We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I surprised my husband with a return to the Viceroy where we had an unbelievable time last winter. It was his 60th birthday and I knew he would love to go back. We were supposedly VIP'd and upgraded to a King ocean view room. Last year the hotel was under construcition, so there was a great effort to make sure everyone was accommodated in the absolute best rooms available. Last year we started in the King studio with rooftop garden, which was spectacular. We ended up in a villa (beyond over the top) because our broken air conditioning could not be repaired.

This year we were told that we were VIP'd and upgraded and the hotel was made fully aware that this was a repeat visit and my husband's 60th. To my disappointment our room was small, closet was a freestanding unit in the hallway, view obstructed by the plunge pool and the airconditioning was insufficient. Also, we like breakfast for room service and they could not serve it, lining up dishes along our plunge pool because there was no sitting area in the room or on the deck. After an 3 hour time in our room on the entire afternoon of the 2nd day of 5, we were told that the air conditioning was fine, could not ever go below 70 degrees. The solution was that they would send us another fan. The next day a large fan was brought to our room and we just gave up. It would have taken up abundant space. We have a spacious bedroom at home, and this was plain ole cramped.

The managers were pleasant and tried to be accommodating, but bottom line, it was too warm for us to sleep well.

The facility remains gorgeous. We luxuriate in the artifacts and views from around the resort. It did lose some of the intimacy and and island feel by the completion of buildings housing rooms and spa building, Last year they had a separate "beach club" located in a magnificent part of the beach, but a quick ride from the hotel. (walkable too) Now they have opened up a small beach squeezed into an area near the hotel, and no longer offer that "island" veg beach experience. They have great food and restaurants a short walk from the beach, but chaises and umbrellas, as well as assistants is not par with last year and other hotels on the island. We took a ride to Cap Juluca this year and their beach set up remains unbeatable. Viceroy needs to address this. They have the potential, just not giving it the attention it needs.

Would we go back? We adore Anguilla. We raved about Viceroy last year. I would never stay in the small room again. I think it would pay to spend the extra few hundred a night to have a larger accommodation. I was not advised that this might be the case. The level of probelm solving by management and satisfying that our stay was as special as I hoped was not met this year. I did not expect a villa but I also did not expect mediocre at this potentially exceptional facility.

We loved the Yoga with Sammi poolside, health club, sunset bar, Academy Award Party Bar side, and we loved the people we met this year. Much livelier!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experiences of most recent stay with us. Our goal is to always provide an exceptional visit for all our guests. Please contact me directly at brent.hall@viceroyanguilla.com to further discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

Beautiful rooms, wonderful people, gorgeous surroundings. Does not get better than this place. HIGHLY recommend the Spa at Viceroy. Get ready for an out of this world Deep Tissue Massage with Big Joe. You will feel perfectly mushy after his massage and just right for a dip in any of the three beautiful pools or gorgeous beaches. Service is spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCS0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

We completely agree that our spa is out of this world! We're thrilled that you had such a great stay. and hope that you come back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I have made a reseration to stay at the Viceroy for a week this summer, and although everyone has nothing but positive things to say about this resort, my experiences so far have not been good. I called the reservation line and waited 17 minutes for someone to pick up and eventually just hung up; i called the hotel and was told the hotel is closed (in fairness I called at night but it would have been nice to have some type of effort; and I called the concierge and was told someone would call me back and this hasn't happened yet (this was three weeks ago). Staring to consider canceling my trip and just staying at St. Barts like we do each year :(

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pebbles12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

We apologize for your experiences thus far. Please contact me directly at brent.hall@viceroyanguilla.com and I can assist you with any pre-arrival needs that you have. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We visited for a few hours, so I cannot comment on the quality of hotel rooms or ongoing service/amenities in any way. We were simply curious to see what all the buzz was about.

Overly/highly designed, spectacular structure which totally dominates its setting. Frankly, while stark and beautiful in some ways, it just didn't fit. It gave us the creeps - - - so big and scary and dark. It looked like it would be impossible to find your room at night. We noticed many edgy guests posing at the bar or by the pool in trendy clothing. Hey- if that's your scene, go for it! It is not mine, so I would never ever stay in this hotel on this particular island.

The pools looked very nice, and the workout facilities were state-of-the-art. The guys working in the fitness area are real gems - very accommodating, helpful, and knowledgeable.

The extensive/expensive breakfast buffet was fabulous. Friends of ours ate dinner there, and liked the food in the main dining room.

Every single staff person we met was approachable, friendly, and gracious. Lovely people. But that is Anguilla.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExpertTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to visit the resort. Hopefully, we will have an opportunity to host you again as an overnight guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Highly recommended for visitors willing to open their wallets in return for a first-rate experience. Set on the windward side of Anguilla, the Viceroy offers two beaches -- one private, one a beautiful long arc of sand -- and spectacular views. The sound of the sea is always present. The food is superb -- particularly the crayfish. The resort offers no venue for ordinary careless .food. The rooms are vast, with terraces & private marble hot tubs. The people of Anguilla are caring and kind, so every interaction with the huge and capable staff is a pleasure in itself. What's wrong? Well, the architecture, while striking, is too formal for my taste, at least in a Caribbean setting. And it's pricey. But overall a very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mancuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

We're so glad that you had a first-rate experience at Viceroy Anguilla! We agree that nothing sets the tone for an unforgettable Caribbean vacation like the soothing sounds of the seas. We are also thrilled that you were able to experience the famed Anguillan hospitality! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at the Viceroy in February. The room was unbelievably beautiful. The attention to detail was incredible. From the glass table in the center of the main bathroom to the 5ft driftwood lamps in the living room no expense is spared.
The staff is lovely and someone is always willing to help. The food is excellent and while the service is a bit slow we were on vacation and didn't mind the pace.
Quite the place for a romantic getaway - if you are looking to impress you found it here.
The spa is delightful - a must here!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfamilyadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

We're so happy you had a lovely time during your February stay. We agree that there's no better way to spend a vacation than by relaxing and enjoying our legendary spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This Hotel is extremely clean. the premises are well designed/decorated. The bar is spectacular with wonderful views. the pools are nice. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. This room was very nice. It had a small kitchenette with flatware, stemware, stainless steel microwave and frige. our room was on the second floor, so the view was gorgeous...all water..all day. The plunge pool is really a jacuzzi. I wish that the staff cleaned it daily...but they didn't...thats why I gave Cleanliness (4 instead of 5 starts)

We didn't eat there much. The food is typical american fare. Instead we decided to venture out and found a place called Roti Hut. The food is there is good local carribean food (curried meats, stewed meats...vegies and nice rum punches.

This hotel is great for R&R and I loved it. You wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpicureMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

We're so glad that you loved your R&R trip at our property! We're happy that you were able to enjoy some of the great food found in Anguilla and hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.8 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Reef by CuisinArt
The Reef by CuisinArt
#12 of 31 in Anguilla
35 reviews
6.0 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#4 of 13 in West End Village
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

Address: Barnes Bay, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla (Formerly Viceroy Anguilla)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#2 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#4 Family Hotel in West End Village
Price Range: $542 - $1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla invites you to make yourself at home in 166 villas and resort accommodations, more than 80% of which overlook the breaking surf and blue horizons of two of Anguilla's 33 spectacular beaches. Relax in the seaside spa. Sample fresh cuisine with those you love, in a place where every sunset is theatrical. Immerse yourself in Anguilla's unique culture and stunning natural beauty as Four Seasons expertise takes the Caribbean to new levels of seaside luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Anguilla Hotel West End
Four Seasons Resort And Residences Anguilla West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing