We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again...Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Straw Hat Restaurant

Straw Hat Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Straw Hat Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven-days-a-week, at our beautiful beachfront location on Meads Bay Anguilla. Straw Hat is open annually from November through August and is closed in September and October. Beach chairs are available on a limited, first-come, first-served basis for our breakfast and lunch guests. Reservations are strongly suggested for dinner and are helpful in securing our very best, beachfront tables. Straw Hat is also a very popular destination for special events including weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday celebrations and corporate functions. Please contact us for more information. We look forward to seeing you soon in Anguilla! Sunny regards!
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again...Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

My husband and I have been to Anguilla several times and have always visited the Straw Hat restaurant for dinner. The food is always exceptional and the service is wonderful. This visit we ended up sitting at the bar for dinner instead of a table because Cary (bartender) and Ann (owner) were such a delight to talk with. Later, Peter (owner) came over and chatted with us as well. Great ambiance, extremely nice people, and outstanding food! We even went back on Sunday night to watch our New England Patriots play on their wide screen TV. Cary makes a great cucumber martini and their Tuna flatbread is amazing! Setting is picturesque. This is a must try on the Island...you'll end up going back again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 42Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    342
    111
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“too bad but it's still good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

we could not get a better table this time when we went for dinner as I emailed doris a bit too late, by time we got there, all tables close to the beach were all taken but the food and service were still excellent, we dined there with two friends from Toronto, they loved it there and the setting is just perfect. We are going to straw hat again on 25 but this time is lunch, never ate lunch there, looked at the menu and it looks decent and sounds good.....stay tune!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best view in Anguilla”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have dined here for dinner before (at its old location) but this was our first time for lunch and at this location. Before it was Straw Hat, it was the Terrasse restaurant at Frangipani where we stayed years ago and where we ate breakfast each morning. You cant beat the view or get any closer to the water. It is literally on the beach.

Our food and drinks were very good, nothing remarkable though (but that may have just been what we got this time). I actually had to send my first sandwich back - the Cubano. It looked good but 75% of the meat was fat. I am not one to send things back, but I couldn't eat this. They were fine about switching my order but the chef did send the waitress out with a message for me - to inform me that I had ordered pork belly and pork belly is almost all fat. The description said nothing about that, just that it was shredded braised pork. The waitress then said that the chef must have been confused with the dinner menu because there is a pork belly dish on that.

This wasn't my favorite lunch of the week but I would definitely go back.

And kudos to the hardworking boy who provided us with a menu and flag on a pole to signal him if we wanted anything delivered to our beach doors at the resort next door.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Straw Hat is our favorite restaurant on Anguilla. We stayed at Frangipani so it is super convenient, but also it is super good. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and all are good. Dinner is great with so many seafood choices. Nick is a great chef. Servers are so friendly - Armel, Renee, Rosie, Shane, Jahari and others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
192 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Really Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We've eaten here before but of our 6 dinners, have to rank this very near the top. Both food and service were perfect.

We loved it and went back for lunch; it was a repeat success

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Getitright212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straw Hat Restaurant also viewed

West End Village, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 
West End Village, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 

Been to Straw Hat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing