We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opening under new ownership at Le Globe”

Restaurant Le Globe
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Hesdin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are very proud to be serving all fresh local produce, our menus are changed every 12 days. we serve a local brewed beer Ch'ti and we have a large selection of wine and spirits which can be recommended by Karen. I would like to express to anyone that reviews our restaurant that we are genuinely happy to receive good criticism with regarding our restaurant as I would like our standards to be maintained ... But when comments are posted and they are truly personal this can affect the jobs and closure of restaurants that are indeed a service to the public ... In today's economic climate it is very difficult to please everyone as one would like ... We are finding people wanting to vent their anger and personal distaste on a site that we as restaurant owners have no control over ... Please be tolerant and understanding with all regards ...
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Opening under new ownership at Le Globe”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Globe is reopening on the 6th June, but we were invited to a private dinner on Sunday evening. The restaurant has been transformed into an elegant and classy dining establishment. The decor is bright with a 1920s theme. Great care has been taken with the artwork and lighting, with beautiful handpainted panels and Tiffany lamps. The toilets have been redesigned to include a wheelchair friendly access ramp and elegant sanitary ware. Karens' new chef produced wonderful tasty, freshly cooked meals which were beautifully presented, and by looking at all the other diners, warmly received.The staff were attentive and competent and we wish Karen and her team Good Luck with the new restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank picardiehomeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    49
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Back soon!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

You’ll be pleased to know that the Globe is reopening on the 6th June under new management. A lot of bars and restaurants have closed in France over the last few years as people move from countryside to town and recession bites - not many open again, so it’s good to see the trend being bucked.

Review to follow...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jacw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a couple of pleasant lunches at this brasserie looking over the main square at Hesdin.

The service was efficient and friendly and the food very enjoyable - we were amused by each main dish being garnished with a sprig of rosemary, the Chef's trademark it seems.

Our resident pasta expert was very impressed by the Bolognaise, served on tagliatelle, not spaghetti.

Portion size was just right for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireTenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The only problem with Le Globe is the portion size. If they were just a bit more generous then they'd be Very Good +.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esiotrot73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“mediocre food - not worth the money”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

It was all edible but none of us (4 adults, 4 children) really enjoyed it. The portions were quite small and nothing special at all - hence, when you compare the fact that we paid 10-14 euros for a main meal here against 19 euros for a top three course meal at Restaurant
La Garenne, it definitely wasn't worth the money! Plus points were:
- a family friendly establishment - the kids were given colouring to do
- nice setting on the main square in Hesdin
- the creme brulees were good

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank actmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Globe also viewed

Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Restaurant Le Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing