We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Straw Hat Restaurant

Straw Hat Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Straw Hat Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven-days-a-week, at our beautiful beachfront location on Meads Bay Anguilla. Straw Hat is open annually from November through August and is closed in September and October. Beach chairs are available on a limited, first-come, first-served basis for our breakfast and lunch guests. Reservations are strongly suggested for dinner and are helpful in securing our very best, beachfront tables. Straw Hat is also a very popular destination for special events including weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthday celebrations and corporate functions. Please contact us for more information. We look forward to seeing you soon in Anguilla! Sunny regards!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Straw Hat is in a beautiful spot, serves good food, and had excellent service. We will definitely return

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    342
    111
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Overated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went here for lunch based on the great recommendations on TA. We were completely disappointed. The setting was quite nice, overlooking the water.. The food was very basic in terms of offerings and flavor. The waitstaff was moderately pleasant at best - not engaging whatsoever. I am sorry, but I cannot recommend this restaurant at all. We ventured down the beach following our lunch and stopped in at Blanchards. We shared a few appetizers - although we weren't terribly hungry - the menu looked interesting and the atmosphere was fabulous. Now this was a wonderful find !!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, Funky ambience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My title says it all. It's right on the beach and has a vast menu so that there is something for everybody. Just go!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HyHersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice dinner under the stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Straw Hat is a very nice restaurant at the Frangipani Beach Resort. Make a reservation for dinner and ask to sit outside. The wide open patio and views of the Meads Bay beach provide a beautiful setting for dinner and a nice night out. The food was good; the ambience even better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherwoodnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“It's OK......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

It's OK, and that's about it really. Lovely location if you can get a beachside table but a bit lacking in atmosphere inside. The bar area just isn't inviting at all. Staff are quite helpful but the overall service level is a bit sporadic.
The food is OK, but vastly overpriced. There are plenty of places with better service and food at these prices.
We enjoyed it but it's nothing special, although it's handy if you're in meads Bay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straw Hat Restaurant also viewed

West End Village, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 
West End Village, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 
West End Village, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 

Been to Straw Hat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing