We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Esher B&B and Inns
newark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

we stopped here for 1 night after going to the races, from our arrival to our departure we were made to feel very welcome. we stopped in room 2 the grizzley bear it was a lovely room, very clean and the bed was comfortable, beautiful large soft bath towels and ample toiletries. we both enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep, and woke up to a beautiful breakfast.

Room Tip: room 2 nice size and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    24
    17
    4
See reviews for
14
46
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavendon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely welcome, our room (Polar Bear) was clean & spacious, comforable bed, it was on the main road but not to noisy, a dull hum came up from the bar but not to intrusive. Plenty of hot water & lovely huge soft white towels. Enjoyed our evening meals, great waitress, nice restaraunt, wine a bit pricey, breakfast 1st day was fine, 'Eggs Benadict' according to my husband was to die for, 2nd day bacon had been hanging around a bit to long. Great to have mini fridge, and fresh milk, in a jug (not uht) a real +.
On the down side room needed more lighting, and sorting of odorous drainage in bathroom.
But all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Excellent room an food with friendly staff. Unfortunately I booked on a night when there was a live band playing, which went on until 12.15am. Music was so loud iit was hard to hear the TV in the room, it really was impossible to try and sleep.
Would recommend to others, just check if there's a band on first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Esher hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent large clean room which even though it was on the main road did not disturb the sleep of a couple of country bumpkins. Very friendly staff and an extremely good well cooked breakfast really made it a perfect place to stay whilst attending a local function.
Car park is a bit stange you have to register to get the number to open the barrier and there really is nowhere to park

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the time of booking on the 'phone to our departure, the staff could not have done more for us - they were superb from organising a sandwich "breakfast" for one who had to leave very early, to fixing a taxi to get us from the station to the pub in time for supper. The room had excellent double glazing and there was very little traffic noise. Also, great bath towels.Yes the pub is noisy - but it is a PUB and, until throwing out time, they can be noisy - live with it, or use earplugs. Our room was very close to the traffic lights - no problem, draw the curtains. Breakfast was good and unhurried. Would we return? Yes, if we happen to be in or near Esher and needing somewhere to stay then certainly we would - five star it is not but friendly, helpful and comfortable it is. Oh yes, joy of joys - fresh milk in the fridge for the early morning tea. Nice touch.

Room Tip: we had room 6 - there are a few strange noises in the building but nothing to disturb the sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBear54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I normally stay at The Crown in Chertsey, but as usual it was full. So unfortunately I tried the sister hotel in Esher. Arrived about 10pm and couldn't get into the car park. Had to get the hotel staff to move their car from the customer car park to free up a space.The manager and main receptionsit were friendly but I was so disappointed when shown my room. Clean but small, Dark and right above the main bar; you could hear everything, everyone was saying.
Breakfast was menu only. I seldolm have a cooked breakfast but i thought I'd treat myself. There was no fruit juice or anything to which you could help yourself. I order brown toast and two poached eggs on toast. 20 mins later two hard poached eggs turned up on one tiny slice of toast, plus one slice of toast. So the marks are for good staff, clean room. Must try harder.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
310 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Let's start on the positive side.
Really helpful and pleasant staff who couldn't have been more helpful. The young lady a breakfast did a great job (although it was very busy) and the breakfast was delivered hot and as ordered. Also very tasty eggs benedict. My room was of reasonable size and clean. Nice touch to have gratis bottled sparkling water supplied, chilled in the fridge. The Bear was also a reasonable price for the location.
Now for the negative.
My basic reason for staying in a hotel is to get some sleep. I was allocated the Polar Bear room. No way you could hibernate in here. Right over looking the traffic lights used as a christmas tree at the start of a drag race. The Bear was there before the traffic junction but I think the bed was too. Broken springs all over so I tried by doubling the quilt up and sleeping on top. No use. Added all the available towels and spare pillows to no avail. I the words of Eurovision nil point. Shame really......................

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid a room the the front and confirm the mattress has been changed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esher
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
3.4 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cobham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Cobham M25
Days Inn Cobham M25
#1 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Property: The Bear Hotel
Address: 71 High Street, Esher KT10 9RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Esher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear Hotel Esher

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing