We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach protocol terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beach protocol terrible”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been visiting the Viceroy for several days and have yet to be approached by beach staff for services. in addition today I set my beach bag on a lounger next to a young couple with a baby for safe keeping. While I swimming the attendant lowered the umbrella. Seriously!??? Had he bothered to speak to me he would have known better than to disrespect a patron. Six star resort with one star customer appeal. So much for Anguillan hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CanadianWanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for informing us of this occurrence. We can assure you that this is not the norm for our guests. We're discussing it with our team to make sure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    228
    76
    38
    32
See reviews for
300
809
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently celebrated our wedding at the Viceroy Anguilla and can honestly say it was perfect. We visited the property a couple of times in advance of the our wedding and so knew in advance how fabulous and breathtaking the resort and the whole island are. The property has been developed to a very high standard with amazing views and excellent facilities - numerous pools which are designated for adult/family/children's use, amazing sunset lounge (best drink being the painkiller), Coba restaurant ..... and then there are the beaches! Meads Bay is spectacular.

Our entire wedding party (50 people including children) raved about the hotel. The quality of the service was really stepped up to look after us and our guests - especially for the events including 1) a welcome dinner on the beach by Bamboo which was casual but the quality of the food and beverages and importantly the service was to a very high standard and exceeded our expectations and 2) the wedding ceremony and reception which was held in the Coba restaurant - again excellent quality of food and beverages and a high quality service. Particular mention must be made of our wedding coordinator Rosina and her team, along with the general manager Richard for their organizational skills and making sure that the events ran smoothly. It really was a wedding in paradise.

We stayed in the 5 bedroom beachfront villa - amazing, by far the best hotel villa we have ever stayed in and worth every penny. The facilities, the pool, access to the beach and even provision of a golf cart were nice touches. Also we were provided with welcome gifts, champagne and handwritten notes - again a nice touch.

We were married in the off-season which meant that the hotel was busy but not crowded - this allowed for plenty of space and peace and quiet to relax on the beach and by the pools. The beach attendants were very attentive and friendly and continually provided water and ensured our party had sufficient sun loungers and towels. in addition the sports and fitness facilities were also to a high standard - including tennis courts, basketball court and gym - all very well maintained.

Anguilla can be a bit of a pain to get to - flight to St Maarten and then a ferry/boat crossing - but to be honest this is all part of the charm of the island and also means it remains relatively undeveloped outside of the resorts. As such it is well worth the effort to travel here. An amazing setting which has provided us and our family and friends some fantastic memories - one of our younger guests cried all the flight home because she did not want to leave!!

The perfect place to celebrate our wedding and the hotel exceeded our expectations with the planning of our events. I would highly recommend the Viceroy Anguilla and we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a villa or suite - the amenities (eg pools) are worth it. Higher floors obviou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Congratulations! We're thrilled that you chose to have your wedding with us, and that our outstanding team provided you with a truly memorable event. The gorgeous 5-Bedroom Beachfront Villa was, no doubt, the cherry on top. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We are presently staying at the Viceroy. We spent today checking out the hotels that were rated higher to see what could possibly be better than here. We go to this site whenever we travel because of the reliability. We have never been steered wrong. However, in this case, the answer is nowhere on this island! We are glad that this time we individually checked the websites for the hotels before booking. We are in building 32 in room 322 and the view from our huge balcony with a plunge pool is absolutely beautiful!!!!!!!!!! As far as service, it is impeccable. Beside from the fact that the rooms are very tastefully decorated, they are kept spotless. This high mark of patron attention is seen everywhere. There has not been an employee that has not been super friendly and helpful. The beach and pools are fantastic with many chairs so it is easy to find a seat. Everything we have had to eat here has been delicious, Room service was extremely prompt ( less than 25 min.). Our room has one bedroom with a living room area, one and a half bathrooms, and a small kitchenette that is really nice to have. This place is a paradise! You will be disappointed if you stay anywhere else while visiting this island Trip Advisor needs to adjust the ratings. While I have read some of the other reviews, any of the negatives are an exact opposite of what we are experiencing. We don't want to leave! Also, we read negatives about the Voyager boat company so were leery about taking it to Anguilla. Our concierge in St. Martin told us they have changed hands so don't pay attention to what you might read. The boat was nice and on time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're so happy you found paradise at Viceroy Anguilla and hope that the rest of your stay with us is equally great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just spent four of the most incredible days on vacation at the Viceroy. Once you navigate your way to the island by charter boat, ferry or airplane and get through the antiquated immigration process it's all worth it. The property is a jewel and the attention detail would impress a Porsche engineer. It is truly overwhelming from the moment you enter the lobby with the veranda and ocean views. The staff at the front desk were friendly and courteous and start you off with a glass of ting, a delicious grapefruit flavored island favorite.
Our room was discounted as part of a group rate for the wedding we were attending with 154 people, so what should have been much more expensive was reasonable but still pricey once all the taxes and fees are added in. Our meals were great at the main bar area and restaurant. The breakfast buffet was delicious, as it should be at 25 dollars us per person plus the automatic 18 percent gratuity. There are three pools on the property so you can avoid children by heading to the infinity pool or enjoy them in one of the other two pools. The beach at the hotel is just as it appears in the photos, white sand and crystal clear water. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, ask for a room with a "plunge" pool. LIke a hot tub but without the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed both your stay with us and the wedding you attended. Attention to detail (as you noted), gorgeous surroundings and a beautiful hotel make for a truly unforgettable vacation! We hope you'll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I went for 5 nights at the end of July. Like many we flew into St Maarten and then took the funtime boat to Anugilla arranged from the hotel. The transfer to the ferry was just a 2 minute ride from the airport. The boat ride though was very rough going(going back to St Maarten it was very smooth). Although nobody got sea sick(it was just 20 minutes), one should be prepared for the ride.

The rooms are very nice and appointed very well. The grounds to the hotel are absolutely stunning. The pools and beach are fantastic. The pictures on this website do not really show how great the views and scenry are at the hotel.

The service at the beach was great, they had people who would set you up with chairs and umbrellas and bring cold water. They were great. The service at the pool was much slower. I am not sure if they wanted it quiter but it was considerably harder to find someone to order drinks from or to get towels from at the pools. The concierege and front desk were always able to assist quickly and expertly.

We had breakfast included which was great. The food itself in the buffett was very good and there was a decent variety. The fruits(which is a good way to judge the quality of a buffett) were fresh and terriffic.

There were some families there but the majority were couples. The hotel is so mellow and quiet I think kids could possibly be a little bored there.

The hotel and the island are very very quiet. The hotel bar was virtually empty around 11pm each night. That may or may not bother people. The restaurants we ate at(which were all really good), were also virtually empty around 10:30. That may or may not bother people but is worth noting.

We really enjoyed our stay but people should be aware that the prices of things in Anguilla can be expensive both at thee hotel and at restaurants. For instance a 5 minyute cab ride to restaurants is about 15 bucks each way. Breakfast for 2 in the hotel could run about 60, lunches about 50 as lunch entrees were around 20 each. Frozen drinks were about 15 each. So the costs can really add up, but if it does not bother you it is really a beautiful relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adwetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay at Viceroy Anguilla (and agree that the buffet breakfast is delicious!). We host a wide variety of guests, from weddings and corporate groups to couples and families. While they all enjoy the stunning vistas, children delight in the many fun activities at our Generation V kids' club (beach olympics, steel pan drum lessons, cooking classes, sand art and more). We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have traveled to some very nice resorts and beaches all over the world; this place is second to none. I was hesitant to write a review as I would love for it to stay just as it is - serene, beautiful and not yet commercialized. The resort is exquisite. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It had two bathrooms, a small kitchen, large living room, large bedroom and an amazingly large bathroom. The balcony had a large couch, chairs, lounge chairs and a "plunge pool". The food at the resort (Coba, Sunset Lounge) was fabulous as was the service. I must add that even when we participated in excursions outside the resort (walking, cycling, snorkeling) it felt as if every person on the island took it upon themselves to ensure our stay was wonderful and we always felt "cared" for. We are cyclists but we actually didn't take a ride until our last day as I was a bit nervous going out on the two lane road. I could not believe how nice and polite the drivers were - nothing like we experience in states! We had some wonderful meals on the island (Blanchards, daVita, Geraud's Patisserie - great cafe stop during bike ride). We used Calypso Charters for our boat ride to and from the island and for our snorkeling excursion. And, you can't miss out on the spa - Wayne is a superb masseuse! The fitness center is fabulous and yoga on the pool deck is sublime. Hoping to go back again sometime in the future - it was a soul enriching experience. Thank you to everyone at the Viceroy for making our stay so incredibly enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogarunma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
This is the type of review we love reading - one that raves about the service and amenities that we provice, and which guests seek. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in an amazing 5 bedroom home at the viceroy. The grounds are beautiful. The beach is serene, private, and quiet. We had a private butler who catered to our every need. The restaurants were great. There are many pools, although we only used our private pool. We loved the island as well. Many great bars and restaurants. A few islands with just one bar and live music on them. Amazing. rent a boat and go island bar hopping. Very safe island. No shopping, except the Viceroys private shop which has great jewelry and clothes---le Tarte and kimberly mcdonald, etc. highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are in a home, not hotel room, request Travis as your assistant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naplesgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your 5-Bedroom Beachfront Villa. Everything from your own butler to full gourmet kitchens to stunning private pools created wonderful memories of your stay with us. We hope you'll return soon to enjoy the many amenities we offer guests and discover more hidden gems in Anguilla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.8 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
6.0 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
297 reviews
8.7 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cap Juluca
Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

Property: Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Address: Barnes Bay, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla (Formerly Viceroy Anguilla)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#3 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#3 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#4 Family Hotel in West End Village
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla invites you to make yourself at home in 166 villas and resort accommodations, more than 80% of which overlook the breaking surf and blue horizons of two of Anguilla's 33 spectacular beaches. Relax in the seaside spa. Sample fresh cuisine with those you love, in a place where every sunset is theatrical. Immerse yourself in Anguilla's unique culture and stunning natural beauty as Four Seasons expertise takes the Caribbean to new levels of seaside luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Anguilla Hotel West End
Four Seasons Resort And Residences Anguilla West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing