We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very shabby & unacceptable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosemead Guest House
Ranked #5 of 5 Esher B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very shabby & unacceptable accommodation”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The decor of my room (number five) was shabby with poor paintwork and a very badly stained carpet . The bathroom was perhaps even worse, with the surface of the bath very rough, from age I guess, and the chrome shower fittings were terribly tarnished and unsightly. Wallpaper was peeling, paintwork in need of attention and the window frames in a poor state.

I do not think that this room and bathroom should be offered in their present state. The relevant gallery picture on the web site wasn't matched by reality, which proved to be most disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
16
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I needed to stay for three nights working night shifts, room number 5 was clean, tidy and quiet. Exactly what I needed.
Charles, Kasia and the rest of the staff were friendly and helpful- not overbearing.
Missed out on breakfast as I was sleeping late but was offered an alternative which was a helpful offer. If I need to stay in Esher again I wouldn't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed several times at Rosemead as a couple and as a family with grandchildren. We always go back because Charles makes us feel so much at home. He cooks wonderful English breakfasts which you consume in the dining room/lounge overlooking the beautiful leafy gardens, great for children to play in. In the evening you can cook for yourselves in the kitchen. The bedrooms which are not very large are fine for the price with great ensuite shower rooms and you get a good nights sleep. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed at Rosemead for 1 night only. The reception I received was warm and friendly. The house is nicely decorated but a bit tired in certain areas. The beige carpet (not a good colour for heavy traffic) was probably very nice when fitted but now past its best. In the bedroom stains are evident.

The bedroom was a good size. The double bed was 2 singles bolted together and consequently had an annoying seam down the middle but it did have a duvet as opposed to sheet and blankets which was good. I feel the mattress is past it's best.

The en-suite bathroom was compact but clean. The shower enclosure was good in that it was a complete unit so no unsightly mouldy sealer. The shower itself was poor !! slightly more than a dribble and most disappointing.

Breakfast was adequate in the pleasant dining room with plenty of choice.

Had I paid full price for my stay I would have been bitterly disappointed but as the room was on offer and discounted it slightly made up for the shortcomings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of wight
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed overnight and found Charles very welcoming. This was nice as we are used to the impersonal service in large chain hotels. The breakfast was very good, and use of the kitchen if we needed it would have been a real and unusual bonus! The rooms were very clean , but I agree a little tired in places...our bed could have definitely could have done with a new mattress.......not uncomfortable just noisy!!! Also no double glazing in our double room at the front....in fact the window did not quite shut properly...so you did get traffic noise but this eases off at night. Despite not perfect....we would stay again because it was welcoming and relaxed. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wightbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I just stayed one night. It was very comfortable, and Charles, the owner, was friendly and welcoming: supplying keys and information etc. He also cooked a very good traditional breakfast. Quiet location in a pleasant part of Surrey/South London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobzviewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights and used the guesthouse for bed and shower only as we had lots to do in the area. However, it's great to know we could have used the facilities as if we were in a home away from home. We had the double ensuite. It was well equipped with kettle, coffee etc; tv; hair dryer; shampoo, soap etc.
Kasha was in charge and she was gracious and helpful on our arrival even though we were quite late. Breakfast was lovely and I liked the communal table it was served on.
Reading the mixed reviews here, I agree that the stained carpets let the place down a bit, but otherwise the house is spotless so don't let careless guests who came before you ruin what is a very comfortable, friendly, reasonably priced alternative to accommodation in this very expensive area of the country

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esher
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
4.0 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
925 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,545 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
686 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemead Guest House

Property: Rosemead Guest House
Address: 16 Hare Lane | Claygate, Esher KT10 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Esher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemead Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in warm, comfortable English style guest house. Close to the train station with easy connection to central London.Close shops and restaurants. Huge garden with fish pond. FREE PARKING. Free WI-FI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rosemead Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing