We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location-Food Misses”
Review of Belmond Cap Juluca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Cap Juluca
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The outstanding beach at Cap Juluca is clearly up to the billing. The sand is superfine, the water is deep blue and clean, and the temperatures for us were perfect with just a slight breeze. The beach services were very good; the comfortable lounge chairs are ready with a towel and pillow, bottled water in a cooler, drinks and food at any time, and you can set your watch at 3 PM when the complimentary sorbets were served. It bothered me some that when moving the heavy chaises to stay in the shade of the umbrella, the staff would not come to assist unless they were specifically asked.

Almost all of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Juliette Reid at the front bell stand was tops amongst them. Imagine being be greeted with a hug when arriving in a van! The office staff was nice.. The concierge service was great in every way, particularly when we had to change our flight at the last moment because of a family emergency.

For an otherwise near perfect facility, the food at Pimm's, a lovely restaurant with a great view of the ocean, was just above average at a hefty price at that. Lunches were average; the decor needs refurbishing.

The villas are beautiful from the outside. The views incredible! The rooms are very nice-island style-
but not outstanding. The bathrooms are on the small side, hard for my wife and I to be in there at the same time.

The food on Anguilla was terrific in general. Lots of excellent restaurants-all the ones we dined at were costly, even by New York City prices. We thought Veya was the prettiest and had the best food. It was expensive but worth the cost. Tasty's, wasn't pretty but had roadside island charm. Dale, the owner chef, took our order, cooked the food, personally checked twice to ensure it was to our liking, and bid us good bye. The food was excellent and of comparative good value. In most regards, the food, but not the presentations, was as good as Veya.

A word to the wise! The taxi fares run $20-30 each way to outside restaurants.

So, would we go back to CJ? A probable yes, but, unless Pimm's improves dramatically, we would not eat there.

Room Tip: Middle lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foody-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 812 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We honeymooned here in August 2008. From the moment we stepped foot onto the hotel property we knew we had arrived at someplace really special. The design and decor of the villas and the lobby and the restaurants were beautiful. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast on our private balcony every morning with the beautiful view of the ocean in front of us. They arrived with our breakfast every morning at the time we specified on the card the night before and were never late. It was wonderful. The service is top notch. On the first night we arrived my husband put put a water bottle on his bedside tables because he likes to have water throughout the night because he wakes up frequently. Subsequent days after that, we always had water bottles on our night stand every night during turn down service. We couldn't say more about the service. It was excellent! We ate at all the restaurants on the resort and tried the room service the first night we arrived; to this day my husband and I still talk about the steak that we had at the hotel that melted in your mouth and was so tender you could cut it with a butter knife. All the food that we ate at the hotel was superb.
The hotel was not cheap but there was absolutely nothing that we can complain about. To this day my husband and I still compare all other resorts to Cap Juluca and none of them compare. THey just set the bar so high!
We will definitely return to Cap Juluca one day and we hope that the level of service and the friendly staff and beautiful beach and water conditions remain the same.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girlyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary, I haven't a clue where to begin... The moment we arrived we were treated like royalty!
The staff is absolutely amazing! I have to brag about a few (actually more than a few)...
Lockhart, Lynval, Gene, Maurice, Roxy, Pedro, Carol, Carol, St-Clair, Cherise, Elicia, Junior, Diane, Jackie, Jelani, Eulalie, and the entire front office. I have to say when we left I cried, they
all made us feel like family! Thank you EVERYONE!!!!
As for the property itself, it is beautifully landscaped and the villas are gorgeous!! The views from the villas are breathtaking! ! The beach is phenomenal! Forget Hawaii!!
We met families that have been coming for more than 20 years, need I say more? We plan on returning every year!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrigitteD846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Honeymooned here in 2001. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left. Every single part of this hotel and services were more than we expected. The style, architecture and quality of the furniture in the villa,and finishes here are class and high end. From the staff to to the property's layout, personal golf cart, and upgrades without even asking. Expensive, yes? Worth it? Absolutely. Seeing Celebs face to face was a surprise as well. Just top notch in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HomesBytheBayofMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We just returned from a one week stay at Cap Juluca. The resort is beautiful and the water is breathtaking. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. You walked from your villa onto the beach and go to breakfast. They have hoses where you need them to get the sand off of your feet.

The resort has floats for the ocean. There were plenty of beach chairs. The staff on the beach were wonderful. You could walk up to one of the bars or they would wait on you while you were lounging on your beach chair.

The rooms were spacious and beautiful. We never saw bugs at the resort. They have a safe in the room.

We did not rent a car. We walked to Viceroy for lunch (45 minute walk). We walked to Smokey's on the beach for lunch (20 minute walk) and we walked to Straw Hat for lunch (45 minute walk) - then went to Blanchards for a beer. We did take a taxi for dinner a couple of nights. It was never a problem to get a taxi and the restaurant would call them when you were finished with dinner.

A few nights a week they have music in the restaurants at Cap Juluca. The Wednesday night barbeque had music and the food was excellent. They do not have an ATM on the property but there are many on the island. You do not need converters.

We took a shared sea shuttle to/from the resort. Cap Juluca set it all up for you and it was very well organized and easy.

We also considered staying at the Viceroy. After seeing it we were glad we did not stay there. There is no beach, mainly families, extremely busy.

We met many nice people at the resort and many of them were returning guests. We plan on returning to Cap Juluca( maybe every year). It is truly spectular.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

If you are looking for a restful bit of paradise to ease away all of the tensions of your workaday world, Cap Juluca is the place. We had visited most of the upscale resorts in the Caribbean, but when we found CJ, we were set for good. We have been coming back since 2002, and have never been disappointed, but this year was special. The new (original) owners have finally made many upgrades to the rooms and all was just wonderful. Note that the CJ beach, Maundys Bay, is the most beautiful on the island. And you get to sit on super-padded comfortable chaises while enjoying it. All of the people who work at CJ are warm and friendly and the service is excellent. This is the place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mimiPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just returned from a weeklong stay at the resort, which was wonderful. We've visited several Caribbean islands (including some of the highest-ranked resorts), and Anguilla is among the very best. Cap Juluca was great. We loved the super-friendly and attentive service (special thanks to Myron, Jean, Lynval, Lenny, Coralie, Carol and Cardi, and to the lovely ladies who kept our room sparkly clean every day), the proximity of the rooms to the beach (within a few steps, and close enough to wake up to the sound of ocean waves as well as to the sight of crystal-blue beaches and white sand), water sports, tranquil "culture" of the resort, and more. We'd return to Cap Juluca in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
1.5 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
518 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Reef by CuisinArt
The Reef by CuisinArt
#12 of 32 in Anguilla
35 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#3 of 13 in West End Village
1,511 reviews
9.1 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#4 of 13 in West End Village
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Cap Juluca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Cap Juluca

Address: Maundays Bay, West End Village AI - 2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#4 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#6 Family Hotel in West End Village
Price Range: $345 - $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Cap Juluca 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Insulated from the outside world, yet only minutes by air or motor launch from St. Maarten, Belmond Cap Juluca resort is a private self-contained enclave along two miles of the best pristine white-sand beaches in the Caribbean. Spacious Moorish villas, five-star restaurants, exotic landscaped tropical gardens, and friendly and abundant service professionals provide an unparalleled level of luxury. Belmond Cap Juluca features a comprehensive array of entertainment amenities, including a fully equipped fitness center, private golf carts and bicycles, aqua golf driving range, bunker and putting green, croquet lawn, Junior Olympic-size swimming pool, a library, tennis courts with a full-time resident pro, and water sports, including snorkeling, wind surfing, water skiing, and sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Cap Juluca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Juluca Hotel West End
Cap Juluca Hotel Anguilla
Cap Juluca Anguilla
Cap Juluca Resort Anguilla
Belmond Cap Juluca Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing