We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting old, big rooms, foul odour”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hay River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cambridge Executive Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hay River
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Getting old, big rooms, foul odour”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The suites is still a good hotel for Hay River but during my last visit the hallway smelled of urine and with a main front door that does not lock, I am fairly sure it was recent. Fairly unpleasant. Thankfully the smell did not make it into the room.

The room itself was showing its age, but for the price is bigger than anything else you will find in town. The beds are very soft, so if you want a firm bed, make a request for one (I am not sure if they have any firm beds, but it never hurts to ask). The bathroom had mildew on the ceiling and the toiletries provided are the very cheapest imaginable. Bring your own. Televisions are satisfactory and High definition channels are available. While in the hotel hallway, I could hear noise from other rooms coming out their doors, but the hotel room itself is well insulated from the noise of other rooms and the streets.

The suite had a full kitchen with most of the basic tools required to prepare your own meals. Everything worked as it should. I did not try the coffee maker, but the coffee provided looked to be of the cheapest variety as well.

If you are staying here, make sure to request a room in the main hotel. Rooms in the annex are much lower quality all around, and the basement rooms in the annex have windows that look out onto the parking lot, where cars and trucks idle exhaust fumes directly into the rooms.

If you arrive after hours, make arrangements to have a key left for you, the hotel staff are not on site after business hours.

Room Tip: Make absolutely sure you are in the main hotel, not the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank z2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
4
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton BC Can
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Always stay here on business, and sometimes for extended periods of time. Self contained suites. Clean and comfortable. Well situated in town. You can walk easily to anywhere, and the Back Eddy is right across the street!

Room Tip: If you have a choice, get one out back with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetoride2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Have stayed here before and always been very satisfied in spite of the price. The full kitchen is nice as we pick up a few groceries and eat in. But the suite we had this time was disappointing. It really needed a good cleaning. We had 5 large spiders pay us a visit in one evening. The kitchen stove and fridge needed a good cleaning. The dishes had been put away wet and when we took down the plates we had water all over. The drawer under the oven was very dirty as was the dishwasher. The dishwasher could not be used so perhaps that was why it was dirty. I will stay here again - I was just disappointed that things were not as I expected from other stays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunkie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in one bedroom suite and we loved it. The one bedroom suite is more like a furnished apartment. It was very clean and cozy. We only had one problem with the tv. The tv in our room wasn't working and we had hard time to get in contact with customer service, since it was after 6pm. However, for what the hotel offers i found it to be a little bit over priced...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed for business in late October for our annual sealift returns from the Arctic. Great location with all the comforts of home. Secure building, parking on site & check in & out are a breeze.
Restaurant Fast Eddy,s in right across the street and the ptarmigan & driftwood are good for breakfast & lunch. Your room has a kitchenette if you want to cook your own meals. You won,t be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: End of hall way rooms are very nice & large
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthBayLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is slim picking in Hay River. And I was told the Cambridge Suites are the best place in town. The prices are very high for what you get. But in context, it's a decent value in Hay River.

Check-in can be a pain in butt if you are not there before 6:00pm. I was a little taken aback with my room on the basement level. It smelled pretty funky, but not so bad that I didn't acclimatize within 5 minutes. The suite was large, with lots of storage room. A full kitchen, if you feel like cooking. Mind you, I threw that idea out the window, after experienced the cost of groceries. Strangely restaurant eating is about the same cost. There was satellite TV, but a limited subscription of channels. WiFi was excellent. My room has a Temprapedic bed, so it was a nice little bonus.

While I heard the main building is much more decent, I was in the capital building. If this establishment was in another city, I would rate it much lower.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBSandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

An ok place, large apartment style accommodations, though very rough on the edges, dishwasher doesn't work, my door barely closed .... When locked. However every room is quite different so some are better than other, locale is good, and great if you like to cook at home when on long road trips, overall not bad... Given where you are....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ako81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cambridge Executive Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Executive Suites Hotel

Property: Cambridge Executive Suites Hotel
Address: 28 Capital Dr, Hay River, Northwest Territories X0E 1G2, Canada
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Hay River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hay River
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Executive Suites Hotel offers one and two bedroom suites as an alternative to the standard hotel room. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen, spacious dining area, comfortable living room, full size washroom facilities and a private balcony. We also provide secure, high speed internet access and satellite TV service for your enjoyment and business needs. The Cambridge Executive Suites Hotel is conveniently located downtown on the banks of the Hay River. You will be within walking distance of everything you need ~ Local business for work or shopping ~ Meeting & Conference facilities ~ Local Banks ~ Restaurants and Lounges ~ Movie Theatre ~ Recreation and Fitness Centre ~ Hair Salon and Pharmacy ~ Town Hall and Community Centre. Daily housekeeping service is provided and laundry services are available on request. All rooms are accessible by stairs or elevator. The Driftwood Diner is our restaurant located a few blocks from the Cambridge Executive Suites Hotel. For your comfort our facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing