We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Long Countryside Weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
Jasmin cottage in spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jasmin cottage in spring
Welcome to Jasmin Cottage The main entrance to the cottage with parking space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Jasmin cottage in spring
Welcome to Jasmin Cottage
The main entrance to the cottage with parking space
The lounge area with Sky TV, DVD Player & seating for 4. Plenty of tourist information
View of the dining table for 4
The dining area for 4 - all crockery provided. Heating in all rooms
The Galley Kitchen with gas hob & combination/microwave oven, toaster,kettle & fridge
The galley kitchen - another view
The cosy double bedroom with comfortable bed - all linen provided
The twin bedroom with wardrobe - all linen provided
Twin room - another view
The modern bathroom with bath/shower & hair/body dryer - all towels provided - constant hot wate
Nearby 'neighbours' enjoying the sun
The patio with charcoal barbecue & seating for 4
Hesdin Thursday market - lots of bargains here! Only 3 miles awata
Hesdin Thursday market - close up of the stalls
Notre Dame Church, Hesdin on market day
The nearby River Canche
A rare snow shower in January
The orchard with picnic table & parasol
The Front Entrance to Jasmin Cottage - plenty of parking space
The patio with nice views of the surrounding countryside
Another view of the orchard
The view north from the cottage - Hesdin forest for walking is just around the corner
The recreational area for relaxing or play
Football in the play area - ideal for the children
Basketball for all
Any one for tennis or badminton - rackets/balls/shuttle cocks provided
The side door with plenty of parking space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
PMW-Paris
Paris, France
1 review
“Long Countryside Weekend”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Jasmin Cottage is a compact but functional base from which to explore the rich countryside and nature around Hesdin and the valley of the Canche and is within striking distance of the coast. The cottage has a large garden. We had a very positive experience with all logistical arrangements working out well for our arrival and departure. Very good for nature lovers and anyone wanting a quiet countryside break. There are walks close by in a variety of environments. Not suitable if you need Wi-Fi / internet access at your accommodation while away. Although a dongle is provided, this doesn't work well and is expensive. There are free wifi possibilities, though, in nearby Hesdin. Accommodation for up to 4. Good for a long weekend or short break. If staying longer or with a larger group or if you want/need a large kitchen area try Laurel house (same owner, same site), which is more spacious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The countryside setting.
Liked least: The poor wi-fi access.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANT1Ant1
ANT1
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely, cute little place. In an area called 7 valleys. Hence my 4G Google maps and mobile signal kept dropping. There is no wifi in the cottage, you need to go into the cafe in the main square, with the dongle from the cottage, pay for a top up card, walk around the corner to the Orange shop where they will recharge the dongle. But I have 4G from O2 as a bolt on when abroad and that was very slow in that area. Sky tv works well, the cottage is clean, warm, constant hot water, rural and quiet. Peaceful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W
Hawick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Enjoyable peaceful holiday in nice gite”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed last year and liked it so much booked again for 2015. Everything clean and tidy as before. Caretaker welcomed us on arrival as owners live in UK. He came back mid-week to check everything OK. Big garden for walking our dog. Convenient for shops in Hesdin and beaches only 30 mins away. Hope to come back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. Really glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Jasmin Cottage and look forward to seeing you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeyWest...
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rural retreat”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Booked over Bonfire night week in the UK as we have a dog that dislikes fireworks. Travelled with my partner and her mother.
Delightful cottage which is well equipped and comfortable.
Whilst there Barbara, owner, arrived to stay at another property. Nothing was too much trouble for her and her husband. Sorted condensation problem immediately.

Large garden and play area - unfortunately it rained on most days. When dry trips out to local beaches. Supermarkets within easy reach. Local boulangerie for bread and croissant.

Quiet nights in with satellite television and reading.
A truly restful, rural retreat.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your charming mother-in-law. We are glad that all of you including your dog, enjoyed your holiday.

It is in the autumn and spring when the days are warm but the nights are cold that there was problem with condensation. We have now fitted a built in dehumidifier which has solved the condensation problem completely and are currently making further improvements to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay eg we have just had an extractor fan fitted in the bathroom to reduce the water vapour getting into the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill m
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal gite for a short stay, clean and well equipped.”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Jasmine Cottage for four nights. The gite was beautifully cleaned for our arrival and equipped with everything we could need. The owners were welcoming and helpful. It was good to have the field to exercise the dog and Sky TV to stay in touch with home! The gite is well positioned between Hesdin and Montreuil sur Mer and we would stay here again when en route to or from Eurotunnel.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday. It was a pleasure to meet you both and enjoyed talking to you and thanks for the DIY ideas. We are always looking for ways to improve our facilities. We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W
Hawick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Enjoyable and relaxing stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Peacefull cottage, clean and tidy with nice patio and barbecue which we liked. Owners not their but looked after by nice couple nearby who are on call. They came down straight away when we couldn't get the telly to work (remote needed new batteries!) Nice big garden. Bakery nearby was good. Supermarkets 10 mins drive away at Hesdin was convenient. Also with the nice weather we went to seaside only 30 mins drive away. Enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: country location
Liked least: French drivers!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday at Jasmin Cottage. I am pleased that you rang our caretakers and that they were able to come across straight away to sort out the problem you had with the television controls. Look forward to meeting you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwenda D
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“dirty, tatty, not being maintained or cleaned gite in good location”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

On arrival gite was not to standard of cleanliness expected and had to clean before using anything
1. carpet runner full of dog hairs plus dog hairs all around the gite
2. everywhere was unswept with dirty tissues and bits of food around the place
3. dirty coaster by double bed with hair stuck on it
4. toaster broken
5. kettle full of scale which went into our cups so had to descale it
6. kitchen waste full of food debris so water did not run away propery and sink stank - we unblocked it
7. water would not run away in bathroom sink so had to unblock the hairs in the sink waste causing the problem
8. broken toilet seat which slid off everytime we sat on it - VERY UNSAFE especially for my disabled daughter
9. dishdrainer on kithcen drainer filty
10. bath was dirty and had lots of hairs in it
11. toilet dirty - we cleaned
12. ice compartment of fridge so iced up was unusable so we got rid of the ice so it was useable
13. garden chair broken which is dangerous
14. wifi would not work presumably due to previous holiday people using the allowance
15. gite not secure as bottom lock of french doors (main entrance) broken so door can be pushed and would be easy to break in.
On top of all of this we were unhappy to find on arrival the property for sale sign and would have preferred to be advised of this prior to arriving.
It is a pity we had these issues as the gite is in a good location and we enjoyed our holiday but it was marred by having to clean on arrival and gite not being secure etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: gite was dirty
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2014
Thank you for sending me a copy of your concerns directly. I was shocked and dismayed at your comments. I rang you immediately I received it to express my apologies that the standard of the cottage did not meet your expectations and explain what had happened that particular weekend. I went over each of your points in detail and trust we have resolved this amicably.

You told me that you enjoyed your holiday and said that although you had the local contact number you had not wanted to wait in for someone to come. I send guests a list of local contact details as well as our own, specifically so that any problems can be fixed straight away. If you had simply told us when you phoned on arrival, I could have arranged to send someone and any problems would have been rectified within one or two hours at the longest, including a replacement toaster.

Also your concerns with regard to the property being for sale; we are always given plenty of notice of any viewings and nobody would come to view without your knowledge and full agreement and the sign down could have been removed.

The person who looks after the property for us is extremely efficient and all our other guests have been very complimentary about the standard of presentation and cleaning. In peak season when there is a quick change over it is not possible to check that everything works e.g. the toaster. The toilet seat was not actually broken but designed to clip off for ease of cleaning.

We want all our guests to have a comfortable and stress free holiday so I am not sure of your reasoning in waiting till you got home to complain, when everything could have been rectified straight away if only you had communicated with us at the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing