We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cap Juluca is Paradise. Heaven on Earth.”
Review of Cap Juluca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cap Juluca
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cap Juluca is Paradise. Heaven on Earth.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place is truly spectacular. You will never regret coming here. The beach is the best you will ever see. The beach service is divine. "Would you like a cookie?" Sorbets. Great mango daquiris. Ipods with music on them. Great yoga classes. Water skiing on Maunday's bay. Kayaking, snorkeling, sailing, tennis, croquet, driving range. Rent a bike and cruise all over the island. There are golf carts to cruise around the resort on.

The restaurants are first rate. Service is slow, but, what's your hurry? Take it easy. It's worth the wait.

The rooms are awesome. Great bathrooms. Nice bed. Great furniture. Little poems on your pillow every night. A BOTTLE OF PYRAT RUM when you first arrive AND fresh lemonade. First class bathroom accoutrements from the finest companies.

YOU HAVE NOT LIVED A FULL LIFE UNTIL YOU HAVE SIPPED YOUR SMOOTH PYRAT RUM ON THE BEACH AT CAP JULUCA.

I didn't go to the spa, but they offer massages on the beach.

Awesome, friendly staff.

Beware the cabbies on this island. Every ride is $100.00, at least.

Nice boat ride over from St. Maarten. Unless you're a landlubber.

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? IF YOU WANT ANY MORE PARADISE THAN THIS, YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO GO TO THE GREAT BEYOND.

Room Tip: Get a room with a walk out onto the beach. They're'll be a hammock there to rest in and pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank savvy_RV_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    145
    64
    27
    19
See reviews for
90
593
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Following a terrific and luxurious stay in St. Barths we took a quick boat shuttle over to Anguilla for a 4 nite stay at Cap Juluca. It was a fun ride and took about 25 minutes. Highly recommend it. The resort staff met us at the boat dock and were well organized. We were a bit surprised to have to cough up $24 for the taxi to Cap Juluca. Not a lot of money compared to the per nite cost at the Cap but nevertheless a bit of nickel and diming in my opinion. We stayed in an Oceanfront Luxury Room and it was quite nice. Very clean, great bedding and an awesome bathroom. We stayed on the second floor which had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean. Furniture on the deck was dated and really uncomfortable. The room was also a bit dated but still very nice. I would have to say that the reason this resort charges so much is due to the beach. We have never been on a nicer one and cannot imagine their being a nicer one! Absolutely beautiful! The beach loungers were very comfortable and the mini bars on the beach were a nice treat. Registration was well organized and a pleasant experience. The resort is pretty spread out because of the length of the beach. Not a bad thing except at nite time if you want to walk to the main lobby. They will pick you up if you call them though. Problem with the walk is that the roadway is so poorly lit. Kind of a scary walk actually. They really need some decorative street lights! Although we visited in more or less the off season the resort seemed a bit dead. No real atmosphere in the main lobby to get guests together. The landscaping was OK but nothing close to what we find throughout the Caribbean, like in St. Lucia for example. in all fairness there had been a real drought there before we arrived. The restaurants were very over priced. Pimms was pretty good but Spice was so so. Another bit of a negative in our mind was the continental breakfast which was complimentary. For a resort that charges what this one charges the quality of this breakfast was poor. Geez, you even had to pay for a hard boiled egg cause it wasn't included in the Continental menu! We ate off the resort a couple of times because these two restaurants just didn't cut it for the price! They also lacked atmosphere. We ate at the Sand Bar which was awesome but they need to control the insects flying around and dropping into your wine. Not a major issue but a bit disconcerting. Nevertheless, this place was really good. Also went to Bankie Banks and Smokeys for lunch. Go to these places but Goggle Bankies first! He is an interesting guy to say the least. Now, let me say what we did like about this place. The people!! Holy cow, they are some of the nicest people we have ever met. Absolutely want to do whatever they can to make your stay the best. This place better recognize this fact because they are absolute gold in our opinion. I think if the resort added some atmosphere and energy and re-assessed their restaurant costs (food choice was not an issue and quality is close to what we expect) and jazzed those up also it would go a long way toward making this place somewhere we would go back to. Again, we might go back because of that beach alone. Wow!!

Room Tip: All rooms will have a great view. We like the second floor just to get off of ground level. Had no i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

There is no more beautiful beach in the world, no more friendly green blue waters and no more perfect place for romance and relaxation. There is some music in the evening but this is not where the action is. There are other beach bars, especially in Sandy Ground, if you hope to stay out late and party, but this is a quiet island and Cap Juluca is the perfect extension of the island itself. The spa is modest in big hotel terms but the gym is more than adequate. The pool is wanting so if you prefer a pool experience to the beach, go to the Viceroy. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, even luxurious. Don't think it is an ideal place for children, certainly not teens. For us it was a great place to get married and we returned ten years later to celebrate our anniversary. Bring a good book and one you love and have the time of your life. Also, rent a car because the island is driver friendly and there are many wonderful beaches and great restaurants to explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013



I have stayed in my share of luxury hotels. It was an easy pick when we decided to visit Anguilla. This Hotel has a very good reputation! However I was a little disappointed with what we actually got for the amount of money we paid. A few things you should know before you stay here
Pros-

*The location of the hotel is beautiful!!!
*The Food is delicious :)

Cons-

*Rooms are average/outdated
*No locking your room from the outside. So when you leave your room the door remains open to EVERYONE
*The food is extremely expensive!!
*TV do not work....they blamed the cable company, at least not while we were there
*The free continental breakfast (not so free) includes a hard boil egg, fruit and muffins (that's it). If you want your egg cooked be prepared to pay
*The restaurants are limited to one place for lunch and one place for dinner...that wouldn't be so bad except your spending 18.00 minimum for a taxi to take you anywhere else.
*The transfer from St. Martin are not as smooth as they appear. It was like riding a roller-coaster. The ferry terminal is run down (to say the least) a lot of locals just hanging out...did not feel safe at all.
*Gratuity is included in everything. Even if you receive bad service. When we did not leave an additional tip the staff pointed it out, as if what they are already getting is not enough

I did not expect this from a Hotel with a reputation like the one Cap Juluca has. I would recommend seeing the beaches at Cap Juluca they are beautiful. Definitely not worth the money to stay here. I'm told the prices In St Martin are a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tvestuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband recently took me to cap juluca for my 50th birthday. This place is amazing. The beach is unbelievable and the setting is like no other. I have stayed at some wonderful resorts but this by far is my favorite. The staff is wonderful,(shout out to Carol, our beach guy, and Gene our bellman!) If you want excellant food, a beautiful setting, and total relaxation this is it!!! The food all over the island is some of the best I have ever had. Try Blanchards, Dolce Vita, and Veya! Awesome food!!!!!! A great beach bar is smokey's, great music and food. This resort is amazing, I find it hard to believe anyone could say anything bad about it. I read reviews before we left and I just had to let anyone who is thinking of going please go you will not regret your choice.

Room Tip: we stayed in villa 19 at the end of the resort and it was wonderful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Me and my wife (30+) ended our three weeks honeymoon with five nights at this beach resort. After experiencing the vibe of Florida (Miami beach, Fort Lauderdale and Key West) and Saint Martin (French side) our main goal was to find a peaceful place where we could enjoy the pristine beaches of the caribbean in a high standard resort.

For our purpose and for a five night stay this place was perfect; the beach at Cap Juluca is outstanding++ and the resort's main asset, with fine white sand elegantly furnished with comfortable and private beach chairs. Our room (Villa 10.2) was great, if a bit worned down, which we understand is the case also for other rooms in the resort. However, a terrace/balcony with a great sea view makes up for this. The place has several beach bars, keeping you with towels and a cooler of complementary ice water throughout the day, as well as lunch and other drinks.

We also found the general service to be outstanding, with a high employee to guest ratio, all of whom greets you with smiles and a small chat wherever you go. As elsewhere in the Caribbean the service, especially on the Blue Restaurant, could be a bit on the slow side. However this may not be a big drawback, since you are rarely in a hurry at this place. Even though the resort has various activities (water sports, tennis, crocet, boccia, gym and spa) you will find that there is little else to do than staying at the resort.

The resort being secluded, the dining options will in practice be limited to the three different restaurants at the resort, only one of which was open each night. If you rent a car or use a taxi, it is possible to get to local restaurants not far away. If you stay for a longer time than us this will be advisable.

A drawback is the prices on food and drinks. Even though this is a high end resort we experienced that a common view is that the prices for food and drinks are unreasonably high, which is problematic when the guest have limited access to alternative dining options outside the resort. We see no reason why the restaurants of Cap Juluca shall charge doble/triple prices compared with the heute cuisine restaurants of Grand Case on the nearby island of Saint Martin (providing in our opinion a superiour food experience).

All and all we loved the place and had a once in a lifetime experience here. However we are glad that we were informed of the limited options outside the resort (or in Anguilla in general), and that our stay was limited to five nights. We found the combination of Saint Martin (French side) and Anguilla to be perfect. Others guest we talked to expressed a similar view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrikhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our recent holiday at Cap Juluca was up to the usual standard of hospitality and relaxation. The beach is amazing and the staff extremely helpful and willing to please. The restaurants are as good as always. The new owners have made upgrades to the room furnishings that were overdue and plan more for next season. This is a beautiful resort that respects and incorporates the Anguillian environment and culture in a peaceful and serene setting. Its a wonderful place to chill out and go off the grid for a week and regain your perspective on life.
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
1.5 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
6.5 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#3 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.0 mi away
CuisinArt Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Juluca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Juluca

Property: Cap Juluca
Address: Maundays Bay, West End Village AI - 2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#6 Family Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Juluca 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Insulated from the outside world, yet only minutes by air or motor launch from St. Maarten, Cap Juluca resort is a private self-contained enclave along two miles of the best pristine white-sand beaches in the Caribbean. Spacious Moorish villas, five-star restaurants, exotic landscaped tropical gardens, and friendly and abundant service professionals provide an unparalleled level of luxury. Cap Juluca features a comprehensive array of entertainment amenities, including a fully equipped fitness center, private golf carts andbicycles, aqua golf driving range, bunker and putting green, croquet lawn, Junior Olympic-size swimming pool, a library, tennis courts with a full-time resident pro, and water sports, including snorkeling, wind surfing, water skiing, and sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cap Juluca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Juluca Hotel West End
Cap Juluca Hotel Anguilla
Cap Juluca Anguilla/West End Village
Cap Juluca Resort Anguilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing