We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Paradise”
Review of Carimar Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carimar Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tranquil Paradise”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

My wife and I spent six nights at Carimar in early December and we can't say enough good things about this great property and their staff.

Room:

We`stayed in a second floor two bedroom unit that was very spacious, well appointed and spotless clean. Carimar's units are decorated in a low-key elegant style that conveys a sense of tranquiity. At the same time, there is a lot of natural light that comes through the windows and that enhances the energizing effect of the walls' color and the sense of cleanliness throughout the unit.

The bed was very comfortable and the a/c worked very well. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything we needed and it had brand new cabinets, appliances and granite counter tops. Also, Carimar provided deliciuos complimentary coffee and free wifi (which I avoided using as much as possible). However, our favorite part of the unit was the large balcony with a beautiful view of the grounds and the ocean where we sat every morning to enjoy coffee and read our books. We miss mornings at Carimar....

Grounds and Facilities:

The grounds at Carimar are lush, full of flowers and very well kept. It is important to note that Carimar is not a mega resort (and it is not meant to be) so it should not be expected to have pools, spas, restaurants, conference rooms, etc...However, it has two tennis courts in excellent shape, a small club house and laundy room. All for the complimentary use of the guests.

We agree with other reviewers that Carimar's location can't be beat. It is located on gorgeous Meads Bay, in the quieter end of the island (west end), but also close to a number of excellent restaurants and close to Sandy Ground and not too far from the Valley. Everything a person may need can be found nearby: ATM, small grocery stores, liquor stores, bakeries, gas station, etc.

The Beach:

Ohhh...pristine, relaxing, ultra-clean, electric blue, soft, powdery, warm, sunny, crystal clear, picture perfect...I could use a thousand different adjectives and I would not even come close to describe the beauty of Carimar's beach on Meads Bay. It is simply perfect.

Carimar's slogan is: "If you like the beach, you'll love Carimar". Believe me, it is true.

The Staff:

We found everybody at Carimar to be genuinely warm, accomodating, efficient and professional. From the moment we arrived, we were received with a smile and check in was a breeze. By the time we turned around, our luggage (which was very heavy thanks to my dear wife) had been already taken up to our unit and our rental car was ready to go. When we arrived to our condo, we found a complimentary bottle of rum and some coke that the staff had placed for our enjoyment. Then, one of the nice ladies at the front desk gave us a tour of the unit and patiently explained how everything worked.

We are not very demanding guests, so we did not bombard the hotel staff with constant requests. However, every request that we made was handled in a kind and professional manner.

We want to thank and congratulate the General Manager, Mr. Alfred Thompson for the excellent level of service delivered to us during our stay.

In our opinion, Carimar is the quintessential expression of the gorgeous island of Anguilla: welcoming, relaxing, soothing, genuine and unpretentiously beautiful.

We look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Choose a unit on the second floor. The views are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RicardoSonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    93
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
151
265
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I won't repeat what the other reviewers have all said, but I did want to confirm that I would recommend staying here mostly because of the stunning stretch of beach it sits on. location. location. location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank researchernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I looked at various hotels in Anguilla but eventually booked two weeks at the Carimar Beach Club based entirely on tripadvisor reviews.

It is exactly as described in the brochure or Website and enjoys a fabulous setting near one end of Meads Bay. Meads Bay never seems busy and offers a mile of golden sand with crystal clear water. If you enjoy snorkelling then either end of the beach has a lot of interesting fish but if you are lazy just stand in the water and the fish will come to you.

Carimar rooms are spacious, bright and clean and it will take less than a minute to reach the beach from any of the rooms. Views will be great from the beach front rooms so if you like sitting on a verandah then go for one - otherwise it probably does not make a lot of difference.

With a well equipped kitchen it is possible to cook, but with some of the best restaurants in Anguilla within easy (and I mean a couple of minutes) walking distance why bother? Bedrooms are air conditioned so you can really get the temperature down but ceiling fans and louvred windows in other rooms do an adequate job.

The staff are fantastic (I include everyone from the maintenance man to the reception team) and could not have been more helpful in providing information, booking restaurants or simply enquiring how things were going.

If you need to go to a supermarket, the weather is bit showery or you wish to visit restaurants in other parts of the island then it might be worth hiring a car - reception managed to provide one immediately for me and although it suffered a flat battery within a few days, a replacement was provided within 20 minutes.

I loved every minute of my stay at Carimar and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neilclif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Neilclif,

I was delighted to read that you found our property Carimar Beach Club "exactly as promised" and I look forward to your return.

According to families that have stayed with us, they found that making use of the full kitchens and bar-b-q grills for selected meals meals allowed for a family splurge or two during their vacation within budget.

We enjoy good working relationships with our vendors and partners and I am glad the car issue was resolved quickly.

Best Regards,

Alfred Thompson
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Simple but well maintained resort on a beautiful beach. We had a beach view unit on the second floor. Even though furthest from the beach it was a very short walk and had the advantage of blocking rain and strong winds that come from the south side of the island. The unit was spotless and very well appointed with original local artwork. The kitchen was particularly well stocked for cooking. We had great meals at Straw Hat and Lucy's. Definitely try the curried goat. Renting a car is well worth it for a few days as there really is no place to shop within walking distance. The beach was stunning and the service great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyboy172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thanks Flyboy172,

We realise that we are not a full service property. with this in mind, Management took the stand many years ago to focus on service delivery in all areas of service and be strong on property maintenance and upkeep. This has created a level of confedence in our product that our return guests have found to be very helpful in deciding where to spend vacations.

I am hopeful that yoo too will make Carimar Beach Club yopur home away from home for years to come.

Best Regards,

Alfred Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Pay the extra for beach front. I counted 29 steps through powder soft sand, from our room, to my toes touching the mst beautiful, turquoise water. Simply stunning!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2txgirlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Carimar amazed us from the moment we arrived. It was raining when we arrived, and they took our bags to our room while we checked in, and then gave us umbrellas as they walked us to our room and gave us the grand tour (and a complimentary bottle of rum). This isn't a hotel room, this is an apartment! Full kitchen, dining area, living room, and depending on the rate you paid up to two full bathrooms and bedrooms. Every room has a nice sized patio or balcony, and you can optionally borrow a charcoal grill for free. Across the street is a free laundry room with provided detergent. You can rent a car on-site for a very good price and park for free during your stay. If you want a reservation at any restaurant on the island, just ask, and they'll handle it for you. Same for booking any excursions, or anything else on the island. The amenities here are plentiful and the staff is as nice as can be.

Aside from the property being fantastic, the main draw is Mead's Bay. We were torn between staying here or on Shoal Bay, which many say is a better beach, but I have to disagree. Shoal Bay is nice, but we loved Mead's Bay, and I'd say it's easily one of the best beaches I have ever seen. Pure blue water, clean white sand... you can swim or walk forever. You can walk down the beach only a few feet and eat at Blanchard's or Jacala, or go to the other end to visit the Viceroy, with several stops in between. While you should take the time to see the rest of the island, you could easily be forgiven for spending an entire week at Carimar and Mead's Bay and never leave, and have a phenomenal vacation.

In trying to be balanced, I'm searching for some sort of downside, and am having trouble thinking of one. There were tiny little bugs now and then in the kitchen, which sounds like it should be a problem, but it wasn't. You are in the Caribbean after all. Bug spray is provided in the room, but aside from a few mosquito bites I never really had a problem with pesky insects on the island. Also, the bedrooms are the only air conditioned part of the unit, but that wasn't much of a problem either to be honest. Truly this is all I can think of. I definitely want to return to Anguilla, and I'm certain that when I do, it will be at Carimar again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I almost don't want to spread the word about Carimar, simply because I would hate for crowds to spoil the tranquility. But alas, it was so awesome that they deserve the kudos.

Pros:
Beach! Carimar is on Meads Bay, one of the best beaches on the island... Clean, uncrowded, beautiful. The 2 bd/2bth condo with a full kitchen had everything we needed.
Our unit featured a remolded kitchen. Not everything was brand new or modern, but it was clean and comfy. The staff was super kind and helpful. We enjoyed the tennis courts, snorkel gear and beach toys. Each unit has a patio with a table for dining and chairs for relaxing.

Cons:
None, really. If you're looking for a super new, modern place, you might want to try one of the big resorts on the island. Carimar doesn't have a pool, but the beach is so nice I didn't miss it. There isn't much of a nightlife on Meads Bay. If you're looking for that, stay on Shoal Bay East.

Tips:
1. Food on Anguilla is REALLY expensive. We spend a minimum of $150 for 2 each night. Use the kitchen at Carimar to cook a few meals and save some dough.
2. If you're super sensitive to heat, don't stay in a beach front room. While the sunsets are beautiful, the sun BLAZES into the living room in the afternoon. Only the bedrooms are air conditioned and the living room gets really hot in the afternoon.
3. Eat at Picante! It's great Mexican food just up the road from Carimar. Reasonably priced and a fun restaurant.
4. Make dinner reservations, especially if you are there Dec-May. The restaurants get very busy.
5. Go to Gwen's on Sunday for lunch and live reggae on the beach.
6. Go to dinner on Wednesday at the Dune Preserve to see Banky Banks.
7. Rent a car. There are about 5 restaurants within walking distance, but if you want explore further driving is necessary. Also, you can get a car right at Carimar, and leave it at the ferry port when you leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank crawfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.7 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
326 reviews
7.9 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#2 of 13 in West End Village
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmond Cap Juluca
Belmond Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carimar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carimar Beach Club

Property: Carimar Beach Club
Address: Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West End Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carimar Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carimar Beach Club, located on the pristine white sands and turquoise waters of Meads Bay, is an exceptional beachfront resort. Each of our 24 suites offers unique, exquisitely appointed interiors featuring colorful, tropical motifs and exotic rattan furnishings. The spacious 1100 square foot beach front and beach view suites feature all the comforts of home including: full, modern kitchens with granite counters; a living room with flat screen cable Tv and WiFi; a dining area accomodating six people; and a balcony or patio with stunning ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Enjoy plush bedding with luxurious linens in our Caribbean style air-conditioned bedrooms. All suites offer one or two bedrooms and one or two bathrooms. En-Suite King Bedroom. Twin Bedroom with two beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Carimar Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carimar Beach Club Hotel Anguilla
Carimar Beach Hotel
Carimar Beach The Valley
Carimar Beach Club Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing