegas, we have a tendency to be spoiled with world class food and resorts, but we cannot imagine a better place to spend a vacation in order to recharge and relax. Our only complaint is that we didn't have more time to enjoy the wonderful indoor accomodations, as it was so beautiful, we spent the majority of our time in the pool and exploring the island and its beaches. If going to Anguilla, we wouldn't recommend any other resort, as the accomodations were first class, and the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home, and give us the local scoop on where to eat, boat, snorkel, etc. We are already looking at when we can go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.4 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.8 mi away
Shoal Bay Villas
Shoal Bay Villas
#2 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cap Juluca
Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meads Bay Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meads Bay Beach Villas

Property: Meads Bay Beach Villas
Address: Meads Bay Road, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#3 Family Hotel in West End Village
#5 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#6 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meads Bay Beach Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meads Bay Beach Villas is a collection of 4 two-bedroom private villas on Meads Bay Beach, on the western shores of Anguilla in the British West Indies. Each villa features 1700 square feet of living space, including a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable living room, 2 ½ bathrooms, a large pool and sun deck with private swimming pool as well as a lounge and outdoor dining area. The property offers one of Anguilla’s exclusive beachfront villa settings, where guests step out directly onto the powder white sand of Meads Bay. The warm turquoise ocean water is only steps away from each villa. Meads Bay Beach Villas is the perfect option for honeymooners, couples, families and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Meads Bay Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meads Bay Beach Villas Hotel West End
Meads Bay Hotel
Meads Bay Beach Villas Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing