We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of course, It's a Ricketts Property !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
NEW YORK, NY
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Of course, It's a Ricketts Property !”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Where do I begin.

We have been to Anguilla so many times , and have stayed everywhere including private villas.
With each visit we enjoyed our stays, and came home longing for our return, and we would discuss where we might try to stay the next time. We stayed at Malliouhana the longest in return visits, but after our stay at Anacaona , we have found our home for all future visits.

Our biggest thrill was meeting Sue and Robin Ricketts, because we have experienced their perfection in previous stays at other resorts. When you walk the grounds of Anacaona , you see first hand the personal touch of Sue and Robin--the gardens--beautiful, and extremely well maintained. The pools are immaculate , and were updated to perfect condition, and you could always count on a wonderful, clean swim after a full day at the beach. You got the feeling that this was your own personal pool ! Hammocks are everywhere, and a delight to lay on when you were feeling truly relaxed--which was every moment we were there. The staff , unbelievable in every way. I would be rich if I had a nickel for every time they would respond with--" we want to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable."

We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was absolutely, positively perfect in everything that we wanted. Large Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, shower with great water pressure ( plenty of hot water) and double sink vanities.
The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever experienced anywhere. The frette linens were just the right softness--making a good nights sleep a certainty.

The beach lounge chairs were always set up with the umbrellas open--ready to be used. We are early risers and have very rarely experienced that. A young lady sat at the beach hut always ready to bring you a fresh drink, or lunch.And if you needed something they were quick to accomodate you.

Because someone had reserved our room for the last 2 nights of our stay we moved to a 2 bedroom villa, and we toured the 3 bedroom villa--as we always look ahead to our future visits with family. I LOVED the set up of both--bedrooms private and seperated in a screened in porch with lounge chairs, and the common area --extremely comfortable with flat screened TV( each bedroom also has their own flatscreened TV).

Both the Junior Suite and the 2 bedroom villa have patios-- which was our favorite spot each morning for coffee and each evening for a post beach cool drink.

I made a request for a grill, as I bring some meats from the states--it was waiting for me when we arrived on our first day.We love all the restaurants of Anguilla--but when we stay at the beach for sunset we enjoy a home cooked meal.

The weekly cocktail party on Monday evening was wonderful. They served us the drinks of our choice---and the servers watched you and would bring a replacement when you were nearing the bottom of the glass on your first drink. WOW! That is service ! The staff walked among the guests with delicous food.

A good way we can portray this property is that we had friends come to visit us ( they were staying at another property), and they were upset that they hadn't booked Anacaona. We met them on the plane going home, and they stated that they are booking Anacaona in the fall!

They have done everything right here, and it shows in every way.

We always leave Anguilla saying what a wonderful time we had.
After this visit we said it could not have been better--we loved our stay at Anacaona.

As we have always said year in and year out. Anything the Ricketts touch turns to gold or platinum.

It's happened again , and will only get better.

We aren't certain of alot of things, but this is one thing we are 100% certain of.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JulyNineteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankystrand, Director of Sales at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Scott! THANK YOU so much for your wonderful review and we were so happy to have you at Anacaona and back on Anguilla. We do hope that you get the opportunity to come back soon and I am sure that the Grill will be waiting for you again! Robin & Sue send their best and do appreciate the kind words. They look forward to also seeing you again in the near future
Best
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    110
    42
    7
    8
See reviews for
45
207
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Delightful small boptique resort with an amazing friendly staff. We were allowed to check in early. The gardners are so proud of their gardens and gave us a really nice tour of their gardens. We would definitely stay there again. Anguilla beaches are the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in on of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankystrand, Director of Sales at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Erik, we hope to see you back soon to enjoy the garden and the beaches! We are very proud of our gardners and our Garden and the meals that it produces. The staff sends it best to you and they look forward to welcoming you back.
Best
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We just returned from the hotel. I wanted to mention my pros and cons of what I felt during our stay. Pros: on a beautiful beach - Meads Bay, The Front office Staff and Housekeeping was terrific and always friendly. I only ate one dinner there so I cannot say much about the restaurant experience, as I chose to eat at the many wonderful places on Anguilla. Kenisha at the front office/reservations is wonderful, and really made us feel welcomed upon arrival and during our stay asked us several times how things were. She is very professional and was very helpful from the time I contacted the hotel initially. The lobby or great room area as they call it was nicely done and very inviting. The bed was comfortable, nice flat screen, a/c worked fine, the bathroom was nice, nice soaps made in Anguilla. So for the price point, I didn't expect too much, and everything we needed and have come to expect was provided ie (Mellita coffee maker, fridge, in room safe). They had two small pools on property, which were ok, but I didn't come to the Anguilla to swim in the pool so I didn't mind.

The Cons: We were woken up every morning at 5:30 am by a loud rooster sometimes 4:30 am, which we began to joke about that it was time to get up!!! Poor water pressure in shower, the toilet was loose from the floor a bit, some small tears in screens in the small windows which should be repaired, balcony door and window facing towards the beach that don't completely shut tightly because the doors are really heavy and very difficult to open and close, mosquitoes in our room due to these two things, which made it a bit unpleasant in terms of many bites. Sliding doors are old and really heavy and annoying. I suspect that is a huge expense, so I don't know that they can or will change that.

Suggestions to improve quality of stay for people: if possible near the small front pool put bathroom facilities closer to the beach, repaint the front pool looks a bit yellowy inside, install ledge in showers to place products on, paint exterior or power wash exterior of buildings more often, clean spider webs off of windows on balcony area and when you open windows lots of spider webs. Regarding your menu for lunch: add a mahi BLT sandwich or some better lunch items to your menu, like mahi tacos, or grouper tacos with mango salsa, snapper over greek salad etc. to entice people to stay on property to eat. Have your restaurant and bar staff more visible, it never seemed as though anyone was at the bar but would come out after you waited a bit. We arrived at 3pm and there was no food available for us, so we had to wait until dinner, which was a little dissapointing after traveling all day. Overall, I enjoyed my stay, and as stated for the price, it was decent, and seems to be a "work in progress"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeaceandLove22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankystrand, Director of Sales at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments and suggestions and we will look into all! including the Rooster who is not on our property but there are a few on the neighboring properties. The suggestions for the restaurant sound fantastic and I myself do enjoy a taco or two! We do serve authentic Caribbean foods but in the future we may change a little as we do update our menu periodically so we will keep your suggestions in mind and we do hope to see you back again so that you can see for yourself the updates and changes in the hotel.
Best
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Anacaona (Mid April 2012) and happily recommend it to anyone interested in traveling to Anguilla on a budget. The reality of Anguilla is that staying in a high end hotel means spending anything from $500 - $5000 per night ($500 is off season typically). It's an expensive island compared to more touristy places like Bahamas, Aruba, Jamaica, etc. because it's simply more exclusive (harder to get to, less built up). The Anacaona gives travelers a beautiful option at a reasonable rate. The rooms are humble, but clean (mini fridge, balcony, television with plenty of channels, double sink bathroom, etc.). The lobby area is breezy and beautiful with a bar, lounge area and restaurant. The grounds are lush and constantly groomed. There are clearly some areas of the grounds that are still being worked on (saplings that will take years to grow into trees, etc.), but it's all well taken care of. Wifi throughout the hotel. There is a resident rooster that you can count on crowing at all hours of the morning...and afternoon and evening. The staff is amazing. My husband got a bad burn on the 2nd day of our trip and when a staff member noticed she brought us an aloe plant for our room to apply fresh aloe to the burn (which worked wonders). There are 2 pools, both clean and refreshing. The ocean is at least a 5 minute walk from any room (10 minutes from some rooms) but it's visible from most rooms and you can hear the waves crashing at night. The location is great in that there are a number of good restaurants in the area (Straw Hat, Picante, Blanchards Beach Shack for lunch) and the beach is the best we visited on the island, hands down. It's located right next door to the young, hip and exceptionally expensive Viceroy. So, get ready for some loud club/hip hop/pop music on days when the Viceroy beach is packed because they have an onsight DJ. Overall, we had an excellent experience at Anacaona.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the main hotel, try to get a room on the 2nd floor - better views by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankystrand, Director of Sales at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you Leah for your comments and suggestions for others I am sure that they will appreciate it. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that your husbands sun burn was not too painful and healed quickly. Please have a great summer and I do hope that it does not get too hot in Brooklyn! I am from Staten Island and have lived in Brooklyn and I know the summer heat there and Coney Island is nice but its not Anguilla Beaches. LOL!
Best
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We really enjoyed the accomodations at the Anacaona Hotel. It was very homey, the staff was friendly. The owners were onsite and available. The price compared to the accomodations made it it a great value for the money. The rooms were well maintained. Just a 2 minute short walk to the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The variety of rooms made it great for our family get-together.

Room Tip: Room 504, a junior suite, had a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderOff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankystrand, Director of Sales at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you back again soon on our sandy white beaches.
Best
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is what it says it is, a 'boutique' hotel, warm friendly staff, open garden surroundings, just 2 minutes from Mead's bay beach. we stayed for 3 nights on a short break to Anguilla and loved it, the property is well maintained and is very easy to relax in, 2 pools and the most georgeous beach with in a 2 minute walk, they have a beach bar service during the day (11-4) but on the day we were at the beach at that time it was late opening.
The sea and sand in Anguilla have to be seen to be believed, the sea is turquoise and the sand fine and white, Meads bay offers a good number of beach bars, serving meals and drinks from breakfast through to dinner the setting is perfect for both couples or families.

We will definitely go back to Anquilla and will stay at the Anacaona, just next time we will stay for longer.

Room Tip: The rooms are situated around the gardens in small blocks of about 8 rooms, ask for one slightly awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankystrand, Director of Sales at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Jen-Jon thank you so much for your review and we do hope to see you back in the near future for a longer stay! Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Best
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was our first trip back to Anguilla in about 15 years and it was great! We chose to stay at the Anacaona as it was well priced and had good reviews.
The grounds were beautiful, the staff very friendly, the room clean and quiet....didn't even know we had neighbors; we stayed in a standard room. When we wanted to rent a car, the concierge was very helpful and we didn't have to leave the grounds to get one. We hung out at the lower pool the majority of the time...beautiful!
The only negative for us was the proximity to the beach...on the website it looks like the beach is just through the garden area...but it is not! You have to go down around, through the garden, past the pool, past the spa area, down part of an alley and then down a footpath (it is lighted at night!) to the beach. Everything else was wonderful and we would stay there again. We have been searching for a new place to stay on Anguilla that is reasonable, clean with good food and great service...I believe we have found it!

Room Tip: Most of the couple we talked to had a suite...all the rooms were quiet but we would try and book a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankystrand, Director of Sales at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review and we do hope that you return to Anguilla before another 15 years passes. It is true that you do have to go down a path after the lower garden but we have paced the steps that it takes once you are through the garden and it is about 50 paces to your lounge chair on Meads Bay our beautiful one mile of white sandy beach. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.
Best
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.7 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
8.6 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in West End Village
492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cap Juluca
Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacaona Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacaona Boutique Hotel

Property: Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Address: Meads Bay Rd 200, West End Village AI 2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#8 Family Hotel in West End Village
#8 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anacaona Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anacaona Boutique Hotel on the island of Anguilla is a small, intimate, privately-owned and privately-run oasis set in tropical gardens, overlooking (and just a few paces from) one of the island’s most beautiful beaches, the mile-long, white-sand expanse of Meads Bay. It has 27 stylish guest rooms, that include junior suites, 2 & 3 bedroom villa suites and two swimming pools.The goal is affordable chic. The property's amenities also include full beach service, ZaZaa boutique and both on and off beach massage centers. All rooms feature either King, Queen Bed or 2-Double Beds and bathroom with large shower, Balcony/Patio, Frette Linens, Mini Fridge, Air Conditioning,Ceiling Fan, Cable TV, I-Pod Docking Station, Iron & board, Laptop size in Room Safe, Complimentary Wireless Internet,  Melita-Javapod Coffee Maker, Phone, Hairdryer and Locally Crafted Bathroom Amenities.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, West Indies, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anacaona Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirena Hotel The Valley
Anacaona Boutique Hotel Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing