We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic Caribbean Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Anacoana Boutique Hotel is in the classic Caribbean style, stucco buildings weaving through lush tropical gardens and coconut palms. It is smallish in comparison to its large neighbor, the Viceroy. But unlike the Viceroy with all of it’s glittering marble, glass and chrome, at the Anacoana you can feel comfortable walking around in beach wear. I was vacationing with my wife of 45 years and our daughter who was in need of some serious R&R from here job. Thus we had a two-bedroom suite that was connected by a screened in porch. I am guessing that it was one of the first unattached buildings in the hotel complex. It was showing its age. The rooms were roomy enough, but there were very limited flat surfaces to put things, especially in the bathrooms. There were some rips along the edges of the screens in the porch, the outside light in the unscreened in patio did not have a bulb, the batteries were dead in one of the air-conditioning remote controls, and there was no draw fan in the bathroom. But the rooms where clean and the house staff did an exceptional job keeping everything clean, including the coffee pot and wine and drink glasses in the kitchen area. I did not have occasion to look at any other rooms or suites.

There are two well-maintained swimming pools. The larger of the two is near the main hotel building and close the hotel’s Firefly restaurant. The second pool is much smaller and closer to the beach. This pool should be “adults only” because it was invaded by young children who upset the tranquility of that secluded pool. The remainder of the grounds could have used a little more care. The lawn areas, though limited, needed to have the tall weeds mowed. And the lights that illuminated the walkways at night needed attention. Some were not working and lying on their sides.

We timed the walk to Meads Bay beach. It was almost exactly 5 minutes at a leisurely pace, once we knew the way. The first time you take the walk, you encounter a “T” intersection on an access road, facing a stucco wall. Do you go right or left? If you look sharp left you will see a small sign on a distant stucco wall pointing to the beach. We were not the only ones to have that initial problem as other newly arriving guest asked us how to get to the beach. And what a beach it is! As advertised, the resort has comfortable beach chairs and umbrellas there for the guests. There is also a beach bar/grill there run by the hotel.

This is a wonderful resort, though a little long in the tooth. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very good. It is very relaxing and peaceful, even with the crowing rooster. It is a Caribbean beauty with a few small warts, but I am already looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite on the east side is adjacent to a service road. But it is not much of a noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 326 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

STAY AWAY from the Anacaona Hotel if you want to sleep well. We were returning to Anguilla for a relaxing 6 night stay. We loved Anguilla because of it's peace and quiet. There is no peace and quiet at the Anacaona. The first night that we stayed, March 9, 2014 we were woken up at 1:00 a.m. by the shrill, loud screeching of a rooster. As soon as we fell asleep the rooster started screeching again. This happened every hour until sunrise. Another nightmare occurred that first night. I was suffering from a stomach bug that had me running to the bathroom every hour. At 4:00 a.m. I was startled to find that there was NO WATER in the room or any of the lobby bathrooms. The night person told me that I would have to wait until the morning!! I informed him that the whole resort probably had no water and that it would be a disaster for the guests. He reluctantly called the maintenance man. I spent the next 2 hours waiting (and being tortured by the cries of the rooster) as they tried to fix the main water pump. Finally the water came back on at dawn. This is what we get for $300+ per night?

We complained to the owner Robin Ricketts the next day about the rooster. His response was that they are wild and that he could not do anything about them. In our opinion the rooster is a pest and must be controlled.

Our next 2 nights were a replay of the first night. We got virtually no sleep. In addition, the rock hard beds, body numbing beds made what little sleep we had poor. At the end of the third night we could not take it any more and cut short our stay. The front desk person was not at all sympathetic. We were given a token refund of just under $400 which does not begin to compensate for a ruined vacation.

In summary this hotel is badly managed with an aging infrastructure that contributes to a terrible vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacaonaManager, General Manager at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

The Owners, Management and Staff of Anacaona Boutique Hotel are very sorry that we were unable to meet the expectations of this couple. We understand that our guests come to Anguilla for Peace and relaxation and we try to provide an environment where that is possible. We know that sleep is important. We are trying in every way we can to get rid of the seemingly wild rooster, which does not belong to us. We are talking to the local agricultural ministry to see if they have any ideas. He is not easy to catch that’s for sure.

The Guest’s starts his review with STAY AWAY from Anacaona Hotel. Well here is a reason to come to Anacaona Boutique Hotel. The staff at Anacaona Boutique Hotel is so attentive to the guest’s needs and so caring that the Maintenance person came in at 4:00 a.m. to ensure that a pump was fixed so that the guest’s would be comfortable and have water. As you will read in 95% of the comments on Trip Advisor the staff are always attentive to the guest experience.

The Guest’s allegation that the property is poorly managed is unfounded. Anacaona in the past four years has built a very high number of repeat customers who praise us for what we are doing. Some persons have mentioned that the Rooster makes noise at nighttime and even joke that the Rooster is confused about the time of day, but none of them allow it to ruin their vacation. they know we are doing everything we can to rectify the situation.

Again we do apologize for not meeting the guest’s expectations and trust that they will continue to come to Anguilla.

Delroy Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Anguilla is stunning for its beaches. We spent 8 days on Meads Bay Beach and loved it. White sand, blue water and very hot. Waters were rough some days and beaches were quiet with no more than 20 people. Anacaona Hotel was chosen because of others' reviews. Its restaurant was great and staff both friendly and helpful. Room was clean and enough for what we needed. Free coffee and Wifi were most appreciated.
Negatives: stray dogs and cats on property, a rooster that crowed all night, and their credit card hold few ... They take 300 on check in without telling you, when you leave you pay your bill, and then you have to wait for the 300 hold refund. We would come back to Anguilla but maybe not to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FortVince R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacaonaManager, General Manager at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

The Owners, Management and Staff are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Anacaona Boutique Hotel and Meads Bay. We do hope that you continue to come to Anguilla.

We would just like to clear up some misconceptions: -

1. Anacaona does not have stray dogs and cats on property. The dogs belong to the owners of the a beachside property which is close to Anacaona. These dogs do go onto the beach from time to time. However the beach is public and only the government department responsible for things of that nature can take care of the problem. We have made and continue to make reports to the authorities.
2. Anacaona owns one cat which is an adopted house cat called Jasper. We have owned him for over one year and we ensure that Jasper gets regular medical checkups, and is properly fed. You complained that you didn’t like cats and we actually secured Jasper for 7 days while you were on property. All of our guest love Jasper.
3. We are doing everything we can in order to get rid of the seemingly wild rooster who can on occasion be a nuisance to the Guests’ sleep. We are attempting to catch him which is not as simple as it looks and take him away from the property. We are in touch with the agriculture ministry to see if they can help in this matter.
4. It is a policy at most hotels anywhere in the world, to take a pre-authorization on your credit card when you check in. I have experienced this where ever I have travelled. Where someone has no credit card then they are asked to make a cash deposit. We do apologize if this was not made clear to you at check-in, but we have to protect ourselves as well. Without that pre-authorization a guest could walk out of the Hotel in the middle of the night and the Hotel would not be able to get paid.

Again thanks for staying at Anacaona Boutique Hotel and for pointing out the negatives of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Delroy Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just got back from an 8 day stay at the Anacaona Boutique Hotel. What a great find! We enjoyed our stay immensely. The property is beautiful, just a short walk to the Mead's Bay beach, which was one of the prettiest beaches on the island. Aqua water and powder white sand. They have a great beach bar and grill right on the beach with excellent service. The staff at this hotel is top notch..everyone there was so helpful and very accommodating. Great value at this hotel...would definitely go back. We loved Anguilla...and the Anacaona Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent 8 delightful nights at Anacaona during February 2014. Our group included an 84-year-old grandfather and children aged 5 and 6. The hotel is pleasant and tranquil, with a friendly staff and many gorgeous beaches nearby. We’ve visited MANY islands and fine hotels, and this one is a favorite. We were particularly impressed when we had to take our daughter to the hospital one night for an asthma attack, the manager instantly volunteered to drive there with us, and waited with us at the hospital. Dining at the hotel is quite nice, and you can easily walk (or drive or taxi) to many other great restaurants. Blanchard’s was our favorite. A fun and easy day trip is the boat from Sandy Ground to Sandy Island.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Mary02540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Anacaona during school break with our 2 children. There were a couple of other families, but the resort seemed to be mostly older couples and most seemed to be returning guests. We chose the Anacaona as we prefer to have extra space when traveling as a family and the price for space is too steep at other Anguilla resorts.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa closest to the hotel. It was well layed out and VERY clean. The only floorplan negative was the fact that the 2nd bedroom in only connected to the other spaces via the lanai. It's a separate space. There is a main door that locks however the lanai is screened in, while this initially made my security mad husband nervous, we never had an issues. This was explained to us prior to booking. If I had smaller kids (mine are 7 and 10), I don't think it would work.

The kitchen was stocked well to cook but not to eat - there were not 4 of plates and some cutlery but we made due. The bathroom were a bit basic and outdated, but very clean. Water pressure was an issue throughout our stay. Housekeeping was excellent and did a great job daily. Beds were not the greatest but not horrible.

All the chatter about not being on the beach is nonsense. It's a short walk (really). The only issue I found was the lack of a bathroom closer to the beach or lower pool. Again, hardly a deal breaker as it was only a few more steps to our villa. The beach bar is great and they offer lunch. Ocean Echo and Straw hat are very close, as is the Viceroy and Blanchard's is bit further down the beach. Great location.

We didn't love our dinner at Firefly the first night. While the food was fine, the total time to complete the meal was over two hours. I understand Caribbean time, but we didn't experience it anywhere else on Anguilla leading me to believe Firefly was either having an off night or is just slow. We were one of 2 tables. After traveling all day with 2 kids, this was mildly annoying. Both breakfasts we had onsite were excellent and served in a reasonable time frame.

Staff (and really all locals) could not have been nicer or more accommodating. They - from the front desk to the wait/bar staff to the gardeners and housekeeping - really make this place special. Every one greets you with a smile and really seems happy to see you.

While I would love to see a face lift, I would hate for the Anacaona to lose its price point. If you don't need luxury and like value, this is the place for you. If you like 'being seen' and run with a pretentious crowd, stay next door!

And yes, the rooster crowed every morning between 6-7! It's all part of the charm!

Room Tip: 2 2-bedroom villas and one 3-bedroom villa for those seeking more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gooselee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for eight nights and by the time we left we felt we were part of a family. From the initial booking, through the planning of the journey from the airport on St Martin, the car hire and suggestions of activities while on holiday, everything was taken care of in a friendly and efficient manner. The hotel is small which means you keep meeting the same staff. Our room was on the third floor with a great view across the lovely gardens towards the sea. The room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was also large and well appointed. the stunning beach is a pleasant short stroll through the well - kept gardens. I have read some reviews that say it is too far, interestingly we shared out boat ride back to St Martin with a couple who had stayed next door at the very expensive Viceroy hotel. They said that although the hotel was "on the beach", their room was about a 6 minute walk away.
The loungers on the beach are well set out - not too close together and dotted around rather than in regimented rows. The beach bar/snack bar is excellent and we were impressed with the afternoon sorbet which was delived to our chairs.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and very good value. We particularly enjoyed the à la carte breakfast served by the delightful Prudence. The thursday folk and cultural evening was very enjoyable and it was a treat to note that the performers were genuinely enjoying themselves. Many of the other guests were repeat visitors, a fact which speaks for itself.
The rooster did wake us on some mornings - not really a problem though
We hope to return!

Room Tip: The superior room was very large. We were lucky to be on the third floor so we had a good sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.7 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#1 of 13 in West End Village
528 reviews
5.9 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
78 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shoal Bay Villas
Shoal Bay Villas
#2 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#4 of 13 in West End Village
504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#2 of 13 in West End Village
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#3 of 13 in West End Village
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacaona Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacaona Boutique Hotel

Address: Meads Bay Rd 200, West End Village AI 2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#8 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range: $263 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anacaona Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anacaona Boutique Hotel on the island of Anguilla is a small, intimate, privately-owned and privately-run oasis set in tropical gardens, overlooking (and just a few paces from) one of the island’s most beautiful beaches, the mile-long, white-sand expanse of Meads Bay. It has 27 stylish guest rooms, that include junior suites, 2 & 3 bedroom villa suites and two swimming pools.The goal is affordable chic. The property's amenities also include full beach service, ZaZaa boutique and both on and off beach massage centers. All rooms feature either King, Queen Bed or 2-Double Beds and bathroom with large shower, Balcony/Patio, Frette Linens, Mini Fridge, Air Conditioning,Ceiling Fan, Cable TV, I-Pod Docking Station, Iron & board, Laptop size in Room Safe, Complimentary Wireless Internet,  Melita-Javapod Coffee Maker, Phone, Hairdryer and Locally Crafted Bathroom Amenities.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anacaona Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirena Hotel The Valley
Anacaona Boutique Hotel Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing