We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Anguilla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anguilla Great House Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Anguilla”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I've visited Anguilla several times over the years and had either rented a villa or a condo, so this is my first time at a resort.
The Great House is well laid out and right on the beach at Rendezvous Bay where the water is calm and you have a beautiful view of St. Maartin about 5 miles away. It's quiet and super relaxing, well away from one of the few main roads on the island. The Great House rooms are simple and comfortable but not luxurious and it has a pool and restaurant, but I've only eaten breakfast there so no details to share. It seems great for couples and families.
If you're looking for nightlife, Bankie Banx' Dune Preserve is just a short walk down the beach past the Cuisine Art Resort. Bankie's place serves food and the restaurant is run byTasty's, a local business.

Room Tip: Can't really go wrong as they all seem to face the ocean, but some are a bit further away. Try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGB-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    58
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
10
68
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Great House for a night during out week long stay on St. Maarten. We found the Great House staff to be very friendly and helpful. It happened to be raining when we arrived (very rare!) and they managed to get us into our room much earlier than check-in time and upgrade us to an ocean view for free since one was available. Although the rooms aren't new or modern, they were very clean, nicely appointed and the location is perfect (on beautiful Rendezvous beach). If you require 5 star accommodations though, this is likely not the place for you to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MN_Traveler138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Once you've stayed at the Great House it is difficult NOT to return. If you are not a high maintenance person, if you are not filthy rich, if you can appreciate simplicity, this is the place for you!
It's all about location. It's all about Will and Mr. Fleming and the staff. Time and time again you will come back to Rendezvous Bay because it is quite simply one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, unencumbered by massive rock structures to distract from your views. And the Great House is the most affordable, friendly, safe and centrally located place to headquarter yourself.
Nothing fancy but everything right.
Thank you all for ANOTHER wonderful visit! We will be back!

Room Tip: Getting a garden view room will save you $$, and you will be steps away from an ocean view. Save so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VTPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Perfect!! The best staff, best location. Steps away from the beach. Spent 5 nights at an upscale big name hotel the previous five days and they can't compare to the AGH! I'm staying small from here in. Ask for will smith at the AGH he will take good care of you. Fo sho!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poppajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, Ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Although it has been years since we were here, our memories of the resort, the management, and the staff are still quite vivid and exotic. As a honeymoon destination we couldn't have chosen better. The layout of the resort, with multiple cottage type rooms, beautiful grounds, a fine little restaurant on site, the Old Caribe, and especially the beach is hard to top. Not some overblown ritzy resort, but more like a small village with cozy cottages right next to the bay.
It was relaxing, quiet, and had the extra benefit of a great welcoming staff. And we have to stress this point........the beach and water couldn't be better!! Anguilla is a beautiful island!
We plan to revisit the Great House soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daddyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a little different than we expected but there were some good surprises as well. Don't expect your typical front desk service, more like your visiting someone's home. They are available for the morning through the evening (no one overnight), assisting with a car rental and letting you know things if you ask. We didn't get much help with excursions, especially being a small island we thought they would have all the connections. The beach was great, couldn't believe this was a small resort. The rooms are kind of sweet but the set up was confusing. A/C worked well. We had a king-sized studio bedroom, with a daybed for a couch. The bathroom needed some updating but was clean. The confusing area was that there was like a kitchenette between the bedroom and bathroom, nice big sink, lots of cabinets, a tiny fridge that went on using a switch, an ice bucket and there was a 2 cup coffee pot. There were no cups, flatware, plates, glasses or coffee and condiments. This place would have had a higher rating if these things had been included. We were only there for a short stay before heading to our weekly timeshare but wanted to check this out for perhaps a week trip in the future. Luckily we had our coffee & filters with us, but had to wait for the "dining area" to open to get our supplies. When we were at the beach one morning a chartered Catamaran dropped anchor & all of their customers unloaded for snorkeling and a day at the beach & lunch. Luckily they were all very nice & their were no issues. The employees were nice but very reserved. The pool was not inviting as there was always a very thick hose hanging in it that you had to walk over to get to the dining area and the pool deck needed updating/repairing. The beach chairs were chained down & we were told that when the beach guy came we could get them at a cost. The dining attendant had a key and we were able to get two and didn't see a bill charge. It had occurred to me later that we probably could have brought the ones from our front porch down ourselves instead of waiting for them to open etc. The views are amazing. The food wasn't anything to write about and was unpredictable in that what was on the menu wasn't always available & usually you didn't find out until just before they other person's meal was ready. The service was noticeably slow and like I said above she was very nice but reserved. There is no beach bar like it sounds & looks like in the pictures. There is a very small building that has a cut out in the middle for a bartender and you can possibly sit around it (don't remember seeing any stools), no bartender, no service. Down the beach there was a great little place called "Sun Shine Shack", a must-do!

Room Tip: Building A I believe is the group of rooms that are closest to the beach and away from the dining &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Czelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After many trips to Anguilla this was our first stay at the Anguilla Great House (AGH). We've done the 5-star resort thing as well as other mid-range properties, but of everywhere we have stayed AGH is now our favorite. It doesn't have the polish and sophistication of the 5-stars, but over the years we have discovered that polish and sophistication wasn't what kept us coming back to Anguilla. What kept us coming back was a vibe, something that touches the soul, and that can't be manufactured... but AGH has "IT".

Many debate about which Anguilla beach is the best, and solid arguments can be made for many. For us though, Rendezvous Bay has always been #1, and AGH sits smack in the middle of this tropical dreamscape. Situated directly on the wide powdery white sand beach amongst the coconut palms and looking out onto the stunning azure blue sea with the mountains of St. Martin as a backdrop, you need to pinch yourself each morning to be sure you are really there. The water is calm compared to the North (Atlantic) side of the island, and there is always a steady cooling breeze. For pure beach lovers, it doesn't get any better.

One of the oldest hotels on the island, AGH exudes Caribbean colonial charm with its colorful one-story wood buildings, each housing 5 guest suites, each just steps from that amazing beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable - decent beds and hot showers. Air conditioning is available if needed, but often times just the ceiling fan and tropical breezes will suffice. Rooms have small refrigerators for the guests convenience, which do come in handy. Housekeeping is daily, and non-intrusive... but if you do happen to bump into your housekeeper you are guaranteed a warm and friendly experience, as is the norm in Anguilla. I hear the rooms have TVs, but I barely noticed to one in our room (c'mon people, you can watch TV at home - keep that thing off and enjoy where you are!)

The thing that surprised us most about AGH was their restaurant, The Old Caribe, because it isn't often discussed in restaurant recommendations. Although the service can sometimes be a little uneven, the food was very good, and quite reasonably priced for Anguilla. We had breakfast several mornings and also tried them for lunch and dinner and were never disappointed. The coconut-pumpkin soup was particularly tasty and the rum punches outstanding.

If you need some 5-star pampering the Cuisinart Resort is just a short walk up the beach where you can schedule a massage or play a round of golf on Anguilla's only golf course. Also just a short walk up the beach is Garvey's Sunshine Shack - a special place, run by a very special guy, where you can grab lunch and some drinks and just while the day away.

We will absolutely return to AGH - and if you have a laid-back attitude, enjoy people, and love spectacular beaches, then you should consider it too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RHCompound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
2.0 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Bay Hotel & Villas
Rendezvous Bay Hotel & Villas
#1 of 1 in Rendezvous Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cap Juluca
Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#3 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anguilla Great House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anguilla Great House Beach Resort

Property: Anguilla Great House Beach Resort
Address: Rendezvous Bay | PO box 157, West End Village, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#10 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anguilla Great House Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anguilla Great House on Rendezvous Bay!The perfect beach...a soft brush of sunrise across white powder sands, turquoise water with a calm surf that sways in and out with the tides. A few palm trees mark the green edge of where the island’s interior meets the long, open and peaceful cove.The Anguilla Great House, with its easy atmosphere and gingerbread-laced cottages, is centered right in the middle of this perfect beach. Wake up.Roll out of bed and into the sea. Laze the afternoon away on the porch,move slow, stretch out the day.At sundown, stars pierce the black sky and from the beautiful shore ofAnguilla, the lights on the mountains of nearby St.Martin sparkle like a galaxy of stars and the moon shines bright on the white sands and sea foam…This is our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anguilla Great House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anguilla Great House Beach Hotel West End
Anguilla Great Hotel Beach
Anguilla Great Resort Beach
Anguilla Great House Beach Resort West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing