We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong!”
Review of Carimar Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carimar Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sfakia, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This was my first time staying at this property and we were amazed on how great it was! You have everything you need from a balcony to a full kitchen and best of all a short walk to the beach. I counted 30 steps and we were on Meads . You have the beach shack for a quick lunch or inexpensive dinner next door. The staff at the Carimar was wonderful and go above and beyon to make your stay unforgettable. They also have snorkel gear that you can borrow to go exploring by the reef about 100 yards away. We can't wait to go back!! We have reservation to spilt our time in May-June at the Viceroy and CJ and are going to cancel them and stay here instead. We want to say a special thanks to Kerri from the grounds keeper crew who went way above his job title to insure that our stay at the Carimar and Anguilla was one we will never forget!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Jake 1,

Thanks for your confidence in our property and for identifying an employee who was instrumental in making your stay a memorable one.to me as General Manager, it is very satisfying the see that an employee excelled in your eyes and provided the level of "Carimar Caring" we strive to deliver to each guest, each day and for each stay.
Rest assured Sir, we will make every effort to convert your first stay to that of a repeat guest for many years to come.
Sincerely.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    93
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
151
265
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've been to Carimar many times in the past and hope to return many more times. It's not a deluxe resort. You get a very nice apartment with no pretense. A few units are right on the beach, but it doesn't seem to matter which unit I'm assigned, I'm very happy in any of them. Carimar is simple, a wonderful room and a perfect beach. The addition of Blanchard's Beach Shack next door has made it even better. It's a short walk on the beach to some of the best food on the island. Although the unit has a nice kitchen, the beach shack has made it obsolete! There are swankier, trendier places on Anguilla to be sure, but Carimar is all I'll ever need.

Room Tip: I've been upstairs and downstairs. I've been in almost every unit....they are all nice. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plm252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Plm252,

WOW. Thanks for sharing your poetic skills. Can we use your phrase "CARIMAR IS ALL I'LL EVER NEED" it seems so very fitting and timely considering the winter thus far in the North East and Canada.

Best,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have been going to Anguilla for more than 16 years. I have been to other places in the
Caribbean but nothing is like Anguilla. You have to enjoy quiet, beautiful beaches, and good food. We would not stay anywhere but the Carimar Beach Club. I think it is the best kept secret in the Caribbean. Wonderful people and on the beautiful Mead's Bay Beach. The staff at Carimar is like family now. We meet friends there now that we have known for years from all over the world. In fact, many of them will be mad at me for giving away our little secret, Carimar.

Room Tip: Any condo you get is just perfect. The beach front condos tend to be hotter in the afternoon, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeysgurl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our first visit to Anguilla and we loved it! Spent a lovely week at Carimar Beach Club over Christmas! We travelled with 2 teenage boys and we had a beautiful relaxing week. Our trip did not start well as we arrived to St.Maarten and discovered that we had no luggage. Carimar staff was so helpful to assist us with this! Thank you! The units were very clean and comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom unit (ground floor) overlooking the grounds and Meads Bay. Clubhouse has a washer and dryer. My husband enjoyed playing tennis with other guests and the pro during our stay. Market is 2 minutes driving distance from Carimar. We rented a car to drive to restaurants in the evening but there were several wonderful restaurants walking distance from Carimar. We loved the location, the staff and the fact that you do not have to get up early to reserve a chair on the beach!!! Thank you and we cannot wait to return to Carimar Beach Club!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svenskainct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for highlighting the very things that make Carimar Beach Club work. our staff are all very service oriented and are trained to go beyond the call to make our guests stay a memorable one even though it may have started badly elsewhere. We feel responsible and will always work toward the best possible solution for our guests.

I wish you and your family good health for 2014 and looking forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Alfred Thompson
General Manager
Carimar Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Anguilla and staying at Carimar since the mid 1990's. The beach is beautiful. The staff is gracious. The units are well-maintained and continually updated. Perfect place to get away from it all and relax.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nodlorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The beach at Carimar is the main reason we booked here and we were not disappointed. Swimming in Meads bay and watching the sunset is just perfect. The front office arranged a one day car rental (plus temporary driving permit) and called the taxi for us when required. There was always someone there if you needed anything. The property is small enough that it's easy to get around without much effort.

We were not happy that the villa (#401) we were in was on the ground floor and it's located in such a way that it gets very little to no sunlight. If you like a cool, shaded unit while in the caribbean then this is perfect. We wanted a sunny unit where we could have breakfast on the sun filled balcony, instead we got stuck with a shaded patio unit facing away from the sun and behind a bunch of tropical foliage.

The unit is spacious, but could use some updating in the bathroom. The layout is awkward though functional. The headboard and frame of the bed were so loose that the whole bed shook each time you got on or off. Description says beach VIEW, but it should say barely beach VIEW. Three star accommodation in a five star location.

Housekeeping did a great job at keeping the place clean and all toiletries were provided. They provide Off insect repellant, a flashlight, and a mosquito repellant room plug-in. Great restaurants close to Carimar and within walking distance. Free laundry with detergent provided in the club house which is a big plus if you like to travel light.

Room Tip: Obviously beach front looked the best. Next better option would be a second floor unit that faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JungleeBhalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from another delightful eight night stay at the Carimar Beach Club in Anguilla. As devoted and committed Caribbophiles, we have visited most of Caribbean islands -.from Bermuda to Bonaire; from the Bahamas to Barbados - and everything in between. The "smalls", too - St. Barths, Saba, Statia, Petit St. Vincent, Carriacoo , Guana (BVI), Palm, etc. From five star resorts to three: star hotels. Villas to private homes. Our favorite island? Anguilla. Our favorite "hotel"? Carimar.... by far.

So why Anguilla, then?
* The English speaking British commonwealth island is relatively small, measuring just 13 miles long by 3 miles wide....about the size and shape of Manhattan but only "houses" a population of 13,000.- that's one Anguillan resident for every 616 New Yorkers.
* Anguilla "harbors" no cruise ships, has no high-rise chain monstrosities, no jumbo jets, no gambling and no large meeting/convention facilities - thereby negating group travel/lodging.
* It's a tad awkward to get to (an hour's flight from San Juan or a 22 minute ferry ride from St. Martin). But therein lies the Island's charm.
* Good restaurants are plentiful.....less expensive ones difficult to find. Car rental rates much cheaper than "home".

If you like small, you'll love Anguilla.

So why Carimar, then?
* It's comfortably small - a most attractive villa/suite resort complex incorporating a host of hotel amenities. It's full when all 24 units are occupied.
* It's an exquisite beach property.....located directly on the renowned Mead's Bay Beach. I contend that Carimar's beach is the very best in the entire Caribbean by any and all measurable criteria. And I'm open for challenge....but you must have experienced the Mead's Bay powder-white sand and no-tide surf before I accept your comment(s).
* Each villa measures a massive 1100 square feet (how large does that compare to your home bedroom or a much adored resort hotel suite of your liking)? Carimar's bedrooms are air-conditioned, of course. Ceiling fans galore, too. Free WiFi in all units; a PC in the Club Room (if you're so inclined), along with a community washer/dryer and lending library.
* Each villa has a large living room, king size bed (or twins if, you prefer), a dining room, updated kitchen with modern appliances and cookware, chinaware to entertain up to six people. Villas are suitable for a couple (one bedroom, one bath).The two bedroom, two bath villas are ideal for friends or families of four. A large outdoor covered patio or balcony with each villa completes the picture.
* All accommodations offer excellent ocean views (8 of the 24 villas feature beach front), and all units face west for observing the glorious Caribbean sunsets. Extra beach towels, swimming "toys", snorkel stuff available gratis. Two tennis courts on the premises as well.
* Nearby independent restaurants abound. Two within 100 yard's distance from the property. Mr. Michelin and/or Mr. Zagat would be proud.
* Car rentals delivered to your door. No need to taxi to the rental office. Car exploration, restaurant hopping, absorbing the Island's sights and attractions an absolute must. Taxis rather expensive.
* Last but hardly the least: The management and staff. A true pleasure to acquaint. Blessed with a keen sense of humor, a bright twinkle in each eye. A knowledgeable, extremely well-informed team of hospitality professionals. Front office focused and efficient. All staff tenured with very, very little turnover. Reception staff, housekeepers, gardeners and porters will take care of your every need......and be pleased to do so.
.
If you like the beach, you'll love Carimar

So How About the Downsides/Turnoffs at Carimar?
* Sorry, no pets allowed. But your furnished patio/balcony will be visited by a pair of lovely Turtle Doves (Zenaida Aurita) - Anguilla's national bird. Or the ever present Bananaquits, or Gumby, the resident rooster.....maybe even a hungry Pelican diving for a nice sushi hors d' oeuvre.
* Multi-channel cable TV in all villa living rooms. But not to fret. Just press the wand button to off.
* Unfortunately, Carimar closes each September and October. This to allow a welcome respite for the hard working staff of some 25 Anguillans. And a period when management spruces up the property, refurbishes villa interiors.
* No shuttle buses from the airport or ferry terminal to the hotels (government regulation). You will be compelled to take a taxi.....but the miles are few.
* I think the off season rates a little on the low side. This apt to confuse Internet browsers, prospective guests into believing accommodations and services may be less than four star quality and value. It did me, initially. This is not the case, however. Management eager to attract visitors to experience The Carimar Way - especially in the Spring and early Fall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank scottc413413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.7 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
326 reviews
7.9 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmond Cap Juluca
Belmond Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carimar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carimar Beach Club

Property: Carimar Beach Club
Address: Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West End Village
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carimar Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carimar Beach Club, located on the pristine white sands and turquoise waters of Meads Bay, is an exceptional beachfront resort. Each of our 24 suites offers unique, exquisitely appointed interiors featuring colorful, tropical motifs and exotic rattan furnishings. The spacious 1100 square foot beach front and beach view suites feature all the comforts of home including: full, modern kitchens with granite counters; a living room with flat screen cable Tv and WiFi; a dining area accomodating six people; and a balcony or patio with stunning ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Enjoy plush bedding with luxurious linens in our Caribbean style air-conditioned bedrooms. All suites offer one or two bedrooms and one or two bathrooms. En-Suite King Bedroom. Twin Bedroom with two beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Carimar Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carimar Beach Club Hotel Anguilla
Carimar Beach Hotel
Carimar Beach The Valley
Carimar Beach Club Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing