We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for skiing”

Panorama-Hotel Karwendelhof
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panorama-Hotel Karwendelhof
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wallgau
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at hotel Jan 2013.
Excellent service, great food and ideal location.
I would definitely stay at hotel again.
Resort is a small classy village, it can be quite quiet so don't come here if you want lively apres ski.
3 main slope areas, perfect for beginners but very limited for expert skiiers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mancitymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Panorama-Hotel Karwendelhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed there on two occasions recently while working in the local area. The manager and his wife could not have done more to make us feel welcome - including keeping the kitchen open late a cooking us a special meal of rainbow trout one evening when we arrived back late from a long day's work. They are also fantastic company, full of stories, tips and advice about the local area. The other high point is the view - our balcony's had a fantastic view of the valley and mountains which would have brought me back on it's own.

I would heartily recommend them and will be staying with them again whenever I revisit the area.

Josh

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel was chosen a) because we wanted to be in Wallgau and b) because we saw on its website that the rooms offered, amongst other facilities, safes and telephones. These amenities are important to us and were not available in either of the two rooms we had booked. When, after the first night, we pointed this out to the owner in the most polite manner possible, he behaved totally inappropriately by telling us it was ridiculous to expect such things and to leave his hotel by 11.00 o'clock. We both love German hospitality, have had many wonderful vacations there over many years, and were absolutely shocked at this treatment. Any reasonable owner/manager would try to resolve issues. As a result (and totally shocked) we were glad to leave and since we had paid a deposit at the time we made the reservation we felt our night was paid for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel was well situated and had a beautiful outlook, hence our choice. We were booked for a week (two rooms). On the first day we noticed items like radios, phones and Wi-Fi were not as posted on the website. No radio or phone, Wi-Fi chargeable, but website implied free inclusion.Equally, no mention of the 10% discount for stays of over 5 days. When these were politely pointed out next morning, hotel manager became increasingly irate, defensive and aggressive in language. We were called (Exact quote): "Pains in the butt", accused of having a British colonial mentality and an anti-Semitic comment was made by him. We would have stayed had his attttude been one of helpfulness, not hostility, but not surprisingly we decided to leave after the one night, and found an excellent, friendly hotel down the road in the same town, where we were warmly welcomed and well looked after for the remaining 6 days. We have felt so strongly about this that we have informed various German tourist boards of these events.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank frangott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang Max F, Inhaber at Panorama-Hotel Karwendelhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

The behaviour of this guests were not managable at all. Their attitude was disrespectful with anti-german remarks what are not acceptable in our hotel (our other guest noticed that as well).
They booked two single rooms and got two double rooms with panorama-balkonies to satisfy
their notoric baiging for free services. After asking about wirless internet what is accesable in
our hotel for a daily fee of € 5,- (you can read the evaluation "Friendliest people" from 7.10.2010) from one of many english customers we have. We never had a problem with a customer who had to pay € 5,- for the WILAN (wirless internet) and many of our customers use
the skype phone service were you can call international free of charge). We also offered this
customer to use our hotel-phone free of charge if he needs to. He had a cell-phone but was not
willing to use eather one. We had the impression that this couple was here only to push our
status (Nr.2) down through his remarks what are definetly not matching the truth.
The reason why we have a internationl clientel is because we do not discrimminate about colour, race and religion(unlike these guest did).
We reported them to the local tourist office as well as to the highest bavarian tourist and travell
association for their inappropriate and fraudular behaviour including not paying all the taxes and leaving the hotel without paying the proper bill. No hotel-owner I know would put up with
trouble-makers like this guest were and we were very pleased after they left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Fantastic views, remarkable surroundings, a beautiful family owned hotel . rooms lovely, food great - really a very enjoyable stay. It is a pity we couldn't stay longer due to our busy schedule.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibbyK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I booked this hotel at short notice and was pleased with my choice as I met two of the friendliest hotel owners I've come accross. The owner had a wealth of stories about the local area and was full of advice on things to do and places to see. The hotel sits at the top of a hill overlooking Wallgau and towards the mountains. The rooms are large and comfortable with flat screen TV and internet access at €5 per day. The bathrooms are a little dated, at least in the room I had. However, there is hot water and they are clean. The food is very good value and the portions are generous. It is a 2 minute walk to the bus stop and there are numerous marked trails from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Besser keines
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helmut R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallgau
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Wallgau
Parkhotel Wallgau
#1 of 5 in Wallgau
77 reviews
8.9 mi away
Seehotel Grauer Baer
Seehotel Grauer Baer
#1 of 8 in Kochel am See
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#2 of 5 in Wallgau
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
191 reviews
5.0 mi away
Das Kranzbach
Das Kranzbach
#1 of 4 in Krun
546 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Schmied von Kochel
Hotel Schmied von Kochel
#8 of 8 in Kochel am See
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama-Hotel Karwendelhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama-Hotel Karwendelhof

Address: Walchenseestr. 18, 82499 Wallgau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Wallgau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wallgau
Price Range: $118 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama-Hotel Karwendelhof 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panorama-Hotel Karwendelhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing