We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not just about food...”
Review of Il Corallo - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Corallo
Price range: $49 - $49
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It is not just about food...”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I will start with the good points: food is quite good and portions are generous (maybe too big)

The place however disappointed us: 70's Italian music (maybe great for some but i question it will appeal the average customer), it was a bit cold and the general atmosphere was not great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traditional local italian”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We love Il Corallo for many reasons, but manly because it isn't a 'chain' restaurant and it has't been given the 'Gastro' farrow and ball interior which most pubs and restaurants in the locality have. We really enjoy the fact that you are welcomed by the owner and his always attentive team of staff as they lovingly talk through their special dishes of the day.
The food is wholesome italian and the price point is fair given that most everything is freshly prepared. The wine list has some fabulous iItalian treats from Sicily with some gorgeous super Tuscans all of which compliment the food beautifully.
I would highly recommend the restaurant and they love children nothing is too much bother for them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

No value for money unfortunately, place was empty, but us, i.e. two, still they managed to fill the only table next to us with two couples of loud talking guests. Food very average with shrimps having funny texture.

Helpful?
Thank Boeykens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A family run Italian gem is what this should be but sadly it falls short.
The menu is pleasant with a good selection of pizza and pasta. The decor is classily modern and creates a good ambience.
When we arrived we were sat at a table at the back well away from the door as it was a cold Saturday night. Service was a little slow at parts but friendly. We complained the room was cold and at first the owner just shrugged but then sent over a heater. It didn't improve much. It's Saturday night! Your restaurant should not be cold!
The food was ok but the pasta too oily and the focaccia we had was pizza bread, not focaccia. Plus we were never even offered the specials which we spotted on the way out.
A bill of £80 for 4 pasta dishes and a couple of starters was also steep. Disappointing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smokinjoe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“True quality & always a bit extra”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Il Corallo always give that little bit of extra quality. Always feel like you've had a special evening with excellent food. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Crossruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Corallo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing