We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Le Globe

Restaurant Le Globe
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Hesdin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are very proud to be serving all fresh local produce, our menus are changed every 12 days. we serve a local brewed beer Ch'ti and we have a large selection of wine and spirits which can be recommended by Karen. I would like to express to anyone that reviews our restaurant that we are genuinely happy to receive good criticism with regarding our restaurant as I would like our standards to be maintained ... But when comments are posted and they are truly personal this can affect the jobs and closure of restaurants that are indeed a service to the public ... In today's economic climate it is very difficult to please everyone as one would like ... We are finding people wanting to vent their anger and personal distaste on a site that we as restaurant owners have no control over ... Please be tolerant and understanding with all regards ...
Smarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited The Globe three times between Christmas and New Year as not many other places open. We received a warm welcome from all the staff, the food was excellent and we had something different every time we ate there and the price is very good. The restaurant was very busy with both English and French people on all 3 occasions. We wish the restaurant lots of success for 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda186316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    47
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Smarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited The Globe again on Saturday with relations and had a great evening, the restaurant was packed so a great atmosphere, there were 2 menus to chose from a 15,90 euro and 19,90 euro excellent value and lots to chose from, the food was excellent and service very good all done with a lovely smile! Karen not around this weekend but everything ran like clockwork and because we had booked our table we got free Kir's which is a very nice touch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda186316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

In new hands and had a make over since our last visit. Decor is really nice and modern. Service was excellent and very friendly. Food was well cokked and presented nicely, but we thought there could be more choice on the menu (only fish for example was scallaps) but we were told the menu changes every 12 days so perhaps the variety comes that way. We enjoyed our visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnBTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesdin, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Been to better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Looked forward to visiting after its refurbishment. Disappointed with meal, no vegetarian option, no fish option, service was at best adequate. Wine cost outrageous, other local restaurants much better.

Helpful?
2 Thank roseysan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pas de Calais
Level Contributor
195 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are British, and not that confident in navigating your way round a French restaurant then perhaps this is the place for you. They will speak your language and will no doubt carve themselves a niche with some local expats and holidaymakers. No bad thing and the place is well appointed and conveniently located.
However if you want a more authentic meal then head to La Belle Epoque, La Breteche and definitely La Garenne where for similar money you will fare much much better.
Oeufs en Meurette was a complete invention on the part of the kitchen as opposed to what this classic should be, and a Salade Cesar had everything in the kitchen sink in it including cold left over chicken. Boasting they only serve fresh ingredients sourced locally a banana flambe for dessert was an indication that perhaps they believe their own hype and need to give themselves a good talking to and visit the competition to see how it should be done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PasdeCalaisJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Globe also viewed

Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Restaurant Le Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing