We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure to dine at Picante” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picante

Picante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to dine at Picante”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Picante is one of our favorite restaurants in Anguilla. it is a fun place to visit - attractive, colorful interior with a nice vibe. If you haven't been, you'll love it!

We took our two grandchildren with us so their parents could have a date night out at Jacala Restaurant. Our waitress was fantastic - always smiling and very knowledgable about food items and recommendations.

We started off with a Mango Margarita, beer, and complementary chips and salsa (spicy). Drinks are reasonable.

Our waitress suggested that my wife and I split a Steak Burrito with rice, guacamole, tomato, sour cream and refried beans. This was awesome and very filling. Our grandchildren enjoyed chicken/cheese tacos and fell asleep after their meals - so cute!

The place was packed - a good sign when it's off season. Check out their website.

Definitely a "go to place" when visiting Anguilla.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KenBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    160
    57
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Were going with a large group and called earlier in the day for a reservation. They were able to accommodate us but not until 8pm. When we got there a little before 8, the place was dead. We were seated at two separate long tables, which was fine. The other table had great service - multiple refills on their drinks and even had the opportunity to order dessert. The server for our table disappeared after taking our food orders. Everyone was pleased with the food and drinks, but we were not so happy that we were not able to even get refills on our water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaGrl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
202 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Picante. We had a 7pm reservation on a Friday night and the place was not very busy. By the time we left, it was full and there were a few people without reservations that were waiting tables. We enjoyed the chips and salsa, the salsa had a different consistency, than the salsa we have back home, so I wasn't sure if I would like it, but it was very flavorful. We even ordered a 2nd basket (only the first basket is complimentary). I am not a margarita fan, so I did not try any, but heard from others that they are really good. I did have the planter's punch, which was very good, and a little strong, which I like. We ordered the steak fajitas and steak Picante tacos to share. The Picante taco is their house specialty, it is a hard taco wrapped in a soft taco, with guacamole, sour cream and beans between the two taco shells. It was very good. All of the food was really fresh and had a great flavor. The service was very prompt. This was one of the more laid-back meals we had on the island and also one of the cheaper meals. If we had one more night, we would have gone here again. My only complaint, is that they are not open for lunch!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
314 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Mexican, year after year...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the 3rd year that we've gone to Picante and we will be back. The food is always very good as is the atmosphere. I had a serrano chili margarita last night that was fantastic... if you like hot, you must try this. I also had the spicy tuna tacos and they were also great. Nice contrast between the hot and spicy tuna and the cole slaw! We also had a steak enchilada which I didn't try, but I heard it was fantastic and the steak very tender. Picante is a "most go to" when you're on the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teena1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was recommended by many people and the reviews seemed good on trip advisor. We live in Houston, Texas so I may be bias but we have some of the best mexican food. So this place was just okay for me. We had the seafood enchiladas. They were good! The beans and rice were not that great. I had the premium rita and that was good. If you are looking for a change of pace (fish) then this is good to mix it up. I would go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante also viewed

West End Village, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 

Been to Picante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing