We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury beach vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cap Juluca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cap Juluca
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxury beach vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent a delightful week in early February 2014.

An upgraded room, great service and good weather added up to a very pleasant stay in this well maintained resort.The beach is beautiful! The gym is well-equipped.

We ate at the resort's more formal restaurants(both good) but would recommend renting a car to explore other dining possibilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadway2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    142
    61
    26
    19
See reviews for
88
578
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Spent 4 days at this lovely resort in Anguilla. All the reviews are accurate....the beach is one of the nicest you'll ever see. The villas are set up in a way to promote very easy access to the beach, and you are given private loungers with practically personal service whenever you want it. This is a perfect place for a honeymoon, or romantic vacation. The service is understated but excellent. It is very quiet, and if you looking for a little action or buzz, the Viceroy, the other 5 star resort nearby, might be a better choice. We were lucky enough to experience both, since we also spent 3 nights at the Viceroy, which is much more modern and hip, compared to Cap Juluca, which is far more traditional and understated. Really, it's all personal preference. Cap Juluca had an older crowd, and I would not say it was ideal for families with kids. Not enough to do. But if all you want to do is chill on the best beach ever, this place is for you. Not cheap though.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 9 on the upper level and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Time to step it up a notch and get the food and employees on
Point... Viceroy around the corner is trumping your resort... So sad to see such a great resort go down the tubes...hotel and property was great... Service on the beach was wonderful... Resort needs renovating and staff needs work ...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuanGomez89008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet G, Executive Office at Cap Juluca, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We were extremely disappointed with your appraisal of Cap Juluca especially as we receive the highest accolades on our service and in particular on the friendliness of our staff. As for your comments on comparing Cap Juluca to Viceroy, our architecture here reflects a classic Moorish style with beach front residences versus a modern multi-storey resort that is more in keeping with the architecture on South Florida and Hawaii.

Sincerely
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have gone to cap juluca's restaurant,Blu, numerous times, but this time they were not nice, uninterested and lied about having avocados...odd, huh? We were staying at the viceroy and just wanted a change of a lunch place. If you do not stay there, they obviously do not want you to spend your $ there! Well, don't worry, Cap Juluca we will never waste our time or money there again. They really were not even friendly to the people that were staying there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet G, Director of Administration at Cap Juluca, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We acknowledge your review of Cap Juluca and find it disappointing that you consider our staff “not nice”. This is a first for Cap Juluca because as many as 70% of our guests are return guests to Cap Juluca and the island of Anguilla. Anguillians, by nature, are friendly and the many comments that we receive consistently attest to the level of friendliness and standard of service by our staff. Perhaps on your next visit to Anguilla we can welcome you to experience Cap Juluca.

Sincerely
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

After fleeing Caneel bay resort midway through our 30th anniversary trip, we decided to revisit cap juluca. (You can see my review of that!). From the moment we arrived it was exponentially better. The management and every supporting staff member are extremely friendly and efficient. The beach is of course beautiful and so are the rooms. A huge plus over Caneel bay is the proper beach lounges...nice and comfy...you're automatically given an ice chest with cold waters...an umbrella . Our wonderful beach attendant, Carol, said we could even have 2!!! Caneel bay...no umbrella, strappy crappy beach "chair", discarded donkey poop, no service...fine if you're paying $200 a night. But no, Caneel is $$$$$$. You will get your money's worth at cap juluca!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travlinmaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The outstanding beach at Cap Juluca is clearly up to the billing. The sand is superfine, the water is deep blue and clean, and the temperatures for us were perfect with just a slight breeze. The beach services were very good; the comfortable lounge chairs are ready with a towel and pillow, bottled water in a cooler, drinks and food at any time, and you can set your watch at 3 PM when the complimentary sorbets were served. It bothered me some that when moving the heavy chaises to stay in the shade of the umbrella, the staff would not come to assist unless they were specifically asked.

Almost all of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Juliette Reid at the front bell stand was tops amongst them. Imagine being be greeted with a hug when arriving in a van! The office staff was nice.. The concierge service was great in every way, particularly when we had to change our flight at the last moment because of a family emergency.

For an otherwise near perfect facility, the food at Pimm's, a lovely restaurant with a great view of the ocean, was just above average at a hefty price at that. Lunches were average; the decor needs refurbishing.

The villas are beautiful from the outside. The views incredible! The rooms are very nice-island style-
but not outstanding. The bathrooms are on the small side, hard for my wife and I to be in there at the same time.

The food on Anguilla was terrific in general. Lots of excellent restaurants-all the ones we dined at were costly, even by New York City prices. We thought Veya was the prettiest and had the best food. It was expensive but worth the cost. Tasty's, wasn't pretty but had roadside island charm. Dale, the owner chef, took our order, cooked the food, personally checked twice to ensure it was to our liking, and bid us good bye. The food was excellent and of comparative good value. In most regards, the food, but not the presentations, was as good as Veya.

A word to the wise! The taxi fares run $20-30 each way to outside restaurants.

So, would we go back to CJ? A probable yes, but, unless Pimm's improves dramatically, we would not eat there.

Room Tip: Middle lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foody-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We honeymooned here in August 2008. From the moment we stepped foot onto the hotel property we knew we had arrived at someplace really special. The design and decor of the villas and the lobby and the restaurants were beautiful. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast on our private balcony every morning with the beautiful view of the ocean in front of us. They arrived with our breakfast every morning at the time we specified on the card the night before and were never late. It was wonderful. The service is top notch. On the first night we arrived my husband put put a water bottle on his bedside tables because he likes to have water throughout the night because he wakes up frequently. Subsequent days after that, we always had water bottles on our night stand every night during turn down service. We couldn't say more about the service. It was excellent! We ate at all the restaurants on the resort and tried the room service the first night we arrived; to this day my husband and I still talk about the steak that we had at the hotel that melted in your mouth and was so tender you could cut it with a butter knife. All the food that we ate at the hotel was superb.
The hotel was not cheap but there was absolutely nothing that we can complain about. To this day my husband and I still compare all other resorts to Cap Juluca and none of them compare. THey just set the bar so high!
We will definitely return to Cap Juluca one day and we hope that the level of service and the friendly staff and beautiful beach and water conditions remain the same.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girlyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
1.5 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
6.4 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.9 mi away
CuisinArt Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Juluca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Juluca

Property: Cap Juluca
Address: Maundays Bay, West End Village AI - 2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#6 Family Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Juluca 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Insulated from the outside world, yet only minutes by air or motor launch from St. Maarten, Cap Juluca resort is a private self-contained enclave along two miles of the best pristine white-sand beaches in the Caribbean. Spacious Moorish villas, five-star restaurants, exotic landscaped tropical gardens, and friendly and abundant service professionals provide an unparalleled level of luxury. Cap Juluca features a comprehensive array of entertainment amenities, including a fully equipped fitness center, private golf carts andbicycles, aqua golf driving range, bunker and putting green, croquet lawn, Junior Olympic-size swimming pool, a library, tennis courts with a full-time resident pro, and water sports, including snorkeling, wind surfing, water skiing, and sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cap Juluca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Juluca Hotel West End
Cap Juluca Hotel Anguilla
Cap Juluca Anguilla/West End Village
Cap Juluca Resort Anguilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing