We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you to the staff at Albjaruja”
Review of Hotel Albaruja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Albaruja
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Costa Rei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are just back from a lovely two weeks at Albjaruja and the staff are exceptionally good and helpful, especially the breakfast waitress, Francesca, John, (not sure of his Italian name), the young receptionist and the night porter.

Some good eating restaurants in the town, and the standard of accommodation was good. The beach was exceptional with beautiful white sand and we never saw a cloud for 14 days!!!!Amazing when you come from Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 308 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent a very pleasant 6 nights here at the end of September.
The hotel is a collection of purpose built two story residences laid out in the hotel grounds. The rooms are private, spacious, adequately furnished, clean, with balconies, but the bathrooms are a bit congested and the shower is particularly small.
The layout can be a problem in wet weather, with many metres between the main building and the furthest of the residences. We found this out to our cost after a night of heavy rain. There was also a flood which the hotel staff dealt with very speedily and effectively. Generally, the hotel grounds are very well maintained and attractive with many colourful shrubs. The pool is good although perhaps a bit too much shallow water for adults.
Breakfast in the main building was adequate with a reasonable selection of fruit and breads.
Staff were always pleasant and very accommodating, although there were sometimes hiccups at breakfast with temporary non-availability of items following a rush.
There are plenty of restaurants nearby, some of which are good. The hotel is only about 100m from an excellent beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel, the location is great. There are restaurants and shops all in walking distance and the beach is a 3 minute walk away. The pool was impressive with comfortable sun loungers and whilst we were there, there were never more than 4 people around the pool so it was very quiet and relaxing. The service was exceptional; all front desk staff spoke good English and were very helpful. House keeping came everyday and supplied clean towels. Our room had a kitchenette and terrace. The location was perfect for us as Costa Rei is quieter compared to Villasimus which is more lively. June was a great time to visit as it was less busy and not as hot as it is in July or August but it was still 30 degrees everyday. We had a hire car which i would recommend it you like exploring hidden beaches. Which we did but we didn't find another nicer beach as the one at Costa Rei. Restaurants we would recommend are L'Scargot which has a great vegetarian menu and the location is amazing, right on the beach and if you go around 8.30pm you can an amzing view of the sun setting. The Lobster restaurant is a great restaurant for seafood and the Caffe is also another lovely restaurant. We would recommend the boat trip to the Golf de O'rosei also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace and kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keely121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The location of this hotel is very good with beaches, restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel itself stands in a well maintained garden where the greenery offers some privacy from other room occupants. Front desk staff is very helpful, flexible and English-speaking.
Rooms are quite basic with the smallest shower cubicles you are likely to see anywhere.
Noise from the nearby road can be a nuisance, but traffic dies out at night, only to come alive at 6 a.m. with delivery and garbage trucks doing their rounds.
Sound-proofing between rooms is virtually non-existant, and you are treated to your neighbours' comings and goings through the night.
However, our general impression is that Hotel Albaruja offered us full value for a very reasonable amount of money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denmark46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for one week in September. It's situated right in the middle of costa rei, only a few minutes walk from the surrounding restaurants and supermarkets. I wont bother repeating the points other reviewers have already pointed out but:

- free WiFi was very useful and excellent.
- The hotel allowed us late check out without any extra fee, which was generous.
- The breakfast was ok but often some of the food were not replenished quickly and sometime not replenished at all.
- Sound proofing in the room was poor - although this was on par with all the other accommodations we stayed in Sardinia. Still, we were often woken up in the morning by other guests noise.

Although room was "cheap" by Sardinian standard, I thought was a little expensive as we could get a better accommodation in a 5 start hotel with direct access to the beach for the same price in Egypt for beach holiday (Costa Rei is really a beach side resort and there are little else to do, so I couldn't justify it for cultural/historical site seeing). This is why I've given it a 3 star although I would have given it a 3.5 stars if TA allowed this!

Room Tip: Ask for room 109 & 108 which I think were 1st floor rooms overlooking the pool and hence better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RisingZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I do agree with most of the comments I have red so far (both on "this" Albaruja and also on the 'other' Albaruja file which has been wrongly located in Cagliari), neverthless I'd like to point out some other elements.

Pros
1) The property is very conveniently located to most of the "attractions" that Costa Rei offers. First of all the beach, but also markets, restaurants, the open-air cinema etc. You can reach everything within 2 minutes walking.

2) Although having everything at hands, there is no mess around, no loud music, no confusion; most of the people around are families with children who go to sleep not too late (on the other hand, this turns into a cons for what the tranquility on the beach is concerned, but not because of this hotel).

3) With a few surcharge, you can get a room featuring a small kitchen. It means that for a snack or even for a quick meal, you do not have to go to the restaurant or be content with a sandwich in a cafè.

4) Many of the writers already pointed it out, but I would like to stress again that the entire staff was absolutely helpful and supportive with us: late check out (although we went there in a very high season: 1st week of August), nice suggestions to eat out around, etc.

Cons
1) Very very small bathroom and tiny shower. If you are an 'extra-large' size, you won't get in.

2) From time to time you might be disturbed by someone who is watering the plant. I don't know why, but they did around 11pm for a couple of nights we stayed there.

3) No chance to see some international news from the TV set in the room: it receives only the 3 main (and public) Italian channels (RAI)

4) Some rooms would need to be refurbished, especially the mattresses

Highly suggested if you are looking for a relaxing and comfortable vacation, with no luxuries, but at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbeusBologna_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Though this hotel is great, please note that it is no where near the location showing on the map on Trip Advisor. It is actually on the East coast of the island, about 1.5 hours from Cagliari. Other than that, this hotel was a great place to stay. The gorgeous Costa Rei beach was a 5 minute walk, there were plenty of good restaurants nearby, and the town is a quiet, relaxing tourist town. The negatives were that there was no wifi in the rooms, the shower was tiny, and the breakfast buffet was kind of plain. But if you want a relaxing place to get away from the hustle of a city, this is a beautiful area and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FTJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Rei
0.9 mi away
Hotel il Vascello
Hotel il Vascello
#9 of 14 in Costa Rei
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Free Beach Club
The Free Beach Club
#7 of 14 in Costa Rei
1,361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rey Beach Club
Rey Beach Club
#1 of 14 in Costa Rei
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
2.7 mi away
La Corte dei Rei
La Corte dei Rei
#5 of 9 in Castiadas
117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sant'Elmo Beach Hotel - Blu Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albaruja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albaruja

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo, 09043 Costa Rei, Muravera, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Muravera > Costa Rei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Costa Rei
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Rei
Price Range: $136 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albaruja 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Albaruja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albaruja Costa Rei, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing