We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible service, treated like dirt by management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Inn + Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Happy Valley-Goose Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Inn + Suites
St. Johns, Nl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“horrible service, treated like dirt by management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I have been all over Canada and USA and I must say that this place was my worst experience of all. I first called and tried to book a nice room for myself and my fiancé and was treated like a piece of dirt, and hung up on. Monica was the manager, she was who I spoke with. Stay away from this place!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank KMack-1782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
13
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Room was clean, bed large and comfortable, modern TV, fridge , microwave, desk, several chairs, Wonderful room. Two minor flaws, one the drain in shower was not secured, quite easily fixed. The other was there were 2 windows (which was great) but at night the drapes at back pulled to darken the room but in front the window only had venetian blinds and did not impede the bright light outside the door. The light was wonderful, and felt secure but it would have been a perfect room had the drapes closed. The shower was absolutely amazing. The last down fall was the continental breakfast. Cream for coffee and something besides toast and oatmeal, would be appreciated. Danish, muffins, croissants would be nice. This hotel could be an almost perfect place with a few minor Updates

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jensam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I’ve stayed at a number of the local hotels in Happy Valley-Goose Bay all of which are reasonable options with The Royal Inn and Suites being one of them. For anyone who has traveled or is planning on traveling to this area it is worth noting that Happy Valley-Goose Bay is a community that is spread out over a great deal of space. If renting a vehicle you’ll be fine but if you’re using local cabs you can rack up a good deal of fares pretty quickly getting around. The Royal Inn and Suites is located sort of centrally therefore making fares from this point to some of the larger institutes and businesses pretty reasonable.

My stay was in the ‘Inn’ portion where I had a small, albeit modern and clean room complete with standard hotel room features and included a complimentary continental breakfast. I had my own entrance, which I believe is true for all the rooms at this hotel and parking directly outside the door as I was on ground level. The room was quiet which was nice but a little dark – it had one window but the balcony above to provide access to the second floor rooms limited the light.

Overall perhaps the best option in Happy Valley-Goose Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SNAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a great place to stay. It is close to the downtown/business area of HVGB as well as several restaurants and fast food places. There are more restaurants at the other end of town, closer to the airport (8 minute drive). I enjoy staying at the Suites as the rooms are larger than those found in the other hotels in the area. I try to book an Executive suite as these have separate bedroom and living spaces. The kitchen is fairly well equipped. The staff is always helpful and friendly and willing to do whatever is needed to make your stay excellent. The continental breakfast offers toast/bagel, instant and cold cereals, coffee/tea, and several favors of yogurt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have spent many, many nights in HV-GB in my working career and stayed through every season.
I have also travelled extensively throughout NL.
The Staff are curteous, fun, and helpful.
I have also stayed in every other Hotel in the area.
However the Suites at the Royal surpass every other facility. Clean, roomy, comfortable, and cosy.
My comment regarding location is only directed to the walking distance to the popular bars and eateries especially if you want a beer or two and avoid the wait for a taxi.
However the liquor store is a 2 minute walk!

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a Suite!!! The best in Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Township, OH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We requested a king bed on the first floor. It was comfortable, with parking at our door. The day we were there was laundry day for us, and were pleased to find the laundry conveniently located on the first floor just down from our room, also with an outside entrance. The grounds are pretty and the motel attractive. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you have mobility issues, request first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here two nights because of flight delays and had two different rooms. Each room was clean and well appointed, chairs to sit in to read, and a kitchenette in one of the rooms. The hotel has a great breakfast which is included in the room rate. The location is off the main room so very quiet. We had to leave early the last morning at 6 am and staff allowed us to get our breakfast the night before and take it to our room so that we could eat the next morning -- very much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Inn + Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn + Suites

Property: Royal Inn + Suites
Address: 3 Royal Street | P.O. Box 69 - Stn. B, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0P 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > Happy Valley-Goose Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Happy Valley-Goose Bay
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn + Suites is located in the centre of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL. Nestled on beautifully-landscaped lot, this property offers a wide range of options including luxurious suites and well-appointed guest rooms. All rooms include a fresh complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi internet. The hotel is under new ownership as of December 19, 2016 and will be adding a new fitness centre in the near future. Meeting space is also available. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Inn + Suites Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada - Labrador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing