We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern luxury on an old island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern luxury on an old island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Went down to the Viceroy for a wedding. Upon arrival, we were upgraded from a studio to a 1 br which was amazing. 2 bathrooms, views of the ocean, a huge deck with a plunge pool (which I guess i just another name for a private hot tub)....the room was great, the resort itself was remarkably attentive, the beaches were beautiful. Minus a few things happening on the super slow "Caribbean Time", I don't have a bad thing to say. (and for the record, I tried to embrace the slower pace of everything and blamed it on me being on NYC time.....)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJoeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    211
    72
    37
    32
See reviews for
255
756
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Went to this hotel and my first impression was that from Meads Bay it looks like an ugly cruise ship anchored against the rocks. It has ruined the landscape of Barnes Bay and Meads Bay.

Way overpriced rooms, food etc... sure it is luxury but how much chicken does one need for $2000.00 a night?

Service was ackward and slow, seems like the staff do not understand the expectations of American star ratings.

I can tell you of many better spots on this great island to go without the big price tag.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theace1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

My husband and I chose the Viceroy for our 10th wedding anniversary. We basically stumbled upon it online and after consulting Trip Advisor and discovering a buy one night/get one free offer, we were in! The ambiance and decor is simply breathtaking. No expense has been spared...the place is dripping in travertine and is beautifully designed with a modern but classy Miami-type flair. You get the best of both worlds...cliffs and perfectly beautiful tucked away beaches. There are photo opps around every corner. A few days before we were to arrive, we decided to explore the idea of renewing our vows. Rosina (the wedding planner) couldn't have been more accommodating. She was prompt with every email exchange, and she provided options (with links) to various pastors/faith denominations and photographers. (It was nice to have a selection of vendors/clergy to choose from.) When we met her in person, she had a gleaming smile and seemed to be genuinely excited for our celebration. We are so glad that we renewed our vows because it couldn't have been a more beautiful/intimate setting. We were also thrilled with Derrys Richardson (the photographer Rosina recommended). I asked him for a 30-minute session, and even having been paid in advance, he proceeded to stay for over two hours and took us all over the premises to capture photographers in various locations. He totally exceeded our expectations. My husband and I had a couples massage which was very nice. The electric/heated massage tables and linens were to die for! So were the heated towels at the end. Rashim (who was great) at the beach took us on a little mini catamaran cruise. It was awesome to see the hotel/grounds from the ocean...I didn't realize how enormous the Viceroy is until out at sea to see! We just got a standard room with a plunge pool, and it was more than ample. The ceilings are probably 13 ft, and it just feels very spacious and luxurious everywhere. Our bathroom was enormous. The bed was uber comfy. The view was killer. There was nothing more we needed. It was always quiet...the only sound we could ever hear from our room was the waves crashing on the shore. The only significant area of improvement needed is with food/drink service. At the Sunset Lounge there were always 3-4 servers huddled in the corner chatting away, and I sometimes felt like the didn't even see us. I ordered sushi by the pool with a glass of wine. The wine was forgotten, and I finished my plate before it came. The Aleta pool service was equally slow, and I wasn't impressed with the dining service there either. We met a large group of friends during our stay, and I'd say the average wait time on a drink (even a beer) was 15 minutes. Everyone at the hotel that we ran into was joking about how slow the drink service was. We finally went to the grocery store and bought vodka, wine and beer so we could replenish ourselves (in our rooms), as it was much quicker to make a run to the room than wait for a drink. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this hotel, and I hope that I will be lucky enough to make it back someday. You cannot beat the beauty, and even though the service can be slow, everyone is very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

This was our first trip to Anguilla. We were a party of 4--my husband, myself, our eleven year old son and our twenty one year old daughter. We had planned a short getaway to relax and unwind and the Viceroy Anguilla surpassed all our expectations. This is a luxe and beautiful property. The resort is built on the West End and offers two pristine sandy beaches on either side. Each was a quick walk from our suite and the beaches' waters and sand were perfection. Our family was upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was luxurious and beautifully appointed with two bedrooms, huge baths, large living and dining areas, two plunge pools, and expansive patios. The common areas of the property, including the reception area, complement Anguilla natural beauty and water views. The architecture and furnishings create a sense of relaxation and tranquility throughout the property. The fitness center is well appointed and centrally located. The resort's three pools are individually unique and gorgeous, each with their own restaurant and food and beverage service. But it is ultimately the staff that bring this property to life with their genuine Anguillan friendliness and attentiveness. Frankie at the Aleta pool, Rachim at watersports, Catalina at reception, Martin, the Food and Beverage Manager and many others we met, worked to ensure that our stay was absolute perfection. They succeeded--we will certainly return. This is a new property and certainly,one not to be missed! Flying in is super simple--there are direct flights on American Eagle to Anguilla or you can fly to St. Maarten and take a short ride on a comfortable boat to Anguilla. From there, it is short cab ride to the resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

I was at the Viceroy for a week and would for sure go back! The hotel is amazing! My best friend was getting married there - we went the Monday before to help her get all the details ironed out. Rosina the wedding planner is AWESOME!! She made sure every request the bride had was tended too. I know it was a little scary for her getting married somewhere sight unseen but everything was wonderful! We were in a villa - the decor, the food, the service was all outstanding. We had several butlers - Alex, Travis and Clement - they were all great. Get to know Remy - I am not sure what his job is supposed to be bc he did a little bit of everything - he took us to the grocery store, served a huge crowd drinks at the pool, arranged cabs, recommended restaurants, etc. The weather the first few days we were there wasnt great but no one can help that and by the end of the trip we forgot it ever rained. I would suggest going on the Gotcha boat tour one day to snorkel, swim, and have lunch. The food at the Viceroy is very good but if you want to go somewhere that isnt at the resort I would suggest Veya - it was great! We also went to Blanchards, Johnnos, and Jacala --- we didnt have a bad meal on the trip! The spa services were good but I do wish there was more of a "quiet room" that wasnt right by the reception desk. The pools at the hotel are beautiful and there is access to the beach - if you arent a pool person then you may be disappointed. All in all I think the Viceroy is a fabulous place for a vacation, wedding, or a honeymoon! Hopefully one day I can go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHaugseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

So, overall, I felt, 'wow, the best thing about this place is the furniture and art are gorgeous' but that is not what i choose a vacation spot for. my husband chose this place for something different and luxurious. It was our first time together going to the Caribbean besides Riviera Maya, Mex. But really, the service at Viceroy was no better than any AI resort in Mexico we'd been to, and maybe even less impressive. Our room had a major leak in the wall causing large puddles of water on the floor, and they didn't seem concerned or eager to correct the problem. They moved us down the hall to a similar room when it finally got to be really bad (my poor toddler was slipping and falling). I guess it would have been nice to have received an upgrade or a sense of concern for our wellbeing and/or satisfaction.
We really enjoyed the pool on the spacious balcony, and the beautiful ocean view. Our room was really close to the ocean, as it seems all the rooms are.
The food was disappointing is some respects. We thought there'd be fresh tropical fruit, but it was all imported and the same as back home in Chicago. No fresh juice, even. The rest of the food was pretty good, but Coba was out of the local crayfish/crawfish whatever, which I'd wanted to try, so instead they gave me lobster which was decent.
Blanchard's restaurant up the road offsite was a nice romantic spot w/fine cuisine (left the kids w/a sitter).
The folks at the restaurants were nice, good service, and the pool lady was very friendly. The ferry people (Fun Time) were quite rude to us on the way back to St. Maarten. The beaches were pretty. Nice sand, clear turquoise sea. We had fun in the pool, despite the mosquitoes in the palapas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funfam07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

5 star accomodation equivalent to any high end comtemporary setting in Miami Beach. Not your typical Anguillan resort. Staff was not in sync with a 5 star hotel and need much training. Front desk was very accomodating. Unfortuantely the beach was very hard to access, as the new beach club and entrance had not been completed.

Rooms were fabulous and spacious and the food very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOSSAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you for your feedback about yor recent stay with us. We apologize that our service levels did not meet you expectations and would like to discuss your experience personally with you. Please contact me via e-mail at brent.hall@viceroyanguilla.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.2 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.4 mi away
CeBlue Villas and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cap Juluca
Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.4 mi away
CuisinArt Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

Property: Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Address: Barnes Bay, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla (Formerly Viceroy Anguilla)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#3 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#3 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#4 Family Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla invites you to make yourself at home in 166 villas and resort accommodations, more than 80% of which overlook the breaking surf and blue horizons of two of Anguilla's 33 spectacular beaches. Relax in the seaside spa. Sample fresh cuisine with those you love, in a place where every sunset is theatrical. Immerse yourself in Anguilla's unique culture and stunning natural beauty as Four Seasons expertise takes the Caribbean to new levels of seaside luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Anguilla Hotel West End
Four Seasons Resort And Residences Anguilla West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing