We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,593 results
Traveler rating
1,207
235
79
39
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,207
235
79
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolhalf shellsunset loungesushibarnes baycoba restaurantaleta poolbedroom residencebike tourkelly wearstlerkids clubsea centerbamboo grillmeads bayrock climbingfamily poolour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
771 - 776 of 1,593 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We just returned from our second visit to the Viceroy for our family spring break. We travel with another family and in total there are 9 of us-4 adults and 5 kids (7,9,9,11,11). The Villas at the Viceroy are second to none. We have stayed in other on property villas, including the Nevis Four Seasons-and nothing compares to the Viceroys set-up. The Villas have two master suites up stairs and then two bedrooms on the first floor perfect for the kids-all with ensuite baths. The villas are appointed perfectly and upscale, yet beachy. All within the resort, not a golf cart away like some resorts...Best night sleep ever in the most comfortable beds with the waves crashing, I am still dreaming about it!!
We requested to have Jamel be our butler/personal assistant again…he is amazing and once again ensured our trip was seamless. He booked our dinner and golf reservations before we arrived and had our transportation and babysitting needs taken care of. He is outstanding with our kids and even taught the boys a thing or two on the basketball court! Really miss him and his dimples already!!
We had met Richard last year and he also was great about checking in on us and making sure everything was perfect.
The sports area is amazing for kids. Our boys spent every morning there while the adults worked out. They loved the basketball and the rock climbing wall. The tennis courts are also beautiful. If you have active kids, this complex really sets the Viceroy apart from any other resort we have been to.
Our girls loved Generation V-lots to do, crafts and hair braiding, was a great break from the sun in the afternoon.
We are all very fit and worked out every day including 3 days of bootcamp, which was great. We also used the gym on the other days and it was well appointed. The yoga on the beach looked great, but we are not yoga people.
The sunset lounge is amazing-great cocktails, amazing sushi and views that are unmatched.
The adult pool is right off the sunset lounge and has a great vibe with views that are breath-taking
The cabanas are fantastic-again, views, views, views….
One of the things we love about the resort is that it sits on Meads Bay so you can walk to many terrific restaurants, including Straw Hat and Blanchards Beach Shack-both outstanding.
We did go off campus a few times. Once to Shoal Bay, which is definitely worth the 20 min drive. The most beautiful beach with great restaurants and bars-great fun/great people.
We also golfed at the Cuisenart-Ron Johnson was great to chat with-he is in charge of the golf there. That is a quick 5 min drive and beautiful course.
Veya is a “DO NOT MISS” dining experience-did that on adult night and also loved Dolce Vita.
I could go on and on-but the thing we like the best about the Viceroy are the people. Not only do we love Jamel and think Richard is great-but others we have come to adore: Tamara and Marlene at the Bamboo pool, Jemaurah and Joanne at the sunset Lounge, Ladicia and Glenisha at the kids club, Dominque and Vernon in the gym (bootcamp) Tristan at the Rock Climbing, Kiran at the Cabanas and Harry and Glen the taxi drivers.
Last year Richard told us that if you are kind to the people on the island, they will treat you like a king/queen…I highly recommend that approach. The people are born and raised on the island and all have huge hearts…just don’t approach them with a city,” gotta have it now or I am going to start yelling” approach.
It is an amazing island with amazing people. I can’t recommend it enough. We have stayed at many 5 star+ resorts and rarely duplicate a trip-we are already booked for our third year in a row... I was sad as we were leaving and someone said to me-“hey, if you don’t leave, you can’t come back…!” That put a smile on my face knowing we will be back next year-already booked!

Room Tip: The villas are amazing-can't recommend more!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoLambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

We are absolutely delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with your friends and family. There's no better compliment than a return visit - and three is wonderful! Jamel's outstanding service and care is one reasons that our villas experiences are so special for our guests. We have informed him of your kind words and very much look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Absolutely beautiful, top notch property. Food was very good, and rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Problem is the service. Training is needed particularly food and beverage service. Service rated from excellent to non existent with the average being just average. Would love to return but not sure at those prices with average service. I am still going to rate it very good just because of the sheer beauty of the property and the fact that some of the service was great (housekeeping, spa, and front desk). Please more training for food and beverage service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel was GORGEOUS, even better than the pictures. One of the most amazing hotels we've ever stayed. The decor throughout the grounds was amazing - wonderful pieces of wood art, live orchids, etc. The views from the property were amazing - great sunsets. The rooms were elegantly decorated, spacious, and impecible. Huge patios. Truly, an amazing hotel and room...although you do pay a lot for such luxury - but for us, totally worth it.

The surprise came with the bill....not only was there the 10% service charge "tax" for each night, but there was also a 10% goverment accommodation tax - so taxes of 20% per night. When the room is so pricey, 20% aren't negligible "taxes". In addition, there is a daily $25 Environmental Fee and a $2 Government Tourism Levy. In total, about 23% added to our daily bill - definitely not what we expected when booking and something I think people shoudl definitely be aware of as they're booking.

Another downside was the number of children. For many, this is not a negative - but for us, traveling as a couple to a small island in the Caribbean, we were going for more the romantic vibe, not the Disney World vibe. There were screaming children everywhere (and very few parents attempting to lessen the screaming). They do have a beautiful adult-only infinity pool - but it's a relatively small area and far from the beach. We were surprised by how many children/families were at this resort, as it seemed it would have been better suited for the adult crowd. It would have been great if there was an area of the beach that was also adults only to allow those wanted to relax in peace to actually do so.

Other good things about the resort:
- The spa was beautiful and we had amazing massages during our stay. Also pricey, but great.
- The Coba restaurant was AMAZING, probably our second favorite on Anguilla (I'll review separately). Again, pricey, but delicious food and great ambience.
- Service was great, very attentive.
- They arranged for our rental car to be delivered to the hotel and we were able to drop it off at the ferry.

Other not so-good things:
- Avoid the breakfast buffet...it was ok, but NOT worth the cost.
- Pricey, pricey drinks

All and all, a fantastic property and beautiful location. I would definitely recommend, but be prepared for those extra fees and kiddos.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

We're happy you were blown away by the scenery and hotel! We are happy that you enjoy your days of fun in the sun, and spa treatments. Anguilla is truly an island paradise, as part of it, we enjoy welcoming couples and families. We accommodate all our guests to maximize their experience, from providing the children with Generation V kids club and teen program to the adults only Sunset Lounge pool. We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

You can't ask for more from a Caribbean hide-away in the middle of the action than the 4 bedroom villas that the Viceroy Anguilla offers. Luxury mini-mansions that offer the best of Anguilla; powdery beaches, high-style luxury accommodations, and privacy are hidden but can be found on the east end of the property, adjacent to Meade's Bay. Walk the beach to the finest Anguilla restaurants, bring in a chef, or prepare your own!

We stayed in Seacliff unit 138, the premier corner property at the Viceroy. It features a huge wrap-around private deck with its own infinity plunge pool and hot tub. Steps lead down the cliff to the sea below. The deck wraps around a floor-to-ceiling glass great room and gourmet kitchen to take full advantage of the stunningly blue bay views. The two first floor bedrooms each feature huge bathrooms with an outdoor shower. The second floor has a large glass enclosed sound-proof office space and two Master suites. A giant balcony wraps around the entire second floor if the view from the first floor deck isn't stunning enough.

The staff was great. It looks to me like issues related to service mentioned by previous guests have been addressed, because we found the staff, from the front desk to the beach, to be courteous and helpful. Whether we were sailing on the Hobe, tubing behind the Whaler, or snorkeling on the reefs in front of the property, the staff's help was top-notch. To finish off each day I was torn between watching the sunset from the Sunset Lounge or from our own private pool. Life is definitely a beach when those are your choices!

Room Tip: Get a group and stay in the 4 bedroom villas! 138 is the best for privacy coupled with 270 degree views of the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. Staying at one of our villas is definitely an out-of-this-world experience! We're happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. It certainly sounds like you took full advantage of everything we had to offer - bars and restaurants, water sports and relaxation - not to mention all the wonderful amenities of your villa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

As a former group sales manager for 4 diamond (AAA rated) hotels, I consider myself fairly picky. I recently stayed in one of the townhouses at the Viceroy; Seacliff 138. It was beautifully appointed and accommodated my group of 11 in first class luxury. The rooms were elegantly decorated and consistent with the general decor and ambience of the resort. Details like thick, thirsty towels, fine down pillows and comforters, soft Egyptian cotton sheets covering soft but firm mattresses were consistent with a 5 star facility. I couldn't help but notice the abundance of candles and flames lighting my way to the Sunset Lounge as I walked along polished, spotless, natural stone passages connecting the restaurants, shops, and pool areas. The staff was very accommodating, friendly, efficient and deferential. I would love to give specifics but no one wants to read that much. We most definitely will go back either as a group or just the two of us. I know there are other very nice properties nearby but the Viceroy gets our business and my family agrees.

Room Tip: The townhouses include their own heated infinity pools, chaises, outdoor seating and beach access. Nice to have the private outdoor lounge space with no end of fresh towels. It even had a dog walk and outdoor shower.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Such high marks from a hotelier is certainly a compliment! It's the little things, and our outstanding staff, that really make our guests feel extra special. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews