We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel on the best beach in Anguilla”
Review of Carimar Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carimar Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel on the best beach in Anguilla”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Alot of people say shoal bay is the best beach in anguilla but i liked meads bay. the rooms are large and clean. and the kitchen is stocked well with anything you need to cook a great meal in house. right next door is blanchards beach shack with about the cheapest food you're gonna find on the island. the beach was beautiful and clean, and not packed with people. everyone was friendly. the staff was awesome, we arrived a little early and they gave us beach towels so we could go to the beach. after a little swim they came and gave us the keys to our room. this place makes u feel at home, and its priced very well. there is no pool, but the water is crystal clear and warm as bath water

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    93
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
151
265
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great vacation for a week in June-July. Several nice restaurants within walking distance which balances the fact that the Carimar does not have its own restauarant. The beach is gorgeous and the water is perfect-clear as glass. Great snorkeling at the east end of the beach near the rocks. Very clean and the staff is very helpful. Nothing like having a full apartment as they have here- refrig, stove, M-wave, etc. which helps defray the high costs of dining out in Anguilla as you can make your own meals for a couple nights, breakfast, etc. and enjoy the beautiful and comfortable balconies. Only negative- only the BR has A/C as the living room and kitchen areas have only fans and it does get quite hot in Anguilla, esp. in July. The club also handles car rentals which is important if you want to get out and about (and drive on the wrong side of the road- be careful!!)

Room Tip: spend the extra $$$ and get an oceanfront-it is well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequent_NJ_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four ended our family vacation at Carimar, after a weekend in St. Martin ---- what a nice change! The room was extremely clean, meticulously prepared for us. Fresh flowers, well prepared kitchen--even has champagne glasses--bug spray, candles.....very nice! Simple walk down the beach to some great dinner spots, Blanchards and Straw Hat were great! The beach was perfect! The ladies in the front office are full of good suggestions. You need a car, there are better grocery stores on the other side of the island, just stay left! Highly recommend Tasty's, great food, Chef Dale is wonderful.

Thanks to all, we will be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was our third time to Anguilla, our second at Carimar. Yes, we love it here. It's the kind of place that people return to year after year. In fact some people we met last June were here again this June.

It's a very quiet, beautiful and relaxing place. Most units have peeks of the sea, and there are eight that are beachfront (the ones we prefer). The units are impeccably clean, with fresh beach towels left for you each day. The bedrooms are air conditioned, and the living room/dining room area has a great cross breeze. This year seemed less warm than last and we were never hot in our unit.

The people who work for Carimar are genuine and friendly. They will arrange rental cars and activities, book dinners, stock your unit with food, they have snorkel equipment available, anything you want or need.

One night we took our sons (21 and 18) to the luxury alternative, Viceroy, for drinks. Although they were very impressed with the 3 pooled marbly South Beachy-ness of it, they said they prefer the laid back ambiance of Carimar.

To me, Carimar is the essence of Anguilla. You really get to know the people who work here, and unlike the mega resorts, most guests at Carimar rent cars and explore all the island has to offer instead of just remaining on a chair at their resort.

Downsides...hmm... seriously can't come up with any. There is no pool, but the ocean is amazing and we did not miss one. No beach service, but Blanchard's Beach Shack next door solves that problem. It is not a luxury hotel, but really well maintained condos steps from arguably the best beach in Anguilla. And the service is on par or better than the luxury hotels! Save yourself a little money by booking at Carimar and use the extra for eating at the many fantastic (and fantastically expensive) Anguilla restaurants.

Although most guests this time of year seem to be middle aged couples, (with a few honeymooners sprinkled in) I also think this would be a great place for families, especially the downstairs walk out units.

Pictures are from our June 2011 trip as we had some photography issues this trip. Nothing has changed except the steep beach slope into the ocean has lessened.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelvinaSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I lived here for about four months when I was twenty something (more than ten years ago so, this isn't exactly current)...But, this complex sits on Meads Bay beach, a beach that is consistently rated one of the ten best in the Caribbean for good reason.You will not find softer white sand or more tranquil, stunning, turquoise water anywhere. I explored every nook and cranny on this beach which is calm enough to have a floating dock a good swim-length from the shoreline! I lived in a beach front, upstairs unit which was always perfectly cooled by the cross ventilation provided by the the Ocean breeze. The unit had a fully equipped kitchen and was pleasantly furnished and very clean. During my time there I explored the island extensively and got to know some of the locals very well. Back then, crime was non-existent on this tiny Island. I assume it remains this way today. The beach alone is something any beach lover will fall in love with and really it is a must see. The Island of Anguilla is a beautiful, safe, fun, fairly exclusive place and when you are there you have the run of the place. You need to rent a car to get around and you will want to explore the beaches all over this Island. It is a good feeling to go anywhere the natives live, shop, party and feel welcomed and completely safe. Driving on the 13 mile long (?) Island is simple, roads are policed by speed bumps alone and the most treacherous thing you might encounter is a wayward goat crossing the street at night (sorry little white goat)...I love this Island and the friendly people of Anguilla. This is truly a beach lovers Paradise. Also, EXCELLENT SCUBA diving is available here and SCUBA certification is a pleasant Beach activity you can do in a couple days. Amazing!!!

Room Tip: Beach front, up stairs is a must for privacy and views. If you love beaches do not hesitate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Carimar Beach Club from June 2nd -7th. Our time spent was definately too short. :(. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by the amazing staff at Carimar. Very professional and friendly. We were showed to our unit and everthing was explained thoroughly. We were in an upstairs unit. Can't remember the number. But we had an awesome view of the grounds and ocean. It was the perfect unit. Private, quiet and cool. We loved the location of Carimar as well. 5 min drive to the grocery store and walking distance to a few restaurants close by. Our first day at Carimar, took our breath away. We couldn't believe how quiet this place and Anguilla was. We literally spoke in a whisper as not to disturb anyone. We loved it, especially after coming from St. Maartens party environment. We also noticed there wasn't a lot of bugs either. The room did come with bug repellent if needed. The kitchen was awesome. We didnt really use much of it, because we ate lunches and dinners out.. We did however, make use of the fridge to keep our drinks cold, make ice and also used the coffee pot. The only complaint I would have, is that our rental jeep was not ready for us the following day. It wasn't a big deal, because we just had to wait about 20 min at the front office until it arrived. We looked through the many menus from multiple restaurants around the island and made reservations to pass the time. The staff was very accomadating and was happy to answer any questions and help out with anything we needed. The laundry and game areas across the street from the property was an added bonus. It gets pretty hot in there though, if you decide to play a game of table tennis while you do laundry. Detergent and dryer sheets are provided. It was also a plus to know that we were able to drop the rental jeep off at the ferry port. It saved us the cost of a taxi. The beach area was very clean and so ws the entire property. There was always someone working hard to keep the place up. The ocean was very calm (just the way we like it) and we were able to find a couple lounge chairs everyday, no matter what time we were there.
Thank you to everyone at Carimar, for making our trip wonderful. We will definately return to Anguilla, and when we do, we will be staying here, because we love the beach and we love Carimar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaribbeanQueen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, NJ USA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Were it not for one or two items, I would give the Carimar Beach Club a five star review. So much is right; I’ll start with that first. Meads Bay Beach is world class. I’m an ocean swimmer and swim a kilometer in the morning and a kilometer at sunset. The flawless water is the perfect temperature with a gentle current for swimming both directions. With the Malliouhana Resort closed, the Carimar rules the east end of the beach with some epic sunsets over the sea. The rooms are large, clean and well maintained; everything worked. No issues with the plumbing, but you’ll need bottled water for drinking. There was a full kitchen with everything we needed and a laundry in the back, complete with detergent. Blanchard’s Restaurant and Beach Shack is excellent, reasonable and walking distance from Carimar. The internet wifi connection never failed and will support Skype audio, but the speed won’t support video (0.8 Mb download). TV has basic cable plus. The staff is very nice, no complaints at all with the service or the grounds. There is even complementary snorkeling gear and a bottle of Mount Gay Rum on arrival. So what’s not to like?
We booked through Expedia and while we got a good deal, we would have done better to speak to the hotel directly. Our “deal” resulted in the worse room in the complex; #301 is a ground floor room directly across from the office. Our room was described as “ocean view.” While technically accurate, we would have needed binoculars to achieve the expected effect. The one bedroom unit came with an unfortunate binary choice; we could either have privacy and security or ventilation and comfort, but not both. To get cross ventilation sufficient to draw the hot air out and allow the ocean breeze to cool the villa, one has to fully open the sliding door to the porch, which can’t be left open when leaving the room or sleeping at night. This means for guests who leave the room for most of the day, they must close up the villa allowing heat to build and the only time the sliding door can be left open is when one is either cooking or watching TV and sweating. The side windows look directly into the office, so to leave the blinds open for ventilation, the office staff can see right in. As this unit is located at the entrance where all guests must pass to the parking lot and the main road is a few steps from the back door, the open windows often render more noise than cool breezes. The kitchen was great, but due to the lack of ventilation, we just stopped using the oven. Only the bedroom is equipped with air conditioning, which automatically shuts off if the bedroom door is left open more than a few seconds. The rest of the villa has ceiling fans, which only serve to blow hot air around but do nothing to lower the temperature.
Were we smart, we would have asked for a room change immediately. However, we arrived with the obligatory four hours sleep and after unpacking, moving is always less appealing. However, if management were smart, they would have wanted to impress first time guests with something better than their worst room. By observing the lights on in the other villas at night, the hotel was less than half full at the time we were there (June 8 - 15, 2012). They could have easily put us in a second floor room. The advantage of the second floor is the sliding door on the balcony can be securely left open at all times for maximum ventilation and passing guests can’t see in through your open windows. I understand wanting to be energy efficient. But, if one is paying a minimum of $200 a night, they should be able to get security, privacy and comfort all at once. Air conditioning the remainder of the villa would be the solution. In lieu of that, a method to lock the sliding door sufficiently open to allow ventilation without compromising security combined with a window mounted fan would be a reasonable solution. Until then, avoid the ground floor units, especially #301.

Room Tip: You might have ventilation problems in ground floor rooms. See review above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.7 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
326 reviews
7.9 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#2 of 13 in West End Village
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
494 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmond Cap Juluca
Belmond Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carimar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carimar Beach Club

Property: Carimar Beach Club
Address: Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West End Village
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carimar Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carimar Beach Club, located on the pristine white sands and turquoise waters of Meads Bay, is an exceptional beachfront resort. Each of our 24 suites offers unique, exquisitely appointed interiors featuring colorful, tropical motifs and exotic rattan furnishings. The spacious 1100 square foot beach front and beach view suites feature all the comforts of home including: full, modern kitchens with granite counters; a living room with flat screen cable Tv and WiFi; a dining area accomodating six people; and a balcony or patio with stunning ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Enjoy plush bedding with luxurious linens in our Caribbean style air-conditioned bedrooms. All suites offer one or two bedrooms and one or two bathrooms. En-Suite King Bedroom. Twin Bedroom with two beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Carimar Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carimar Beach Club Hotel Anguilla
Carimar Beach Hotel
Carimar Beach The Valley
Carimar Beach Club Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing