We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Uneven Service”

Straw Hat Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Straw Hat Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven-days-a-week, at our beautiful beachfront location on Meads Bay Anguilla. Straw Hat is open annually from November through August and is closed in September and October. Beach chairs are available on a limited, first-come, first-served basis for our breakfast and lunch guests. Reservations are strongly suggested for dinner and are helpful in securing our very best, beachfront tables. Straw Hat is also a very popular destination for special events including weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday celebrations and corporate functions. Please contact us for more information. We look forward to seeing you soon in Anguilla! Sunny regards!
KUTZTOWN
Level Contributor
147 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very Uneven Service”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Out of all the restaurants we enjoyed this week this was our least favorite. The place is always packed because of the sensational view. Food was good not great. I had the goat curry which tasted and was as tender as lamb. Friends had pork belly, steak and tuna. However, we waited 15 minutes for coffee after our dessert came. We never did get it. Restaurant was so busy it difficult to flag down a server. My hubby had the lobster egg roll for appetizer. Go for lunch!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rsakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    364
    117
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant of the trip!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved the environment and food at Straw Hat. The staff was very friendly and the food was outstanding. I got the prawn curry dish (amazing) and my mother got the mahi mahi (she loved it). We also had the pleasure of listening to the tunes of Spraka live on the back porch which overlooks the ocean! The setting couldn't have been more beautiful :). We love Straw Hat and would highly recommend to all that visit the beautiful Anguilla!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and Day on Meads Bay”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic lunch, great drinks (some of the best on the island thanks to Shellyann and Kerry) and the complimentary use of beach chairs made it a perfect day. This restaurant is great for lunch and dinner. Also fantastic sunset views.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SOFLATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
248 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Great food and service on Meads Bay”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Straw Hat during our recent trip to Anguilla. This was our third visit to Straw Hat (the first time was at their old location in Forest Bay), and we've enjoyed it each time.

Straw Hat is located at the Frangipani Resort on Meads Bay, so it's a great setting for dinner and watching the sun set (though we were too late for that). For starters, we shared the Straw Hat spring rolls, which were very good. For dinner, my wife had the sugar cane shrimp on avocado mash (appetizer portion), which she really liked. I decided to try something local and had the curried goat with dumplings, which was good, but not a good choice for me. The goat curry was similar to Indian lamb curry, but with a more intense, gamey flavor -- it was a huge portion and very rich, so I don't know how anyone could have finished it. I'm not a big fan of lamb, so I didn't eat much of it -- I guess it should have occurred to me that goat might taste like lamb. My wife, who does like lamb, tasted the goat curry and thought it was very good. It would be nice if they offered the goat curry as an appetizer, so you could try it without committing to it for your dinner.

Although this wasn't my favorite meal at Straw Hat, it's still a great place for dinner, and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The food is excellent and the staff is wonderful!! We had several meals here, but we also had food delivered to us (room service) as we stayed at the Frangipani. Everything was wonderful, always.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mapetrozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straw Hat Restaurant also viewed

West End Village, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 
West End Village, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 

Been to Straw Hat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing