We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,593 results
Traveler rating
1,207
235
79
39
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,207
235
79
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolhalf shellsunset loungesushibarnes baycoba restaurantaleta poolbedroom residencebike tourkelly wearstlerkids clubsea centerbamboo grillmeads bayrock climbingfamily poolour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,378 - 1,383 of 1,593 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We spent almost a week here in July 2010, right after the place had opened. Everything was gleamingly new, and we didn't see any teething problems.

This is our new favorite place in Anguilla. You should still go to Cap Toluca for lunch/dinner by the beach, and if you want more of a scene. However for a refined, relaxed, top-of-the-line experience, the Viceroy is one of the best places we have stayed. I was reminded of Singita Lebombo in terms of the stylish design and top-notch service.

There was still construction going in a new wing that was occasionally annoying because of the noise. Other than that, this was the perfect experience, as it should be given the price. Also, remember that Anguilla is no Saint Barts. You go for the incredible unspoiled beaches, not to dance the night away. St Barts is two ferry rides away, if that is what you want!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr10012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed one week at the Viceroy to celebrate my birthday with my partner. The hotel is gorgeous with beautiful grounds and a spectacular setting raised on a cliff overlooking the beaches. Our room was stunning. The best way to describe---WOW!!
The staff were so friendly and could not do enough to make sure everything was perfect. Jessica met us in the lobby and along with Catalina ,who sung me happy birthday made the day perfect. They were both so friendly and helpful and it was so nice to begin a vacation with their greeting. Melissa was great with info on all the island hot spots to check out. Sammi always had a smile and exuded the attitude of the island when we went to work out. Lisa at the breakfast buffet made the most brilliant and perfect omelettes. Remy assisted us with whatever we needed at the resort and directed us to some of the most incredible beaches and snorkelling areas.
The beaches and pool were never crowded and at times we felt we had the entire beach to ourselves.The pool overlooking the beach was perfect....amazing way to spend the afternoons drinking cocktails.Loved the rum punch.
I look forward to another trip in the future to this perfect slice of paradise!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Taking a taxi from Dutch side of St Maarten to French side and taking the public ferry over is a great way to see a bit of St Maarten. However for our return, we used Link Ferries which took us from Anguilla over to the Dutch side and provided a short shuttle to the airport for $35 a person. Much cheaper and quicker for getting back to the Dutch side airport. Our return with Link Ferries was suggested and set up by the top cab service in Anguilla, Dennis Mussington. When using a cab service, you must ask and demand Dennis Mussington. And if you would like to roll in a Hummer, his brother Darvin is the man to contact. We also had the pleasure of seeing Darvin sing at Smokey's on the Cove. Darvin even brought his daughter for us to see sing and she could be the next Amercian Idol!

As repeated in many of these posts, you must seek out Catalina at Viceroy. She is the best person to help you set up weekly activities as well as dinner reservations. She really cares about helping guests enjoy their vacation. Bundy at the Infinity Pool was also very kind and helpful with his knowledge of the island upon our arrival.

We did the bike tour our first morning and it was a great way to see the immediate area around Viceroy. Our tour guide Shreev was great in helping take us at our own pace. If you want to see all of the island including Shoal Bay, the Heritage Museum and the Wallblake House then you will want to rent a car or use Darvin or Dennis to take you on a tour.

From yoga with Sammi, tennis, the fitness center or using the Viceroy bikes there are plenty of fun activities. Then you can enjoy one of the three pools or the Barnes Bay Beach or Meads Bay Beach. Not sure what other posts were referring to as far as how these beaches are far away. It really is not that far to walk from one end of the resort to the other so everything is easily accessible. The grounds are breathtaking and all of the staff is very friendly like all of the Anguillans. We saw numerous celebrities while here but the relaxing vibe of the island seems to leave the papparazzi mentality in the states.

Perhaps this is a better time to visit as well if you are looking to avoid the crowds since we never had any problems getting beach chairs or pools spots any time during our week long stay. The entire island including all the top restaurants and other top resorts was anything but crowded. Hope to get back there at some point in the future since the Viceroy is a real gem along with the kind people of Anguilla.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyDaveCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

We're delighted to hear that you had such a nice stay with us! It sounds like you really got to see and enjoy not only our property, but all of Anguilla as well. We will let the staff members you mentioned know that they helped make your stay memorable. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 9 day stay at the Viceroy where we celebrated our honeymoon. The Viceroy is absolutely incredible! The resort is less than two years old and it is just beautiful. The decor is more modern than you find at most Caribbean resorts - lots of marble and a very neutral color scheme. The resort is extremely chic. We had wanted to stay on an island but also to have modern amenities. The Viceroy offers the best of both worlds - beautiful ocean views and beach access as well as luxurious rooms with flat screen tv's. We had reserved an ocean view one bedroom studio and, upon arrival, were upgraded to an ocean view one bedroom suite. The suite was over 1,000 square feet and gorgeous with a huge bathroom, huge balcony with plunge pool, couch and lounge chairs, enormous king size bed with incredibley comfortable bedding and flat screen tv's in the bedroom and living room. In addition, the room had an espresso machine, refrigerator and microwave. It was the nicest hotel room in which I have ever stayed. The refrigerator was stocked with some soda and beer for which there was a charge. I thought this was a little strange - in a room which costs $1000 a night I think the stocked refrigerator should be comped.

The food in Anguilla is phenomenal! We ate at many different restaurants (Da Vida, Blanchard's, Straw Hat, Pimms) but we thought the best food was at the Viceroy. Our other favorite was the Straw Hat - you can walk there from Viceroy down the beach. We ate breakfast most days at Coba - made to order omelettes and every other breakast food you can imagine. We had dinner one night at Coba (amazing ossu bucco) and one night at Aleta (fantastic Anguillan lobster). We ate lunch at the Bamboo Bar many days (cobe burger is a standout) and one day at the Half Shell (fantastic hummus). The Sunset Lounge, located at the adult infinity pool, is a great place for sushi or a pre-dinner cocktail while watching the sunset. We had pre-dinner cocktails every night there before dinner. The resort has a manager's reception on Monday nights which we attended. Drinks are free and appetizers are served. It was very fun and, should you be at the resort on a Monday, is a don't miss. One thing to keep in mind, about Anguilla, is that the restaurants are all very expensive. This is just a fact of life in Anguilla. If it bothers you to eat at pricey restaurants, you would probably not enjoy Anguilla.

The Viceroy has three pools (one is adults only) and two beaches - one located on one side of the resort at Mead's Bay and the other on the other side at Barnes Bay. Our favorite pool was the one located in front of Aleta. This pool has cabanas which were great to relax in (no extra charge for these). The resort has a beautiful gym and offers yoga every day ($20 charge for the yoga). The yoga teacher is fantastic! The resort also has a very nice spa; my husband and I had great massages. The resort never felt crowded.

As far as service - My husband and I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton before and I would not compare it to this type of 5 star service. The service at the Viceroy was fine - employees were friendly for the most part - some more so than others - like at most businesses. Service can be on island time, as other reviews have commented, but it did not bother us at all as we were on vacation and not in a hurry. We found the employees working at the front desk, in the lobby, to be particularly helpful and polite.

This was our first trip to Anguilla and we definitely plan to return. The hotel will arrange excursions for you but, in general, there are not "sights" to see as there would be in Jamaica or Mexico. If you want to visit somewhere truly relaxing and lay in the sun, eat at great restaurants and stay in top of the line resorts - Anguilla is the place for you!

Room Tip: Book through a travel agent.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellew100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

We're so happy you celebrated your honeymoon with us! We're even more thrilled to learn that ours is the nicest hotel room in which you've have ever stayed! We hope to welcome you back soon for a nice relaxing vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Our first trip to Anguilla and we were blown away by the opulence of our 4th floor suite.
Where do I begin? Stepping thru the double doors into the marble entry hall, the view
of the coastline beyond was breath taking! Walking past the first bathroom , a well equipped kitchenette into the living room furnished with natural linen couches,chairs & pillows and plasma TV, we stepped out on to the covered deck to catch our breath. We couldn't believe it when we saw the plunge pool ! The deck also had a couch, chair and table where we enjoyed our morning breakfasts. The rather substantial 2nd bathroom included a walk-in closet with built-ins, a WC, 2 sinks in marbled vanity, a marbled soaking tub for 2 and a marbled shower for a half dozen! Did I mention the 42 inch glass topped table in the center of the bathroom? Came in handy as a catchall, but I can't imagine eating in there! The sling glass doors in the living room and bedroom had floor to ceiling wood shutters that we used the first night with the sliders left open. Wanted to listen to the surf. The only gripe I have is that the music in the restaurant below , poolside is left on and the staff throughout the night kept talking.... had to close the doors.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaigh2532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

We're so glad that you stayed with us on your first trip to Anguilla! We're very proud of our spacious and elegant suites! The Kelly Wearstler-designed rooms provide the perfect backdrop to a luxurious Caribbean holiday. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews