We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“BEST vacation ever!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Absolutely beautiful resort. Words and pictures will do NO justice. We stayed in a 4 bedroom villa - 8 of us slept comfortably. 3 king beds and 2 queens. So 2 more can easily fit in the room by sharing the 2 queens.

POOL/PATIO: Absolutely breathtaking views. We had our butler bring us steaks, we bought veggies and snacks from the local store - grilled outside and watched the superbowl from the pool! Pretty amazing.

KITCHEN: All the kitchen supplies are All-Clad! Keurig and Nespresso machines - unlimited supply of coffee and tea.

BEDROOM/BATHROOM: The bathrooms are beautiful and HUGE!! You dont want to leave them!! The two master bedrooms have outdoor showers.

I really can't say enough good things about this place. All of us were already planning our return trip before this one was even over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naush76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay so much and can't wait to welcome you back! It seems you had a one-of-a-kind Superbowl viewing party - cooking on the outdoor grill is a great way to fully enjoy your amazing villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    229
    76
    38
    32
See reviews for
301
812
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

First of all, this is a gorgeous property. We stayed in one of the villas which was very well-appointed, had a contemporary/modern flair, and featured a spectacular view. Given all that, I really wanted to love this resort but I just didn't. I guess the key reason was the service, which I found to be inconsistent. When I go to a Four Seasons (by way of comparison) I always seem to get consistently great service. Not so at the Viceroy. Our room attendants were great but the restaurant staff, bell staff, front desk staff, and concierge staff just seemed to be inconsistent. Sometimes we'd get great and friendly service. Sometimes we'd get just "OK" service. As an example ... when I checked out the clerk didn't say anything like "we hope you enjoyed your stay" or "was there anything we could have done to improve your stay" or "please come again." Nothing. Out of a high-end resort like the Viceroy, I expected consistently great service and just didn't receive it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank travelfam201126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take your comments very seriously and share these with our Executive Committee who will address each issue with the various departments. We apologize for your disappointments and thank you for letting us know as your comments will help us as we continually strive to improve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

To begin with, my wife and I love Anguilla. We've rented homes and stayed at small resorts on St. John, Nevis, T&C's, Virgin Gorda, etc. We've been to Anguilla the past two years at Cap Juluca, and for various reasons decided to stay at the Viceroy this year. To be honest, we were a bit nervous. Although we had utilized the Viceroy's terrific spa the last couple years, its sizable property, i.e. the hotel, large pool areas, many restaurants, etc., personify in a way what we're trying to get away from! (Full disclosure: we're in our early 60's, have raised our family, have been on many remarkable family vacations, but now are comfortably retired. We love the Caribbean, but we don't love cruise ship ports, conventions, or crowds.) And then we discovered that the Viceroy had a villa and private residence section...down it's own path (only golf carts and foot traffic allowed) and a beachfront on Barne's Bay (not a private beach; they do not exist on Anguilla and rightfully so) . We stayed in an oceanfront villa and loved the experience from the moment we walked in! The ambience of the villa itself, their design, amenities, private pools, and outstanding vistas are truly remarkable. Each villa comes with an attendant (who was variously labeled by Viceroy personnel as a "butler," or "personal lifestyle assistant"). I found both terms a bit pretentious and would say that the young professional who helped us was our "go to guy!" He was helpful, knowledgeable, and very nice, and able to act as a personal concierge when asked. We love to walk, and the Viceroy grounds and beaches (the other beach is on Meads Bay and the hotel is between that and Barnes Bay) allow you beautiful places to go, including first-rate beach restaurants you can walk to off-property. The villas gave us the best of both worlds in that we had quiet and privacy when we wanted, but also met some wonderful people at the hotel and its restaurants. We found all the Viceroy staff to be friendly and helpful. We felt everyone was making a sincere effort for people to enjoy their stay. The Viceroy is a stellar property. It is also breathtakingly beautiful. It is also not shy with its pricing, but you know that going in. Some might argue you don't get what you pay for, but I would disagree. Each to their own; we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We're thrilled to have a review from a frequent visitor to the Caribbean and Anguilla! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay with us. Our villas truly provide a "bucket list" experience - they make you feel as if you're in your own private resort. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is everything you could expect from a 5 star . Rooms fab , sea views the best . The whole resort has everything you can wish for to a high standard/ Anguilla is a beautiful island not to be missed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajananita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We're very glad you enjoyed the gorgeous island of Anguilla and your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfection best way to describe The Viceroy in wonderful Anguilla! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty! Stunning spacious suite with beautiful appointments and our own plunge pool. Great location and setting. Loved all 3 pools, hot tub and 2 stunning beaches! The food at the hotel, great for breakfast buffet, lunch at pool or beach (conch fritters omg) and Sunset Lounge for the best sushi we have had anywhere! Travelled to different restaurants, each one unique and fabulous, recommended by the concierge. the hotel seemed to anticipate our every need...towels in abundance, ice water constantly replaced and smiles on everyones faces. The fitness center was outstanding, and excellent spin classes! A special thank you to Kameesha who checked us in, Marlene at sunrise pool, Edwin at water sports, Daryl at Meads beach, Glenford valet and Caressa and Zeti at Sunset lounge...all made us feel part of a family. The manager Richard makes himself very available and made us feel very welcome. Cannot wait to come back with our family-we truly cried when we left

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glo360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make all our guests feel at home and are happy that this was your experience. We can't ask for a better description than "perfection"! We hope you and your family will visit us soon for more of the royal treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited this hotel in late June/early July 2012. The property, rooms, location, and scenery are stunning. Additionally, the food both at the hotel and offsite on Anguilla is amazing! Having just returned from another Caribbean beach vacation at another location, my wife and I have found ourselves repeatedly saying, "I wish we had just gone back to the Viceroy."

The one downside to our stay was the service. Some of the staff were amazing, but there seemed to be a lack of consistency and, in a couple of instances, a bad attitude from a few of the staff. A little more focus on customer service and attitudinal consistency would have resulted in an "Excellent" (5 star) review.

We will be back, and I would highly recommend that you visit the Viceroy!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for any lapses in service and can assure you that it's an area of focus for us. We very much look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The facility is absolutely stunning. The pools, beaches, tennis courts, restaurants, etc are all amazing. Having traveled extensively through the Caribbean, I am blown away by the beauty of the hotel and its grounds.

That being said, all of that is more than offset by the staff's attitude. There are definitely some friendly employees, but on balance, the staff is rude and obnoxious. Service is given with resentment and disdain. Waiters, pool attendants, the concierge and even managers cannot disguise the fact that they simply don't care. There are lots of little examples that I won't share because they are too run-of-the-mill to raise eyebrows (e.g. bringing towels), but the one that caused my wife and me to say something is as follows.

We asked concierge for restaurant advice on Thursday at 5pm. Together, we decided that Tasty's was the way to go. The concierge called and left a message with the restaurant and told us she'd let us know if there was a problem. We didn't hear from her and got ready to go. Before getting in a taxi for the $50 roundtrip, we stopped by concierge again to make sure it was a go. A different concierge made a call, got a busy signal and told us she was sure it'd be ok because diners are rarely turned away. So off we went. Midway there, the taxi driver says to us, "Tasty's is great, but why are you going there? It's closed on Thursdays." We told him two concierges said it was a go, to which he responded, "Everyone knows Tasty's is closed on Thursdays!" he ultimately took us to a different restaurant, but fortunately we learned the truth before he simply dropped us off and drove off, leaving us stranded on the road sans phone.

We are convinced that this error occurred because the employees here simply don't care about the guests. We've met a ton of super-friendly Anguillans off the property, so the issue could be how the staff is treated by management. But whatever the cause, it definitely puts a negative feel on our vacation, and for $800 a night, we deserve better.

Anyway, back to the sun. From the looks of Viceroy's Tripadvisor page, management reads and responds to reviews. If that's the case guys, we're here for another 2 days and management knows our room number, so feel free to address this in person rather than penning some form response.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We take all comments very seriously and appreciate the time you took to share your positive experiences as well as your disappointment with your interaction with the staff, specifically the concierge.

There should not have been any miscommunication with regard to whether the restaurant Tasty's was open or closed. The fact that they were closed that Thursday should have been communicated to you. We have addressed this with the concierge and apologize for what could have been a hardship.

Regarding this response, we do want you to know that while you may have posted your comment during your stay, TripAdvisor did not post it for our viewing until after your departure. They do monitor all comments and do not post immediately. I wish we had known while you were still at the resort so I could have apologized in person and tried to reverse your view of staff and your experience. We greatly appreciate your business and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.8 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
6.0 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
299 reviews
8.7 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belmond Cap Juluca
Belmond Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

Property: Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Address: Barnes Bay, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla (Formerly Viceroy Anguilla)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#3 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#3 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#4 Family Hotel in West End Village
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla invites you to make yourself at home in 166 villas and resort accommodations, more than 80% of which overlook the breaking surf and blue horizons of two of Anguilla's 33 spectacular beaches. Relax in the seaside spa. Sample fresh cuisine with those you love, in a place where every sunset is theatrical. Immerse yourself in Anguilla's unique culture and stunning natural beauty as Four Seasons expertise takes the Caribbean to new levels of seaside luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Anguilla Hotel West End
Four Seasons Resort And Residences Anguilla West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing