We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed peaceful venue”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cow House

The Cow House. Comfortably furnished house in rural France
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cow House. Comfortably furnished house in rural France
Cow house from the front Lounge. Comfortable sofas. Natural light from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Cow House. Comfortably furnished house in rural France
Cow house from the front
Lounge. Comfortable sofas. Natural light from the garden
Games room with table football and a toy shelf
The main bedroom with kingsize bed and day bed. Windows onto fields (with shutters)
Lounge. Chairs. TV (for Netflix or DVDs). Bluetooth speaker
Day bed in master bedroom
Oak beamed dining room.
Modern well equipped kitchen. We've cooked christmas dinner for 8 here
The other single bed! both have full size trundle beds underneath for larger families.
One of to single beds in the second bedroom overlooking the garden.
Bathroom. There is a shower over the bath
Garden. Doors out from lounge and playroom
Hesdin. Charming 17th century town. 10 minute drive
Montreuil city walls. Smart restaurants. 20 minute drive away
Restaurant at Merlimont beach. 30 minutes drive away
Merlimont beach with the tide out. Time to build a big sandcastle before the waves come back in
The neighbours
The garden - a place to relax
Relax in the bath with candles.
Next door neighbour
River Planquette with riverside path. 5 minute walk from the house
Audreselles beach. Rocks. Fantastic fish restaurants. 50 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Seashells...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxed peaceful venue”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Enjoyed a long weekend at The Cow House to celebrate my birthday. We were 4 adults, 1 teen and 3 dogs.
Its hard to find a venue that will allow you to bring your pet and this place was very accomodating. Sadly it meant we were very out of the way and using this as a base to travel and sightsee from means you need to be prepared for lots of driving as it is not close to much and is rather tucked away. Even getting a pint of milk is a two day camel ride, so make sure you pack everything you will need in advance.
Having said that the property is comfortable and clean with a shabby chic feel, making it a relaxed environment for a group such as ours. It is well stocked and they offer some cute items to keep you occupied. My niece loved the horse and donkey in the field opposite, very sweet.
I did think having to supply your own toilet paper was a bit odd though. Given how much we paid, I would not have expected having to replace any toilet paper used would be something we would have to think about! Surley that should be a standard item in any holiday rental?
Having said that, the property is very sweet and rustic and the little garden is very cute, even offering a hammock to relax in. I would recommend this property to people travelling with pets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden area
Liked least: For me, just a bit too far from anything.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Future guests should note that there is a large Carrefour 3 miles away away in Hesdin, a bakery less than 1 mile away at the edge of Aubin St Vaast (next village) and a cafe (Le Diplomat) in the Cavron St Martin itself which sells some emergency supplies. No need to bring everything in advance - the house is well stocked.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BionicDre...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect rural retreat for all the family.”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a lovely week at Cow House with our three young children. The location is scenic and peaceful yet within easy reach of all amenities. The children loved the toys and books provided as well as playing in the sunny and secure garden. The kitchen has everything you might need, there is a very good and interesting selection of books in the living room. The beds were very comfortable and the water pressure available in the shower was superb. There are televisions in both bedrooms and the living room as well as a selection of DVD's but we were too busy enjoying the peace and quiet to turn any of them on. The walk from the house up to the nearby forest is truly beautiful.

The only negative thing we could say about Cow House (and it is a very small thing) is that there is a big stone step by the garden gate that looked a bit dangerous for our two year old but with a bit of vigilance there was no problem.

We had a memorable, relaxing family holiday here and would highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Characterful retreat in a lovely part of France”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We booked the Cow House as we were looking for a place to stay in the Pas-de-Calais region for three nights before continuing further south through France. The place turned out to be a real hidden gem, introducing us to a part of France that we didn't know and is certainly worthy of a visit. The Seven Valleys is a beautiful, unspoilt area characterised by tiny villages nestled in hidden valleys. The Cow House itself is a lovely cottage, full of rustic character and charm with wooden beams and shutters. It is very cosy with a lovely comfy corner sofa, lots of great books and a great choice of DVDs and games. If you're with kids, then the play room is great as a designated toy area with table football and even a swing. The kitchen is very well-equipped, hot water is plentiful, and the house is warm. The courtyard and garden are very sunny and we enjoyed lunch outside a couple of times. There are walks from right outside the door and a little cafe bar in the village. We managed to pack in a couple of visits including Agincourt which is just a few kilometres away and definitely worth a visit. We also went to the WW1 battlefield at Vimy Ridge. Both sites made us realise how steeped in history this part of France is. In contrast the Louvre Lens is just a short trip away and offers up a taste of what its Parisian HQ has on display. We would definitely recommend the Cow House as a welcoming and comfortable base for a visit to this part of France. There were so many more places we would have liked to visit but they will have to wait for next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable base with all we needed for our trip
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 14, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great place to slow down and unwind
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunderland
Reviewed April 26, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed August 13, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing