We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best afternoon tea for miles!”
Review of The Chocolate Teapot - CLOSED

The Chocolate Teapot
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best afternoon tea for miles!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

A wonderful, cosy, independent tea room. The shelves are filled with teapots and afternoon tea is served on beautiful tiered cakes stands and quirky china teacups.
The scones were delicious, as was the cake and sandwiches.
We had a wonderful lazy afternoon, with many thanks to the lovely owner who made us feel so welcome.
This is a little gem in Esher, well worth the hours journey I made to get there!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightfully quintessntial British Tearoom with very Yummy food!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I visited the Chocolate Teapot after having visited Hampton Court with some friends. It was an absolute Gem of a find! We had afternoon tea which was so reasonable. Lovely tasty sandwiches, the mini-scones were so cute and because there were a few of us so we could manage a few slices of the different cakes between us! Every single one was delicious! My particular favourite was the chocolate fudge cake but thats because im a chocoholic! The carrot cake was the yummiest ive ever tasted as well. The staff were so friendly and welcoming you got the feeling that it was more than job but a very cared and nurtured business. I cant wait to go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hersham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Very British & friendly little cafe”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A cosy little cafe; the walls adorned with teapots could be construed as claustrophobic but undeniably British. Take your mum for tea & cake, she'll love it. We went for a breakfast fry up which at £6.99 with a pot of tasty tea was pretty reasonable. Note the tea cannot be substituted for coffee & thus coffee must be paid for separately. The relatively compact fry up was a high standard overall but the sausages perhaps not the best quality. Lovely toast with butter served at the right temperature. Cakes looked good but didn't try any. We were served by a very friendly, chatty waitress & enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thegeorgiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing cake”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My friend and I visited this tea shop as I had been at Xmas and the food was lovely at their tea with carols.we went for morning coffee and both ordered walnut and coffee cake.the slice we both received was minute and cost 2.25.we spoke to the waitress and queried the size and she explained that they had decided not to raise the prices but reduce the portion .i am not joking when I say it was little three bite sizes.
Unfortunately the outcome of our visit is that I would not recommend this place to anyone and won't be returning again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1984857Jackie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Really friendly, good food and very reasonable prices. Have been in on several occasions and it has always been the same

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank docman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chocolate Teapot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing