We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Carimar Beach Club(West End Village)(Great Value!)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangrove Villas at Indio Reef(West End Village)(Great Value!)
$185
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frangipani Beach Resort(West End Village)(Great Value!)
$1,110
$969
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palms Holiday Suites(South Hill)(Great Value!)
$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Cap Juluca(West End Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anacaona Boutique Hotel(West End Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Cove Resort(West End Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,582)
Filter reviews
1,582 results
Traveler rating
1,196
235
79
39
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
235
79
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolhalf shellsunset loungesushibarnes baycoba restaurantaleta poolbedroom residencebike tourkelly wearstlerkids clubsea centerbamboo grillrock climbingmeads bayfamily poolour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,481 - 1,486 of 1,582 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We had an outstanding time at the Viceroy Hotel in Anguilla last week. We love the island of Anguilla and have previously stayed at the other prominent resorts on this island. This was by far our most outstanding and potentially the finest hotel we have stayed in all of the Caribbean--and we have stayed at most of the top resorts.
Our room was absolutely BEAUTIFUL, spacious, immaculate and extremely comfortable. The entire property is stunning and, although still incomplete, has gorgeous organic touches and vistas mixed with uncomplicated and striking furnishing. I am tracking down the bed linens and loved the choice of palette in all the rooms. While it was simple beige and greige, the aqua waters and rich teaks was extremely appealing. as was the entire property.

We did end up with a problem with the air conditioning in our fabulous elongated rooftop plunge pool suite. Who would want to move from the perfect, spacious room? With a lot of attempts to fix it and solicitous help from Jaimie, Jillian and ultimately the General Manager Jan (Yan), we reluctantly moved. Jan moved us to an amazing 5,000 square foot, 4 bedroom, beyond exquisite , 4 bedroom villa that was so over the top that we can't stop talking about. It was a giddy experience. We only wished we had some friends around so we could throw a fantastic party. Stocked refrigerators, private infinity pool, plunge pool, indoor and outdoor showers, gorgeous furnishings, amazing maid/butler service...we are still giggling. Actually we are contemplating purchasing our first spectacular room.

The resort is primarily to be privately owned units that will be managed by the hotel for rentals as hotel rooms.

All this said, there were some issues. The property is located on two gorgeous beaches. We have loved Barnes beach for its length, talc like sand and privacy since our first stay on the island. The property borders on two beaches with a rocky point where the infinity pool and restaurant and bar sit. Access to the beaches on both sides of this point are awkward, but far from insurmountable. Infact, there are beach restaurants on both Barnes and Mead beaches.

The surf was rough during our stay, but we did adore daily long walks, shelling and getting wet between our lunches served at our chaise. When the property is complete (very soon) there will be direct access to the Barnes beach, enabling a more casual stroll to the beach, pool, restaurants and fitness center.

The spa is temporarily located in a 5000 sq. foot villa and is spacious and you can hear the ocean during treatments. My husband had a great stone deep tissue massage and I had a very good facial.

The tennis courts (3 composition) are adequate, but not a strength of the facility. We are told there may be some revision to that. They are in new condition and are not affected by wind, but they were not as lush or to the standard of this fantastic facility.

Continental breakfast was included and was over the top--clearly the best we have ever had at any hotel. We had meat, cheeses, yogurt, breads, pastries, fresh fruit platters, and every and any thing we asked for, delivered to our room, albeit a little sluggishly. However, they learned our order and habits after 2 days and markedly improved punctuality.

We love Anguilla and now have a new favorite place. The facility is only open since December. It appears that the staff is learning how to cater to its high end clientele. There is room for this to improve and while polite, there are shortcomings in the chain of roles such as conceirge, bellmen and coordination among reception staff. Jan is very attentive to the patrons and is obviously working hard to tweak this needed improvement.

As the facility is completed it certainly will be the most fantastic destination in the Caribbean and one of the finest in the world. (We've traveled to many of their competitors and this will be a very hard act to follow.) Thanks to all the staff in training and attentive general Manager Yan, along with the wonderful designer for looking out for our best interests and for enhancing our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Leisure Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2010

Wanted to stay forever..... Anguilla does have that effect on visitors.
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are beyond thrilled that you enjoyed your time with is and look forward to welcoming you back to Viceroy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

My husband and I recently came back from a wonderful vacation at the Viceroy Hotel in Anguilla. Although we went at a time when the hotel was not totally completed, we certainly didn't feel we were lacking in any regard. From the time we arrived, staff made us feel most welcomed and tried to accommodate us in every way possible. From a design standpoint, the Viceroy Hotel in Anguilla is exquisite. Every day you are there you see something new in its beauty. The rooms are exceptional--sophisticated and elegant with an almost Zen-like feel. We heard that the food on the island was quite good, so we chose to try different resturants during our stay, but every meal we had at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was included and it certainly was plentiful. I must say, that after spending some time with the mangement team, I know that the Viceroy Anguilla will be one of the premier hotels of its kind.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Leisure Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2010

We do argree with you that Viceroy Anguilla is indeed a "Work of Art" and are delighted with your Trip Advisor review.
We apologize for the air conditioning issues you experienced durning your stay with us but are thrilled that you loved the alternate accommodations. We all look forward to welcoming you back to our island paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

After two weeks in Anguilla, staying in several places, I was so happy to have chosen this gorgeous hotel to finish my trip! Details.....details, details! Not one of them overlooked. It was three days of being utterly pampered, catered to, and ultimately...fully RELAXED!

First off, the staff is excellent. As a totally stressed-out, solo traveler, let me give "Kudos" to Tonya Clarke, Jamie Hodge, and Jasmine Welsh for going above and beyond. From check-in, to reservations, to recommendations, I was so relieved to be in their care.

As for the rooms, the studio I stayed in was superb (no details overlooked) from the fixtures to the bed sheets. The bathroom alone was bigger than most NYC apartments. Kelly Wearstler worked her magic throughout the hotel with her design aesthetic. It felt like being free to roam in a bohemian millionaire's estate, where art and sculpture abound...free to touch and to admire.

I was especially appreciative of the private outdoor plunge pool exclusive to each room on one's balcony. Great for a quiet soak at night to simply listen to the sea below.

The spa (although not fully completed) was wonderful. Having had massages at other spas on the island (namely CuisinArt, Frangipani, and Malliohana), the massage therapists here (I had 4 days of treatments in total) were by far, the best. These are intuitive bodyworkers with magic hands. The Deep Sea and Hot Stone massages are highly recommended.

I really felt no need to leave the complex. Did not mind at all spending the day in the freshwater infinity pool where I was constantly replenished with a bottle of iced cold drinking water by the watchful staff. (Remy is the best...."V.I.P. Concierge!") Finished each day watching the dusk fall at the Sunset Lounge. Even more gorgeous atmosphere after dark to relax with an expertly mixed drink (they even have plush beds to lie around with friends and listen to the waves).

The shuttle to the Beach Club was never a problem. I found Mead's Bay to be my favorite beach on the island. One is given the royal treatment here with an abundance of towels and service. Had the Greek salad everyday for lunch...fresh and delicious. Never soggy or wilted even in 80 degree weather.

After dining at nearly a dozen other restaurants on the island, I found the Coba Restaurant on the premises to be the biggest surprise. My only regret was that I did not dine there more OFTEN! The food was fresh, clean and perfectly seasoned. I especially liked the fact that one had numerous options for sides and sauces for their entree. Put my gluten allergies (and mind!) to rest.

The most remarkable feat at the Koba was the fact that an order of the of sugar snap peas with almonds was served PERFECTLY. Not in a mushy grey heap, but delectably bright green and crisp. This tasted and felt like NYC food, to satisfy the fussiest Metropolitan palette. On an island that isn't Manhattan....that alone, speaks VOLUMES!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tribeca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Leisure Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

We cannot wait for you to return as well. Thank you for your compliemnts about Jamie, Tonya, Jasmine and Remy. We have shared your compliments with this and they are thrilled.
Thank you for taking time to post your comments to Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

I could spend paragraphs writing about every detail of the hotel but it would just be easier to say that it was the most wonderful place I have ever stayed.

The rooms are massive, almost everyone i spoke to thought that they had been given the wrong room because it was far nicer than they expected. The pictures provided by the Viceroy hardly do the hotel justice, it is spacious, beautiful and gorgeously decorated. The entire hotel is designed by Kelly Weartsler and it seems that absolutely no expense was spared. The staff was wonderful, we arrived without our baggage and it seemed that every employee knew, they must have a staff meeting every morning to discuss the guests which made for a very personalized stay. The entire staff was gracious and attentive, far better than any other staff I have experienced in the Caribbean. They ring you endless bottles of fiji water while you are at the pool, provide rides to the beach, excellent pool and beach service. We were planning on taking day trips to St. Barth's and St. Martin but there was no need, I couldnt draw myself away from this beautiful hotel and island.

Long story short - i cannot wait to return, this was the nicest and most enjoyable hotel I have ever stayed at. I would recommend it to everyone, totally worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtraveler13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Leisure Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

Thank you for your recent review on our resort. We agree with you 100% that oce you arrive you have no reason to leave.
We look forward to welcoming you to our island paradise again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The Viceroy is truly one of the most visually stunning resorts that we have had the pleasure of visiting. While we had concerns that the modern design at this new resort might be a bit gimmicky, the design was perfectly executed and simply accented the visually striking location overlooking the sea between Barnes Bay and Meads Bay. The finish work and attention to architectural detail is truly top-notch. While not always a fan of modern architecture, we were truly impressed with the vision and execution.

We stayed in a blufftop villa (15), which had four bedrooms, four and a half baths, an amazing fully-stocked kitchen, and a private terrace, cabana overlooking the infinity pool and the sea beyond. I really can't imagine a better spot for mentally re-charging the batteries.

The blufftop villas all have spectacular views and generally have a greater degree of privacy than most of the beachfront villas. The only compromise is a short walk to the Barnes Bay beach. As designed with two equally nice split master bedrooms, the villa was a perfect arrangement for two couples traveling together. We were well-taken care with both a "lifestlye assistant" and a housekeeper. The refrigerator remained fully stocked with fruit, snacks, champagne, beer, and probably anything else we could have thought of.

The resort itself was very quiet during our stay and was not at full operating capacity. The current estimation for full completion seems to June 2010. The work being done, however, is in no way intrusive on the guest experience. As with prior reviews, the Meads Bay beach access doesn't seem ideal, but we all have to wait to see what the final approach will be once the construction is finished.

We ate in Coba for every breakfast and one dinner. The complimentary breakfasts were extremely good with made-to-order omelets, fruits, cheese and pastries. The Coba dinner had a somewhat limited menu and was good but not amazing. We suspect that dinner menus will improve once all of the resturant locations are up and running. We will definitely try Coba again for dinner on our next visit. Room service seemed a bit slow, but again, we suspect this will all be worked out soon enough.

Everyone from the front desk to the gardeners were extremely friendly. The property's General Manager, Jan, seems to being working closely with the staff and it was a pleasure interacting with Viceroy employees. One note for improvement, we would occasionally get conflicting information (e.g. whether the Alieta resturant was open) and maybe a staff memo as to the state of the construction or frequently asked questions might be of some help. Again, this was not a criticism as much a suggestion for improvment.

This hotel has our unqualified recommendation. The Viceroy is a unique property in the Carribean and will be unbeatable in design, location, and service. We can't wait to return!




which was just the perfect spot



concept works perfectly to accent the blufftop

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Leisure Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2010

We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post your expereince regarding your recent stay with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
We have taken your feedback on the inconsistent information that you received from the staff and will be implementing a process and will implement a process to ensure that consistent information is give to all our guests.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Anguilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews