We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Staff are Great BUT....”

Blue Waters Beach Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West End Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Waters Beach Apartments
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location and Staff are Great BUT....”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

First, the pluses: The apartments are on Shoal Bay West and you can walk out directly onto the beach. The staff is very friendly and the apartments are clean and well maintained. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are adequate.

Now, the minuses: When compared to comparable properties, this one is lacking in several areas. First, since most guests arrive in the late afternoon after a long flight, a starter basket of coffee, tea and breakfast snack should be provided. Guests shouldn't have to run to the store on the day that they arrive. Second, while soap is provided, shampoo should be provided also. Third, the apartments have concrete tables, nightstands and sofas (with cushions). The walls are white, stark and without decoration of any kind. This was not a big deal to me, but my spouse commented on it several times as did friends who visited us at the apartment. A couple of pictures on the walls would help a lot.

I recognize that overall, these minuses are small in relation to the pluses, but given the numerous options for upscale lodging on the island, management should address them to earn this property the EXCEPTIONAL rating that it otherwise would deserve.

Room Tip: Downstairs units have patios and open directly onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michael41010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We'd been to Anguilla several times before and know our way around the island, so we didn't need on-site amenities--rather, we prefer to spend mornings on the beach, then afternoons exploring, and dinner out. Still, we very much appreciate a well-appointed and visually pleasing place to stay on vacation. Blue Waters was perfect--we enjoyed wonderfully comfortable and properly appointed accommodations, and plenty of freedom--it almost doesn't seem like a commercial residence. Loved making coffee in the morning and enjoyed the white, airy rooms that opened to the sand and sea. Carolyn and staff were extremely helpful, when needed. Exceptional value. We will return. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Blue Waters provided us with one of our best vacations EVER... Located on the beach, 10 yards from the most gorgeous water in the Caribbean, it offers absolute relaxation.

We wanted to sit on the beach, read trashy novels and drink a crisp savignon blanc which we accomplished at BWs.

Carolyn and her friendly staff provides a wonderful environment to simply drop out and relax.

Cannot think of one thing that could have been better other then another week on Anguilla.

Room Tip: Villa 9 is on the end of the property and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeopleoftheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Blue Waters early April 2012. The last time we were at this complex was about 16+ years ago. it is still amazing! They do such a great job keeping the place up to date. The location is fantastic for that perfect, quiet getaway.

The last review (on this site) was posted about a year ago. I thought everyone needed to know that all of the reviews are still relevant! If you aren't looking for 24 hour support (like a resort atmosphere)........book it!

The kayaking in the early mornings was a nice treat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Blue Waters is a small, classy apartment complex in the West End of Anguilla. We had a second floor apartment and you could have thrown a rock into the water from where we had breakfast. The sugar birds (bananaquits) visited us every morning when we put a dish of sugar out. Palm trees shade the area under between the apartment and the beach itself. We loved the gardens, beach and the apartment itself.. We appreciated the fact that there was a barbecue available for use, and good, always available chaise longues and umbrellas at the beach. The view of St. Maarten, and Saba, and passing yachts was mesmerizing.
The apartments are gleaming white (almost too much white, even) very clean and modern. A/C in the bedroom, and it was needed occasionally - you have to close the louvered and screened doors at nights as the bugs are present, although not overwhelming by any means. Carolyn is a gracious and helpful host and the staff are friendly and efficient. Ask for a ground level apartment if you want to walk right into the sea for a swim or onto the beach. We were very happy with the second floor, though. We would definitely return to Blue Waters, and I hope we do!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enviroguyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our family recently spent our family vacation in the caribbean, staying in St. Martin a few days followed by Anguilla. Only wish we had spent the entire time at Blue Waters where the beaches are more secluded and the accommodations were perfect for our family. The owners are lovely, caring people who want their guests to enjoy themselves. We left as friends with hopes to return in the not too distant future. I highly recommend for couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steven4susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We spent 2x a year at Blue Waters Beach Apts. several yrs Apr 2000/Nov2000 Apr2001 Nov2001, do not remember the other yrs. It is awesome, the location is undescribable. A vacation only for someone to relax. A safe and friendly place. Met and made friends with local people. Cannot miss eating at Scilly Cay.Have many pictures I will post when I have more time

Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DorisP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
2.2 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in West End Village
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
199 reviews
1.9 mi away
Turtle's Nest Beach Resort
Turtle's Nest Beach Resort
#7 of 13 in West End Village
119 reviews
2.4 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Beach Apartments

Property: Blue Waters Beach Apartments
Address: Shoal Bay West, West End Village, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#10 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Beach Apartments Hotel Anguilla
Blue Waters Beach Apartments Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing