We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle's Nest Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vacation in Paradise”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We just returned home from a stay at Turtle's Nest and it could not have been better! We stayed in 3BE and had wonderful beach and ocean views. The rooms are clean and modern looking with a nice balcony and table with 2 chairs, which are great for relaxing and reading! The location is superb and Mead's Bay was one of the nicest beaches we visited; it's very clean and the sand and ocean are like nothing I've ever seen before. Our friends stayed next door at the Frangipani and were jealous of the amenities we had that they did not! All in all, our stay was superb, the prices were great and we can't wait to return! We will definately be staying at "The Nest" again!

Room Tip: No restaurant on site, but the Straw Hat at the Frangipani and Blanchards Beach Shack down the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachlover41010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    24
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at "The Nest" in December 2011 in order to plan our wedding on Anguilla this coming May. The rooms are clean and spacious. Betania, the reservations manger is great and has made planning our stay so easy. Almost all of our guests have chosen to stay here and we are sure that they will not be disappointed. The prices are very reasonable, the staff could not be friendlier and Meads Bay is absolutely beautiful. This is not our first trip to Anguilla and "The Nest" and it will certainly not be our last. We are counting down the days until our return.

Room Tip: First floor ocean view is great. But no worries on higher floors either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNatale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed for a week with our 3 children (all under 12 yrs) and had an excellent stay.

We were in apt AE1 which is a 2 bedroom facing the pool. We very much liked it. No steps to climb, still has a beach view, and the kids could run out and enjoy the pool. Housekeeping was good (not on Sundays) and everything was in proper working order - we had no issues. All staff is very friendly, accommodating, and service oriented in a relaxed unfussy way. All my request were met without issue (late check-out, extra bed, use of printer, etc.) Furnishing is not designer - think rattan and flowery fabrics - but pleasant enough. Shower capacity is somewhat limited (think 15-20 minutes of hot water) - but with 2 showers it was never an issue for us. My only gripe is that the curtains in the bedrooms are very think and don't keep out the sun in the morning - something quite easily fixed.

There's no restaurant but Straw Hat next door and Blanchard's down the beach are both superb for both lunch and dinner and very kid friendly. There have been some comments on the quality of the beach - in all it depends on the weather. On very windy days there was significant surf which made it difficult to swim and snorkel. On wind-free days (we had both) the water is calm, great for swimming/snorkeling and the beach compares well with the best in the world (I've been to many great ones, including the the Maldives so have good material to compare). When conditions are not good they will be mostly similar on all Northern beaches (including beautiful Shoals) - it is still a nice beach but for swimming head to the bays on the other side of the Island. There's excellent snorkeling at the far ends of the beach (schools of barracuda to the right) - coral and schools of fish near Viceroy.

For us as a family the TN was great - and exceeded expectations at good value (as did Anguilla).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

This is our third stay at Turtles Nest and were very happy. I did notice a few added touches to the place that were not there last year. The staff is friendly as ever, Jackie is a great addition and not sure her being there is responsible for the changes I saw. She is a breath of fresh air. Our unit as usual clean, quiet, A/C units in living area and bedroom are a plus. Being within walking distance to Blanchards Beach Shack was also a plus, as well as other restaurants. It is our hidden gem and has not disappointed us. We will return there next year.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank tzakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Turtle's Nest went above and beyond our expectations!The property was neat and clean and kept up and the room that we had was spacious (1br) and light with a terrace overlooking the pool and the beach and ocean.The staff were incredibly helpful and the cleaning staff did an amazing job every day while we were out in bringing our unit back to ship shape...we were so thankful for everyone's effort! We loved the fact that we had laundry facilities right there - so less to pack for our trip. The views from each unit are breathtaking and the location on the beach was centrally located. There is also a top floor overlook patio that all tenants can use and the views from the roof top were even more spectacular. We were close to many amenities,but had a little private haven overlooking the ocean and the beach! We stayed at Turtle's Nest for almost one week and agreed that we would come back again our next trip to Anguilla.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penelope1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I really wanted to love this place, and there is lots to like, but not without a few problems, which at the time were a rather large pain the rear. I should probably start off by saying that I understand this is a VERY expensive island. And here on this pricing twilight zone, $340/night is considered bargain basement, such that you'll get far nicer hotel accommodations on other islands for much less.

If you don't want to spend $600+/night, TN is one of just a few options: I looked into Carimar but honestly from the photos, TN looked much nicer in terms of decor for less $ (Carimar doesn't even have in-room TVs). And Arawak while quaint looking outside and on a great beach, has some bad reviews talking about the bugs inside the units. I didnt see inside.

The positives for TN are:

convenient/walkable to straw hat
close to better beaches (rendevous bay, shoal bay west)
close to a grocery store
clean
attractive property outside and nice decor inside
spacious and with everything you could possibly need to cook in if you choose to
friendly staff
small property, and at least when we were there, very uncrowded (aka almost empty). I'm not a fan of huge sprawling resorts with a zillion people.


The negatives:
--beach is not swimmable - every day we saw high waves, sometimes shoulder high or more, and there's almost always wind. Also the sand on this beach is really slurry so you sink down in it, making it difficult to walk vs harder more packed sand on other beaches. But it's very pretty to look at. If you're the type of high maintenaince woman who never gets wet, you'll love it. If you're like me and live to get in the water, it's a short drive to far better waters.

--staff not too knowledgeable about tourist activities. I asked a few questions and got 'I'm not sure' as an answer, like does xyz beach offer snorkel equipment. Instead of saying 'let us help you with any activities' they'd be better off just sticking to making dinner reservations.

-- lack of generator. The island lost power yet other properties managed to keep theirs bc of backup generators, but apparently TN doesn't have this for the whole property. So one power outage meant several hours without power. Even our cab driver seemed shocked by this.

--tiny hot water heater in studios: The hot water heater in the studio units is shockingly small. picture a tea kettle and you wont be far off. It's so small that 2 people cannot take showers back to back, even with quick showers, without losing all the hot water. IMO if a room meant for 2 persons cannot provide a basic necessity to both people, it shouldn't be operational. Another guest said he had the same problem, but he didn't complain. Amazing - again, twilight zone.

I should have been immediately offered a free upgrade, given that the 1 bedrooms were the only units that could provide hot showers because of their larger hot water heaters. Yet I had to ask for a free upgrade, even though they were maybe 20% full. I shouldn't have to pay extra to get hot showers. Not good. It's not like I was complaining about the decor or size of the room. I was asking for something that I should expect to have unless I am camping outdoors!

--washing machine overflow. I tried to wash clothes just once and about half way through the cycle noticed water half covering the living room floor. we had to race out to the pool area to grab several towels to put down. We asked a TN owner if he ever had this problem and he said 'all the time'. If I bought a vaca property that constantly leaked I would find that unacceptable, but to each his own. Further evidence that this place is the Twilight Zone. ;)

Check-in is basically you get handed the key and a few pages of info in an envelope, then the bellman brings up your bags. I actually hate long drawn out check-ins and don't need a super warm welcome, but some might find this a bit abrupt.

Ultimately I think this property would do a lot better to just let guests know they are basically renting a condo and are pretty much on their own. Office staff leaves at 5 daily and isn't there at all on sundays. And if the water/electricity situations hadn't happened, I would have been fine being on my own. As one cab driver told us, 'They operate on a shoe-string over there'. It's just sad that on this island, shoe-string costs so darn much.

Room Tip: If you enjoy hot showers stay in a one-bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank trav226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was my wife and I second trip to Anguilla. We stayed 5 nights in June at Turtle's Nest and loved it. We had a studio which was perfect for 2 people. Great location on a beautiful beach and also near many great restaurants. The staff was very friendly(including Rolex!) and helpful. We will be back!

If you want to relax with the locals go to B/D BBQ which is about a mile down the road. About $20 for 2 people and you are stuffed. In the mornings check out Geraud’s bakery(2-3 min drive) for great pastries. We also really loved Sandbar at Sandy Ground, get there and watch the sun set!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NCWrestler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.3 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in West End Village
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle's Nest Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle's Nest Beach Resort

Property: Turtle's Nest Beach Resort
Address: Meads Bay | Anguilla, BWI, West End Village, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West End Village
#5 Family Hotel in West End Village
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#7 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#7 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Front Condos situated in the center of Meads Bay Beach. Turtle's Nest Beach Resort has 4 exciting condo accommodations to choose from, Studio, 1, 2 & 3 Bedrooms. All condos are air conditioned, completely furnished with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living areas. Private Terraces overlooking Meads Bay Beach. Daily Maid and Linen Service.Enjoy the cool comfort of a swim in our calm sea water or jump into our ocean front swimming pools.Within walking distances are many of Anguilla's finest gourmet restaurants.Turtle's Nest Beach Resort can accommodate group functions and has catered to many destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Turtle's Nest Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle`s Nest Beach Hotel West End
Turtles Nest Beach Hotel
Turtle's Nest Beach Resort Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing