We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best secluded beach resort”
Review of Cap Juluca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cap Juluca
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best secluded beach resort”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This resort, located on Maundays Bay in Anguilla, is one of the most remote and relaxing beach resorts in the Caribbean. The property is spectacular and the beach beautiful. Wonderful staff and the restaurant is excellent.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wespwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    145
    64
    27
    19
See reviews for
90
593
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I am writing this review from one of the modern Vaio computers in the comfy paneled West Library surrounded by DVDs and books to borrow. I just had my complimentary coffee and will work out in their a/c gym in advance of my complimentary "continental" breakfast being served on my room balcony. Take non-stop to St. Maarten, taxi to Marigot ferry and rent a car right from Andy's at Blowing Point- $35 a day, he appreciates advanced reservations especially in winter. Yesterday Wilson (here 24 years) gave me another more advanced Hobie Cat sailing lesson and I am still much better than at waterskiing, not that Henry, Jarval and Nigel did not try (and try and try!). Barbara and Elvis at watersports were always encouraging me, so I went paddleboarding and kayaking for a bit just to stay on that incredible water (all included). After, Randy was opening a coconut and was gracious enough to give me one and if you haven't had a gnipe (there's no real spelling), you haven't lived, but belongers have to get them for you around this time of year from the trees in their backyard. There are chilled towels and personal coolers with water on the beach, everyone is genuinely friendly (like St.Clair and Myron and Darren and Carol and Monica) and the view and food and service at Pimm's is amazing.. 3p is "sorbet" on the beach- more like incredible ice cream- and 4p is tea with coffee and cookies and terrific drinks and conversation (and hugs) with Jessica (I miss you already). The manager's cocktail party is not to be missed on Mondays from 6-7p- Lloyd will take a photo and email you, there are hors d'oeuveres and cocktails and island legend Sprocka often plays. Diana makes reservations for dinner and asked after to know how it was- there's such a kind level of connection if you want it...Came back to my room each night with turndown service, fresh towels, a lit candle and cookies on my pillow...You can come and be alone and relax on vacation while surrounded by a special warmth of people that add something special to the experience that no guidebook can explain. Don't worry about the room or the renovation or the impersonal highrises- just hope this level of Anguilla hospitality and people never changes...oh, and get here soon : )

Room Tip: If you are here, the room is good, but 2nd floor is sunnier, better ocean view and more private, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kml1nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place is like heaven on earth. The white Morroccan style buildings are wonderful as are the three on site restaurants. You will need to rent a car to get around. Unlike some other Carribean destinations like Turks & Caicos and Aruba, Anguilla resorts are ll on their separate beaches and there is no central strip to walk down and check out a number of other resorts.

Room Tip: Roomns further from the lobby building tend to be somewhat quieter and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RORY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

First let me say that I have spent 4 weeks on the island of Anguilla in the last 3 years and have stopped by or stayed at every hotel of interest. There are a number of good options depending on what you are looking for. That said, if a friend asked me for a recommendation of where to go in the Caribbean, let alone Anguilla, I would, without hesitation, tell him to go to Cap Juluca.

One unique thing about CJ is that it is a very safe and worry free place. It is the type of place where you could leave an iPad or sunglasses or whatever out on a beach chair for hours without worrying about them. You spend your time on CJ without even a key to the room as they don't lock except from the inside. I usually fret about such things, but not here.

The beach furniture is exceptionally comfortable and large. It is also spread out such that most couples can have a good 10 yards between them and the next set of chairs. This allows for private conversation and more relaxation. The other reviews comment plenty on the exceptional quality of the beach so I won't get into it. I will say that the sand is a bit whiter than at Mead's Bay, which is my other favorite beach on the island.

CJ is closing for a period of time this summer to renovate the rooms. At present, the rooms have a very comfortable bed, powerful AC, and are meticulously cleaned each day. Each room has a patio or terrace that connects to the room via a wall of doors that slide open. The most common complaint on TA seems to be about room quality and that is fair. You just have to come here with proper expectations. To me, I am paying for the resort, not the room. If you value being steps from the beach as opposed to a 10 min trip from your room to your actual beach chair, then CJ is for you. If you value a more removed, sealed room feel, and modern, sunny rooms then the Viceroy might be a better option. They are very different but both great. Basically, CJ is a place to go to have a short, private walkway from you room to a nice wide space of world class beach to call your own. Viceroy is more of a ultra modern midrise beach hotel with a nice but small pool and the beach more removed.

I rented a Jeep Wrangler for $62/night insurance and tax included through the concierge. It is really worth doing as cabs are expensive and just not as fun as driving around yourself. Make sure to get a map and use hotels and restaurants as your landmarks because there almost no street signage.

Pimms is the place to go for dinner at CJ, but you should definitely explore other restaurants on the island. Many are excellent. It is amazing that on an island with such a natural, uncrowded, and undeveloped feel that you can get world class meals as well. Blanchards was outstanding.
Straw hat and especially Jacala were great for lunch. They are both on Mead's Bay.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SteliosGianakop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great beach fun--chair and umbrella service....staff is gracious and accommodating

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momlaoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I travel a lot and I can tell you from experience you're not going to find many places better than this. Sure it's expensive but it's worth every penny! The Island is amazing but it's the people that really make it a gem. The rooms could be upgraded but it didn't bother me a bit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zootstinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

the beach & water is incredible - the service is excellent - but i like to hear the waves from my bed, and there are not screens - so either i have bugs or no waves, and rooms and food too pricey. worth staying for a couple of nights for sure.

Room Tip: ask for a villa closwer to water - all are ocean front but some are really closer than others, mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
1.5 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
6.5 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#3 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.0 mi away
CuisinArt Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Juluca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Juluca

Property: Cap Juluca
Address: Maundays Bay, West End Village AI - 2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#4 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#6 Family Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Juluca 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Insulated from the outside world, yet only minutes by air or motor launch from St. Maarten, Cap Juluca resort is a private self-contained enclave along two miles of the best pristine white-sand beaches in the Caribbean. Spacious Moorish villas, five-star restaurants, exotic landscaped tropical gardens, and friendly and abundant service professionals provide an unparalleled level of luxury. Cap Juluca features a comprehensive array of entertainment amenities, including a fully equipped fitness center, private golf carts andbicycles, aqua golf driving range, bunker and putting green, croquet lawn, Junior Olympic-size swimming pool, a library, tennis courts with a full-time resident pro, and water sports, including snorkeling, wind surfing, water skiing, and sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, West Indies, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cap Juluca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Juluca Hotel West End
Cap Juluca Hotel Anguilla
Cap Juluca Anguilla/West End Village
Cap Juluca Resort Anguilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing