We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangos is Magnificent”

Mango's Seaside Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Mangos is Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We dined twice at Mangos this trip and it will always be on our "must do" list, the service, food and setting can't be beat.
I just love that setting with the lights on the water, I had two new dishes (new to me) blackbean soup, thick and flavorful, and the Calamari salad which is a Greek type of salad with calamari, black olives and feta cheese over a bed of greens, DH had mixed green salad, and the Brazero lobster, it was blackened and spicy, out of the shell -a big tail, he said it was really good.
I usually have the conch chowder and Caesar salad, but wanted to try something new, and I have done that several times this trip - and have really enjoyed trying new foods.
We switch it up each time, but Mangos is one place we never miss, it is too good in every way.
Highly recommend.
http://www.mangosseasidegrill.com/index.html

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EIIen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    98
    47
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, inhospitable attitudes, high-end prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We went to this restaurant charmed by its location on Barnes Bay, and by a promise of "fresh, local seafood". When we arrived, we saw that the tables were set in two lines so that large parties were all along the edge to enjoy the view of the beach and the sea, and smaller parties, like couples, were on the other side to enjoy the view of those larger tables with noisy groups and their kids.

When we asked a surly looking female manager/owner(?) for a small table near the entrance that was by the edge and seemed available, we were told that it was reserved, to which we said that we also reserved a week ago (you could just walk-in there). She answered that the table was for a special honeymoon occasion.

We had to accept a table inside facing 3 large groups and their bored kids. When one of the larger tables became available, waiters set it for two people, so we asked if we could move there, another surly manager/owner, this time male, came straight to that table and ordered the waiters to set it for 4 instead. The table remained free till we left, after 10pm, same with the “honeymooners” table, who never showed up, or never existed.

For a starter, we had lobster cakes, that were unremarkable, then the fish of the day, at 40$ a plate, forgot the name. It was served grilled with some spicy sauce, steamed rice and broccoli (not very imaginative). The fish was a smallish firm flesh piece that tasted rancid. If not for the sauce, which was quiet tasty, that would be not very edible.

All together, a very unpleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank dougwOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up and down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Mangos is great until it isn't. I've had good and bad experiences here over the years. The setting is divine. The service/food don't always measure up. And sometimes there is a bit of an attitude from the staff. And they still use those white wedding rental chairs which can be uncomfortable long before the first cocktail arrives at the table.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Plm252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Sort of OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

There are a lot of restaurants in Anguilla and while few are poor, the main purpose of many seems to be to get holidaying Americans to part with their dollars. And so to Mango's, which occupies a beautiful beach- side location and serves OK food. I had an OK Gazpacho followed by some OK BBQ chicken in an OK sauce. My wife's food was OK too. That and a couple of drinks came to $200 which seems a 4* price for a mainly 3* meal. I guess everyone has to make a living and the season's short in Anguilla.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Beautiful setting, wonderful service. Salads were great. Sandwiches a little small for their price, but very good. Tranquil, serene place for lunch with great views.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango's Seaside Grill also viewed

West End Village, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 
West End Village, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 

Been to Mango's Seaside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing