We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hay River hockey trip”
Review of Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hay River
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hay River hockey trip”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great location great service you can't really expect anymore in a little town like Hay River. Our group was a bit rowdy we were there for the SR hockey league games the staff took care of us and also kept us from ruining the stays of others.

Room Tip: Not many options in town but this is your best bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toronto55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis R, Manager at Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. We are committed to great customer service. We hope you enjoyed your hockey games and look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
12
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is fresh, huge portions and well made. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. I was very happy with my stay and will recommend it to everyone.I was there to do staff training and was very impressed with the people employed at the hotel . The liquor store is one block away and has really great wine!

Room Tip: The suite with the small kitchen and king size bed was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis R, Manager at Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, We are very proud of our staff and there committment to customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Good location and my room was clean. Check in was smooth but check out was painfully slow. Room was somewhat outdated with very thin walls. I could hear the TV in the next room. The gentleman I was traveling with asked for a wakeup call but never got it.

Compared to other hotels in Hay River I would definitely stay here again. The manger is extremely helpful and his efforts to help me with an issue are definitely appreciated. If this hotel was in another city it would be rated lower. Again, the room was very clean, the manager very helpful, but the thin walls distracted from my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the property and bring forward the issues you noticed. I apologize for the slow check out process. I would appreciate speaking with you directly to try and get a little bit more information on what made your check out so slow.
I would also like to apologize for not receiving a wake up call, I plan to follow up with our desk staff to review our check out process and will also discuss the importance of following up on guest request's, such as wake up calls.

I appreciate your kind words about our managment staff and thank you again for reviewing our property and staying at the Ptarmigan Inn.

Curtis Rowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed here twice. The advantage of this hotel is that there is a reastarant in the building.
The rooms are very small and vintage. They are clean but keep an open mind. Last time I stayed here I noticed in the evening that there was no hot water. A pipe had broke. The thing with these remote areas is that things don't get fixed very quickly. They had a guy come in the next morning about 8 or 9 so no shower that morning. To me, that is a deal breaker.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharmaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis R, General Manager at Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvience, as you can imagine a burst pipe is not a common occurance and therefore this situation was fixed. I would be happy to discuss this with you further via email or phone at your convenience.

Regards,

Curtis Rowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 10 Gagnier St, Hay River, Northwest Territories X0E 1G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Hay River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hay River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only thing were missing is you! Offering the keys restuarant, dog house sports bar and a full service fitness center. Our staff shares in the committment to offer our guests the best possible stay while in Hay River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing