We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, comfortable, and friendly.”
other travelers have booked this property
Jasmin cottage in spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jasmin cottage in spring
Welcome to Jasmin Cottage The main entrance to the cottage with parking space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Jasmin cottage in spring
Welcome to Jasmin Cottage
The main entrance to the cottage with parking space
The lounge area with Sky TV, DVD Player & seating for 4. Plenty of tourist information
View of the dining table for 4
The dining area for 4 - all crockery provided. Heating in all rooms
The Galley Kitchen with gas hob & combination/microwave oven, toaster,kettle & fridge
The galley kitchen - another view
The cosy double bedroom with comfortable bed - all linen provided
The twin bedroom with wardrobe - all linen provided
Twin room - another view
The modern bathroom with bath/shower & hair/body dryer - all towels provided - constant hot wate
Nearby 'neighbours' enjoying the sun
The patio with charcoal barbecue & seating for 4
Hesdin Thursday market - lots of bargains here! Only 3 miles awata
Hesdin Thursday market - close up of the stalls
Notre Dame Church, Hesdin on market day
The nearby River Canche
A rare snow shower in January
The orchard with picnic table & parasol
The Front Entrance to Jasmin Cottage - plenty of parking space
The patio with nice views of the surrounding countryside
Another view of the orchard
The view north from the cottage - Hesdin forest for walking is just around the corner
The recreational area for relaxing or play
Football in the play area - ideal for the children
Basketball for all
Any one for tennis or badminton - rackets/balls/shuttle cocks provided
The side door with plenty of parking space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mootman
Herault, France
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We arrived at the gite to a warm and friendly welcome from the owner who then proceeded to show us around the well appointed cottage. There was a welcome hamper which included a bottle of wine.

There are two bedrooms which are very comfortable and quiet. The kitchen is well stocked, with a combination microwave-grill rather than a full sized oven. Despite this we were still able to cook a turkey successfully for our Christmas lunch.

Satellite TV is available. Tip; take your SkyCard to receive your package whilst away.

Internet access is also available via WiFi, sometimes the signal strength dropped off but a booster in the gite would solve this problem quite easily.

The owner checked to see if everything was ok part way through the holiday, which was a nice gesture.

The surrounding area was pleasant with the coast being about 25-30 minutes away if you use the dual carriageway rather than the road via Montreuil. We also took the train to Paris, from Abbevile which was fairly inexpensive and easy to arrange.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and friendly welcome
Liked least: Intermittent WiFi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Kent
Reviewed November 20, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The comfort and warmth. It was November and we were worried about the cold!
Liked least: Advertised Internet access/wifi was useless.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you were pleased with the facilities in the cottage, which we have tried hard to make as comfortable as possible. I am sorry you were disappointed in the Internet access and surprised at your comments, since you never mentioned it at the time. I make a point of asking to guests when they arrive to let me know if they have any problems straight away so we can remedy it. If you had informed us you were having difficulty, I am confident we would have come up with a way of improving the reception for you, which is better in some parts of the cottage than others. Other guests have used it satisfactorily and we use it regularly. We are in a rural location and telephone broadband is not available so we have to rely on mobile broadband, which is slower. I have added a note to the description on the web- site to make potential guests aware of this. Best wishes with your future plans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tavistock
Reviewed October 6, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you appreciated the extra touches. We want our guests to have everything they need to feel at home.
Look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashire
Reviewed September 23, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Poor Shopping
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage & location
Liked least: small fridge and uncomfortable sofas after a while
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2012
Many thanks for your lovley feedback and the thank you e-mails. Glad you both enjoyed your holiday and found time to relax as well as see the local sights. Thanks for saying how much you appreciated our hospitality.
We are making ongoing improvements to the facilities in the cottage and are putting in a wall cupboard for dry goods. We will look into the possiblity of replacing the fridge/ freezer. We could have lent you a wine cooler that would certainly have had room for lots of the lovely sparking wine you recommended!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wendy-shi...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage, quiet area, not for children .”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This cottage is a very nice standard, in a quiet but handy location.

There is a little bakery 5 minutes walk away and you can buy freshly baked bread daily there.

The forest is a 2 minute walk away, and really was a lovely walk.

Hesdin is a 10 minute drive, and is a great town with a Market on Thursdays which was fantastic, and in the evenings throughout summer a live music concert next to the restaurants and river, which was a great thing for us to do on holiday.

We were very lucky with the weather and visited the beach (Stella Plage) which was 40 minutes away. The water Park 'Aqualud' was also a brilliant day out for us.

All in all the location is excellent, but a car is essential.

The cottage itself is very nice, with lots of creature comforts and pretty bedding , and is very clean.

There was a welcome basket when we arrived which was a nice touch. Barbara was very welcoming and friendly to chat to and offered lots of suggestions of places to visit etc.

There was however one problem for us, and that was that it was not child friendly .

Children (and the things they do as children )are not welcome here. We felt like we were intruding on an old man's retirement.

I don't want to go into too many details, but Barbara's husband did not make us feel welcome at all. .. He was rude to us, daily, and never greeted us except to complain.
He tried to put limitations on where we could go on the property, even though the rental agreement said the grounds were to be shared. We ended up with the door locked shut on hot days as we were worried about letting our boy go outside to play, as most times he did go out, we were told off.



We have a 3 year old boy, and that was a problem for the owner's husband although apparently not for Barbara. , although stated in the rental that children were welcome.



Anyway, I think this place is gorgeous, can't fault the facilities , its beautiful. But I don't think children should go to this place as they are not very welcome. That aspect ruined our holiday. We spent as much time out everyday as we could to avoid any confrontations. We had taken outdoor toys for playing in the garden, and planned on spending time there to relax, but that was not possible.



I wasn't sure whether to leave this review or not, as Barbara was very lovely, and I didn't want to do that to her, but then I thought about other families being put under the stress that we were, and knowing how much we need and value a special relaxing holiday , I know I would want to know if there was an issue with the property. We came home feeling very upset at being treated so badly by one of the owners, and so lovely by the other. It was like Jekyll & Hyde.

An elderly couple would be ideal to rent this cottage , but families with small children I would definitely not recommend going.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Beds were very comfortable, the bakery being so close
Liked least: Being made to feel unwelcome by one of the owners
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we will certainly take your comments on board. We are more than willing to apologise unreservedly for any offence taken, there was certainly none intended.

We are glad you enjoyed the local attractions and amenities in the area and were so pleased with the standard of facilities in the cottage. There were leaflets in the cottage about other places to visit that would appeal to younger children.

We want all our guests to enjoy a relaxing break no matter their age! Other children and families have stayed very successfully. We explained when you came we had not had children under five stay before and wanted to make our facilities as safe and welcoming as possible for younger children and asked your advise about any other improvements we could make.

As well as the cottage patio area and barbeque, it had said on the website the owner’s garden was available for use by guests but it clearly explained in your welcome pack that the garden is a ‘work in progress’ and that ‘there could be sharp implements about and children should be supervised.’ As responsible owners we felt is was reasonable to restrict access to sections of the garden if work is being carried out, for example where paints and solvents are being used. Our garden implements are not suitable for children to play with and we did not expect guests go into our storage shed to take things out.

There was absolutely no need to stay in doors in the middle of the day, we would have been delighted if you had put out your out-door toys for your child to play with.

Subsequent to your stay we have reviewed our policies and contracts with guests. We are considering whether or not to take under fives and looking into setting up a children’s play area but would still expect parents to supervise their child as appropriate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Barbecue area when the sun was shining
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing