We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Layla

Layla
Ranked #25 of 59 Restaurants in Esher
Price range: $32 - $194
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Layla serves a range of traditional Lebanese meals and drinks. The private alcoves make it the perfect choice for an intimate evening with a loved one. Also there is Live music Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays and belly dancing on Fridays and Saturdays.
cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Booked a table here for a birthday celebration
Food was delicious- we opted for a selection of mere- the prawns in sesame seeds are delicious
As is the chicken and moussaka.the staff were very pleasant and although it was extremely busy the service was quick and professional.there were several birthday celebrations that evening so it made for a lovely atmosphere. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cambridge013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    60
    27
    36
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We waited over 45 minutes for drinks and food was over an hour for cold meze. Very disappointing experience. Food Ok but would not go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous main, but poor starter, dessert and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had 3 course lunch with Groupon voucher. Overall, it was ok - Both of the main dishes were so delicious and served with decent portion.
The starters and the desserts were mediocre and tiny. With Groupon deal, it was acceptable, but the normal price is not justifiable. It was overpriced. I don't think dessert was worth £6 with that tiny portion.

Service was rather poor and amateurish. We had to ask for the menu after we seated, and they did not clean the table straight away after they took the dishes.

Somehow it lacks the atmosphere. We won't go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

14 of us went last night, all had the cold and hot mezze sharing plate it was delicious and just the right size, for mains some had mixed grill some said lamb was a little tough but overall still very good, 2 had grilled salmon which was very good too, some had lamb cutlets which was excellent too, a couple had the lamb shank was fantastic, meat fell of the bone the rice was superb, the only bad point was the frozen veg on the side i left it, the dish didnt need it , was perfect without, the dessert was mixed review, the dessert platter some felt was too oily, others had ice cream which was a clear winner overall very good restaurant and will definitely go back, the service was very good, staff very friendly always topping up our glasses with water alongside our ordered drinks!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unattentive, Slow & Clueless Service Spoilt the Excellent Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

After going here once, we thought the food was superb, cocktails great and it was nice to try something new. A month later, we decided to come back for a second time to Layla's, only to be disappointed.

This time we found the service to be notably poor to the extent that we had to write this review here. We counted 6 staff among 10 tables. At one waiter or waitress per two tables of 2-3 people each, we thought the service would be speedy and hopefully friendly. We were disappointed and considering the price which is on the higher side of any average priced restaurant, we expected the service to match the superb Lebanese food that we all had.

The two waitresses we had were both very unfriendly, slow and clearly very inexperienced. There are several examples we can recount of both waitresses being amateurish and it made us wonder what they were doing all the time while we were trying to grab their attention every time we needed to chase something up or order. It was even worse to see that the Manager was not overseeing this or even checking up on the few occupied tables.

After choosing a desert item and waiting 10 minutes for one of the two waitresses to take our order, we complained and just decided to take the bill. The 12.5% discretionary charge added to the bill was promtly deducted by us. We shall not be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank brat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Layla also viewed

 

Been to Layla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing