We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Al Fresco Dining” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe de la Place

Cafe de la Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: OPEN 7 days a week
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Al Fresco Dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely service, frequented by many a local, great outdoor dining. Food is simple but good. Excellent steaks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMCsTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    151
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great, simple food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited twice in the last week once in the evening and once at lunchtime. Both times we ate well and were served quickly. The burgers are lovely and clearly made there, the steak was good too. I was surprised that having arrived only at 1 for lunch that they had already run out of the menu du jour. well priced and great for a quick meal

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatherineRawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Food was good, we weren't looking for haute cuisine and this was just what we wanted. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wombat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Open late for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

It's nearly impossible to find lunch after 2:30 in this charming small town, but Caferde la Place is open until 3. They sat us quickly and we chose salads and pizza. The staff was wonderful, offering us both WiFi and some dinner suggestions. We came to late for the menu of the day. There are many pizzas and salads to choose from; a couple of fish selections and meat. The 4 cheese pizza was quite good as was the Prosciutto pizza. The La Luberon salad was also quite good. The Marguerite pizza was a bit boring. Not a fancy restaurant, but the prices are reasonable and the food very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarasotaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently came back from a trip to Paris traveling with a group from the United States. So far, our overall impression of the food in Paris was not very good until we tried Cafe de la Place. My sister and I tried it based on a review of another traveler who went there a few night ago. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our waiter spoke English very well and even offered us an English menu.

The food was delicious. It was the first time that my sister and I sat down to a meal in Paris and ate every single bite. I had the grilled steak with shallot sauce and french fries and my sister had the farm style salad which had mozzarella balls and fried potatoes. We also indulged in dessert ( I would recommend the soft chocolate cake) and were extremely pleased.

It was conveniently located a block away from our hotel so we did not have to travel far. It was also reasonably priced. My sister and I ate for less than 50 euros. We made the right choice considering the group we were traveling with went to another restaurant that evening and came away disappointed.

If I do return to Paris, I would definitely come back to this little gem. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandy1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de la Place also viewed

Pernes-les-Fontaines, Vaucluse
Pernes-les-Fontaines, Vaucluse
 
Pernes-les-Fontaines, Vaucluse
Pernes-les-Fontaines, Vaucluse
 

Been to Cafe de la Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing